We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel. I highly recommend it.”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel. I highly recommend it.”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Nothing to complain about here. :) Top Notch Hotel, excellent service, sparkling clean room - even my small inexpensive room was spotless and had every amenity in it. No kidding! I was exhausted by the time I arrived in town and was very pleased indeed with this hotel.
Excellent Staff & Service,
Great Location, Spotless and Comfortable Room, Delicious food - love the Bar/Tavern room - fireplace burned aromatic wood (ahh), Beautiful place.
*Excellent across the board. I'd definitely stay here again!
Location is perfect, center of town, everything in easy walking distance.
**Salem is a very walkable town, good for me as I use a cane, due to injuries. There's something for everyone here; its not just for witches but it will cast a spell on you. :-)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassRainbow, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
What a nice review! Thank you so much for recognizing what we do, day in and day out for our guests.

We are very pleased that you saw the 'real' Salem, and that you had a great visit.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    463
    120
    35
    44
See reviews for
531
727
102
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Our family of five was in Salem to visit the Salem Witch Museum. We needed to print our boarding passes for Southwest, but our hotel was in Boston. The staff at the museum suggested we visit the Hawthorne as they would have a printer and a computer. I was prepared to pay for the service or be directed elsewhere but the front staff generously offered to complete the online check-in and print our boarding passes as a courtesy. You couldn't ask for a better experience.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cream2sugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Visited this hotel for a conference but brought my family along to explore the city. Conference facilities were great and took care of everything we needed. Hotel does show its age but not worn or tired. Rooms are a bit small, we were cramped with a family of 4, but would be fine traveling along for business. Hotel is centrally located to all the attractions in Salem. Plenty of parking at this facility which is very hard to find in Salem and they have complementary coffee in the lobby early in the morning.

The hotel seemed to be a destination for family gatherings, weddings, and business travel. They do allow small pets at this location. For business travel the hotel was adequate for my needs for personal / vacation travel I would probably seek other accommodations, but I prefer off the beaten path and water front locations...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49-cj3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Exremely overpriced for the non-service you received. Small, old rooms and mattresses.
Rooms too hot and noisy-was told there was airconditioning, was very particular about my questioning-was told oh yes-no there was not any-switched over antiquated system can't run both in hotel at same time. Exhaust fumes from kitchen when you opened a window. Terrible!! Very disappointed! It was our anniversary. Do not go there. Staff was rude and manager was worse than the staff.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smallboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay greatly.
I agree that the rooms are a bit small, but perfectly adaquate.
The staff was friendly and accomodating.

I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

My husband and I were on the East cost for a wedding and we decided to swing by Salem to see what was....haunting. The date of our stay was June 10, 2009, the anniversary of the first witch execution. The rooms were 'cozy'. I hate using that word but that is exactly what they were. Not too dirty, but I didn't get an extremely clean feeling either. The bottom of the bathtub/shower was...um... spongy. I tried to get scared but the only thing that happened was the alarm clock went off at midnight -- probably not a ghost. The staff was friendly. The location is GREAT! Witch museum is right across the street. Salem Common, next door.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puthoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

My daughter and I visited Salem, MA to do a fun educational trip for her report on the Salem witch trials. The Hawthorne was centrally located, and very appropriate for such a historical city. I was worried when I read some of the other reviews, and would not recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a "luxury" hotel experience. However, it is quaint, historic, friendly, and enhances the true "Salem experience." After taking the Salem ghost tour (www.salemghosttours.com...highly recommended!! Ask for tour guide Michael, who is a walking encyclopedia of history--cannot say enough good things about him.), my daughter was particularly excited to stay at the Hawthorne which is rumored to be haunted. The beds were cozy, and although the room temperatures are a bit temperamental due to the age of the hotel, we were quite comfortable. The bathroom IS TINY. But again, we loved staying in a hotel that is a piece of Salem history. It was a

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing