We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great service, but loud and needs to be updated”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My husband, 2-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Hawthorne for two nights. The location is excellent: walking distance to the Peabody Essex Museum, local shops and restaurants and we were thrilled that it was across from a newly renovated playground--great for an active toddler. Front desk staff were courteous and efficient and restaurant service was also very good.

Unfortunately, they were sold out of suites so we were a bit cramped in our room with a queen-sized bed and pack-and-play (which by the way they charged $10 a night for--something I've never seen--bring your own!). The bathroom was quite disappointing as the shower and much of the trim were plastic and looked like it had been renovated on the cheap. As previous posters mentioned, it can get quite loud at night due to the weddings they hold in the lobby. I called down to the front desk and they sent up earplugs for the noise, which helped a bit. Given the price of the hotel, though, I think they should renovate the bathrooms to a higher standard and do something about sound proofing.

For me, the excellent service and location do not trump the noise and cheap bathroom renovations--at least not at these prices.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 989carrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests about their experiences. Since each visitor has different expectations, by having multiple reviews from a broad range of guests, it allows our potential guests to really get a sense of what it is like to stay in our historic Hotel.

We are very pleased to see that you were happy with the service you received. Obviously that is the one thing over which we have the most control, and therefore it is always good to read reviews that point that out. Knowing that we made the grade in this regard is very heartening.

I am very pleased to see that our Manager on Duty was able to at least ameliorate the situation with the noise from the band on the night you were staying in the room when we had another different wedding going on here in the hotel.

We are very pleased to be able to tell you that we are planning a $1 million renovation to the hotel this coming winter, focusing primarily on the guest bathrooms and also on making the rooms quieter. We hope you will try us again some time after that is complete, to see how you like our efforts.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We are very grateful for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,863 - 1,869 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed here two nights last week and really enjoyed it. We were on the 6th floor with a huge room of two queen beds and 2 bathrooms, view of the city. Got a great deal with the Mass99 discount. The hotel is in a great location betweeen downtown and the Maritime Historic area. Easy walk to all activities. The staff were great at check in and were helpful with recommendations and directions. Very historic hotel but well kept. We would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thank you so much to this kind reviewer. Once again we see a guest who has captured the essence of the historic Hawthorne Hotel. It is so nice when the guest who is fully satisfied takes the time to write of their experience. Thank you again!

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I specifically asked for a corner room, based on previous reviews. This was a mistake, then it was a very small room and with almost no light compared to other rooms.
The walls are very thin and I could hear every word the other guests were saying in their room. All in all, most positive about this hotel is the location. You can park your car and see all on foot. The decoration is a bit outdated and the bathroom is quite old but it adds to the charme.
Parking and coffee in the morning are complimentary.
Be aware that if you get a room on the back of the hotel you are located near huge and loud generators.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. The pros and cons that you mentioned can be very helpful to future guests.

Regarding asking for a corner room, please beware of generalities. Virtually no two rooms in the Hawthorne Hotel are alike, which adds to its charm, but makes relying on a blanket statement such as "corner room" unreliable. Room 420 is very different from rooms 520 and 620, just because of the way that the hotel was renovated over the years. They obviously did not do anything with a master plan in mind. On the fourth floor, the true corner room is 418, which is a huge room with many windows, two queen-sized beds and a sofa bed. It is the only room like it in the entire hotel, and used to be the apartment of the on-site manager many, many years ago. (Nothing like taking the best room for yourself!)

This makes us charmingly quirky, but very inconsistent when it comes to comparing one room to another. No cookie-cutter rooms here.

We are, as you noted, very centrally located, which makes staying here an excellent choice for any kind of visit to Salem.

For guests who might be concerned about noise transference, we do offer packages of new, high quality ear plugs at the front desk.

We really enjoy seeing our guests post photos of the room, such as you did. They are a really good way for other future guests to make choices about our hotel.

Thank you so much for writing about us.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

One of the best hotels my wife and I have ever experienced! And it's a pleasant walk to the Peabody Essex Museum, one of the best museums in the world! And we've seen a lot, for my wife is a historian, I an archaeologist.

In all aspects of hotel offerings, from an extraordinarily courteous and helpful staff (from the manager to the housekeepers) the Hawthorne excels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stupalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2010

While this review may be brief, it really does an excellent job of summing up the Hawthorne Hotel experience for future guests.

We also could not agree more about this reviewer's assessment of the Peabody Essex Museum. As the oldest continually operating museum in the USA, and the 15th largest museum, it is a totally unexpected gem in the heart of our small city. It is not to be missed by any visitor.

Thank you so much to this kind guest for writing to share the experience with others.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were very comfortable during our 2 night stay at the Hawthorne. It was a little like staying with a wealthy aunt who doesn't really get out much. Everything was tasteful with heavy furniture, draperies, etc. There was a mix-up about our rate at check in and they took care of it immediately. Regarding reviews mentioning noise, we were on the fifth floor and never heard a peep from the wedding receptions going on in the ballroom. Drinks in the bar were enjoyable because everyone was so friendly. Our room was spacious and we loved the light, airy feeling of the bathroom. Free wi-fi was a real plus. Location was great as we could walk everywhere. Perhaps not quaint like the many B&Bs in town, but has it's own kind of charm. Salem was a delightful weekend getaway from NYC. Have breakfast at Red's. Take the tram tour. See the Peabody. Dine at the wharf. Know that the Salem Witch Museum is pure cheese.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

This was a very fair and balanced review. It will be a review that can be very helpful to others considering staying at the Hawthorne Hotel because it also gives good insight into why staying here is good, and where to visit while in the area.

Most importantly, this reviewer recognized the attributes of staying in a unique property such as ours.

Thank you so much!

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Horrible, unless you are looking for a loud, rowdy, sleepless weekend, stay away. I spent three nights, Thursday night was ok, but Friday & Saturday night were horrible, scary and sleepless. The hotel books events with loud music on weekends, even though the music can be heard throughout the old building. Then, when the events are over, the guests roam the hotel, presumably to carry the party on in their rooms and hallways. There were shouting matches, fights and lots of banging my door and, I presumed, other guests doors. While I was there, the police were called in twice,according to the desk clerk.. Calls to the management were met with curt replies of "we know" and "we can't predict how our guests will behave." The Hotel looks like a well run stately hotel, but, in fact, seems to make money catering to the local high school and hooligan set, letting them pay for drinks and then letting them loose in the hotel. I've traveled around the world, from fine hotels to hostels to refugee resettlement camps. This was the worst stay I have had, outside of a war zone. On my way out, I was offered a 25% refund.
Pros: Well located relative to tourist sites, attractive old building.
Cons: Rude management, loud parties on weekends, thumping bass laden music heard throughout hotel till past midnight (I was on the top/6th floor--must be worse on lower floors), drunken late teens & hooligans running through hall ways, banging on doors (in my experience 1:30-2:30 AM

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jetablefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

We are most distressed to read this evaluation, because none of these issues were brought to my attention while we could have done something to assist this guest. I simply cannot understand how complaining after the fact in this forum is helpful in gaining a good night’s sleep.

Once again I find myself scratching my head wondering why this guest did not contact me, or any manager. He does say that management was rude, but we can find no record that he had contacted any manager. If such an encounter took place, I would certainly hope that this guest would seek action from another level of management so that it could be dealt with appropriately. I do not tolerate rude behavior by any of my managers. I would love to hear specifically about any such interaction so that corrective action could be taken.

In addition, this guest says that there were distressing noise levels from the event on Friday night, which simply could not be the case based on the event. The event on Friday night was a fund-raiser for women's breast cancer, and could not have been much more sedate. Certainly if there was any issue on Friday night that was untenable, this guest took no action to seek different arrangements, nor to even complain about it on Saturday morning, and chose instead to wait until check-out on Sunday. That makes little sense in regards to giving us the opportunity to assist this guest with a proper night's sleep on Saturday.

In addition, this review somehow implies that we would allow teens to become drunk and disorderly on our watch. We are very adamant about enforcing the liquor laws of Massachusetts, including not serving underage persons. If someone was drinking in their room (underage) there is little we can do to control that, but again, I see no record of any complaint by this guest to the overnight staff about noise in the hallways between 1:30 and 2:30.

We do not cater to "local high school and hooligan" guests at the Hawthorne Hotel, and make every effort to screen all activity. However, this is a public building, and anything might happen. The only way we can assist guests who are having difficulty with issues is when they notice us.

This guest was offered a 20% discount on departure for his ENTIRE stay, which included his comfortable night's stay on Thursday night. He requested 25% instead, and that was given to him. We would have assumed that because he was given what he asked for, that he left satisfied, but that seems not to be the case.

Unfortunately, we were left with the impression that we had given this guest what he desired in terms of compensation for Saturday night, but it appears, by this post, that was incorrect. Again, it would be so helpful if all hotel guests who are dissatisfied for any reason would allow the hotel management the opportunity to offer corrective compensation, rather than this kind of review, which appears to be unfair, at least on the surface.

I do hope that all guests who might have issues with the Hawthorne Hotel would contact me personally so that I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Imagine a supermodel who's superfriendly, and you have the Hawthorne Hotel. It's a refined, well-kept historic establishment which employs extremely personable, efficient, and knowledgeable staff. Given its pedigree and its oh-so-convenient location, we anticipated either snooty or apathetic service but we refreshingly found just the opposite. It's a great place, especially if you find amusement in people who just scream wannabe blue-blood. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2010

What a lovely review, that really, truly captures the heart and soul of what we try to give each and everyone of our guests.

This is certainly a commentary that will help other guests to know exactly what to expect when they stay at the historic Hawthorne Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your satisfaction with our property.

Sincerely,


Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing