We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at the Hawthorne”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at the Hawthorne”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

After reading some reviews here on this hotel, I was somewhat afraid at what I was going to find....rude workers,small rooms, noisy hallways, loud music, etc. But upon our arrival, we were greeted by a wonder woman who helped us check in and showed us on the map places we requested. When we arrived to our room(314) we were pleased to see that it held 2 queen sized beds, a table with 2 comfy chairs, an armoire with tv and a nice sized bathroom. The first thought that came to my mind was "what were these people smoking when they wrote their reviews?" Every night when we returned to our room, the beds were made, and we had fresh new towels(of course, we read what the instructions were on the cards provided). I would TOTALLY recommend this hotel to friends and family and to you.....fellow trip advisor reader.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rias1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
This is one of the best reviews ever, because it helps us set the record straight about what a stay at the Hawthorne Hotel is really like.

We really do work hard to make sure our staff is as polite as can be, and this reviewer definitely could tell that was the case. Certainly we hope every one of our staff members would be as good as whomever "wonder woman" was in this case!

The detailed description of this room is very helpful as well. This is a deluxe room, and that is an important detail to be noted. We also do have some very small rooms, and some medium-sized rooms, which suit some guests just fine, as they are less expensive. The choice is really up to the individual traveler.

Thank you so much for sharing your viewpoint with future guests. I am certain they will find this helpful.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    467
    121
    35
    44
See reviews for
537
732
102
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel really was perfect for my needs. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Plenty of space for the two of us. The staff was extremely polite and courteous. The two restaurants were very good, and you can get room service until 11pm if need be. The best part is that the Hawthorne is pretty much right in the middle of everything. I parked my car in one of their two lots, and didn't have to use it again until I was leaving Salem. Will DEFINITELY be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraptis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
How does one respond to a review that is entitled "Perfect" other than to say THANK YOU so very much?

This is a perfect review! What more can we say?

The notes about our two restaurants, late service, and room service, as well as central location are all things that should be very helpful to a future guest.

Once again, thank you for a PERFECT review.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

3 of us spent a Thursday night at the Hawhthorne on the 3rd floor, in a very large room with two queen sized beds. The room had plenty of space for a table with 2 armchairs as well as armoire with TV. The airconditioning worked well on a hot and steamy day. The bathroom is small but was fine. The room/floor was very quiet during the time we were there. We would have been perfectly happy to spend a good portion of the day in the room had the weather been inclement.

We took advantage of their outstanding Peabody Essex Museum package. The PEM, a beautiful and extremely interesting museum, is a 3 minute walk away. The hotel is in a great location betweeen downtown and the Maritime Historic area. There were plenty of parking places. Easy walk to historic houses, shops, and many interesting restaurant choices (in addition to having a restaurant and nice tavern on premises). The staff were great. This historic hotel is well kept; we will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoxAndPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Wow! This review really captures it all.

Thank you for recognizing our great packages. These are always a terrific value for our guests, and your pointing it out on TripAdvisor will certainly be helpful to future visitors, who should always check for packages.

Our proximity to the fabulous PEM (Peabody Essex Museum) with its excellent gift shop and restaurants is also a great thing for other visitors to Salem to know about.

Again, thank you so much for the kind review.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

It being a fairly old heritage hotel it does have some limitations. However the food, service and experience is great!

Room:
The decor is in tune with the overall heritage status of the hotel. The furniture is old but functional. However I found a lot of variance in the size of rooms of the same type. The bathroom was cramped in most cases.

Service:
When I checked in I was given a smoking room, even though I didn't specifically ask for one. I have a mild smoke allergy and didn't realize until it was fairly late that the smoke from adjoining rooms was making it really worse. However they did change my room after I requested. The new room I got was cramped compared to the last one.

Food:
Food was great!

Location:
It is close to the points of interest and the train station.

Overall the stay in the hotel was enjoyable owing to the heritage status of the hotel. Added that extra 'experience' to the stay. If you feel all business hotels are the same, then maybe you should try this.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shubhsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Another very fair and balanced review -- this one certainly points out the strengths of the Hawthorne Hotel. We excel at service, have excellent food and the best location in town, and it is so nice to see that validated by this guest's experience.

We often receive reservations from on-line sources and travel agents who assume that all of our rooms are non-smoking. However, because of a very large European clientele, we do still maintain 5 rooms of our 93-room total inventory as smoking rooms. Sometimes we assign these rooms when no preference is given (which are larger that some of our other rooms) but we always disclose this, and offer to change rooms if the guests so desire a non-smoking room.

Thank you to this guest for sharing his experience. These kinds of first-hand reviews, especially given the broad nature of this one, are very helpful to future travelers.

We are most appreciative.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Nice older hotel, good restaurant and ambience in the bar. Cnavani, the women who checked us in did a great job getting us a room for the night. Kudo's to her.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
It is so nice when a guest takes the time to share a positive experience with other Trip Advisor users, but even more so when that guest recognizes the work of specific staff members. Chavani is a very hospitable employee, and we often receive comments about her exemplary work. We will be sure she is applauded for this.

Thank you again.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My husband, 2-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Hawthorne for two nights. The location is excellent: walking distance to the Peabody Essex Museum, local shops and restaurants and we were thrilled that it was across from a newly renovated playground--great for an active toddler. Front desk staff were courteous and efficient and restaurant service was also very good.

Unfortunately, they were sold out of suites so we were a bit cramped in our room with a queen-sized bed and pack-and-play (which by the way they charged $10 a night for--something I've never seen--bring your own!). The bathroom was quite disappointing as the shower and much of the trim were plastic and looked like it had been renovated on the cheap. As previous posters mentioned, it can get quite loud at night due to the weddings they hold in the lobby. I called down to the front desk and they sent up earplugs for the noise, which helped a bit. Given the price of the hotel, though, I think they should renovate the bathrooms to a higher standard and do something about sound proofing.

For me, the excellent service and location do not trump the noise and cheap bathroom renovations--at least not at these prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 989carrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests about their experiences. Since each visitor has different expectations, by having multiple reviews from a broad range of guests, it allows our potential guests to really get a sense of what it is like to stay in our historic Hotel.

We are very pleased to see that you were happy with the service you received. Obviously that is the one thing over which we have the most control, and therefore it is always good to read reviews that point that out. Knowing that we made the grade in this regard is very heartening.

I am very pleased to see that our Manager on Duty was able to at least ameliorate the situation with the noise from the band on the night you were staying in the room when we had another different wedding going on here in the hotel.

We are very pleased to be able to tell you that we are planning a $1 million renovation to the hotel this coming winter, focusing primarily on the guest bathrooms and also on making the rooms quieter. We hope you will try us again some time after that is complete, to see how you like our efforts.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We are very grateful for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed here two nights last week and really enjoyed it. We were on the 6th floor with a huge room of two queen beds and 2 bathrooms, view of the city. Got a great deal with the Mass99 discount. The hotel is in a great location betweeen downtown and the Maritime Historic area. Easy walk to all activities. The staff were great at check in and were helpful with recommendations and directions. Very historic hotel but well kept. We would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thank you so much to this kind reviewer. Once again we see a guest who has captured the essence of the historic Hawthorne Hotel. It is so nice when the guest who is fully satisfied takes the time to write of their experience. Thank you again!

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing