We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Salem, MA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Salem, MA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I returned home yesterday after 3 nights at the Hawthorne. We are returning visitors and have stayed at the Hawthorne several times in the past. The rooms are fantastic with furnishings second to none. Whether enjoying sitting in your room, or lounging in the lobby or pub, it always feels very homey! The restaurant fare is excellent, and the staff members are courteous, knowledgeable, and respectful.
We were fortunate to have Tess as our server/hostess. She is an absolute delight and she knows the area and can give you great pointers about traveling around Salem.

Room Tip: The north view overlooking the park provides a beautiful backdrop. On this trip, we enjoyed the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Reid M:

The title of your review really makes us smile. In addition, the fact that you have stayed with us multiple times is very telling, as the highest compliment that you give us is to come back again and again.

Thank you for noticing the comfort that we supply in all our furnishings, whether in the public areas like the Lobby or the Restaurants, or in our guest rooms.

Special thanks for noting Tess’ great service and helpful local knowledge which she generously shared. You are not alone in valuing the friendliness of our team members.

With sincerest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    448
    116
    34
    44
See reviews for
517
712
97
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Hawthorne Hotel was even more than we expected! We loved the charm of the hotel and the staff was very kind and informative. The location is great, only minutes from great restaurants on the water and minutes from lots of tourist attractions in town. Salem is a great town with many kind people! We decided to stay in Salem and take the ferry to Boston and I would recommend this to anyone that is taking a vacation to Boston. Salem has a lot to offer, but at a much slower pace and the ferry ride to Boston is beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear robin W:

While your review is not very long, it is certainly very worthwhile as it touches on some aspects of a Salem visit, which we have not seen here this summer, such as the proximity to Boston, and the convenience and charm of a ferry ride there.

We are especially happy to see you mention the friendliness of our team members. Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

After looking for a halfway point between NYC and Acadia National Park in Maine, we settled on staying in Boston. In my searches, I saw Salem and thought it would be a great stop for the night and it would keep us out of the traffic a little. I am now thankful I found Salem and happy that we found the Hawthorne Hotel.

First off, we didn't know that the hotel was haunted! This added a little charm to the entire stay, yet we didn't have any incedents :) The wife did read all the information about the "ghosts" and freaked herself out a little, but everyone needs that from time to time.

We stayed on the 6th floor. I believe that the 6th floor is designated as the pet floor, as we had our 2 dogs with us. We opted for the larger 2 Queen 2 Bath room so that we could setup the crates and such. The room was huge. We had enough room for their crates and plenty of room leftover. The bathrooms were very small for today's standards. Don't expect a large modern luxury bathroom and you should enjoy all the other charms that come along with the age of this hotel.

There are 2 restaurants on the main level of the hotel. We had dinner at Nathanials and it was a very nice dinner. We popped our heads into the Tavern and it seemed like it would have been a good choice too. In the morning, we hit the sites around Salem and had breakfast at Red's. I would highly recommend breakfast there if you have a little time. I think wonderful little diners like Red's will be more and more rare in the future :(

To sum it all up, we had a great time in Salem. The Hawthorne is a great historic hotel in the heart of things. The ghosts didn't bother us, the dogs loved the ability to stay (they even had room service for them!), we were able to avoid the rush of the big city, and we had some restful sleep!

Room Tip: I hear that there are haunted rooms on the third and sixth floors. If you're into that thing, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoutsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear FoutsNC:

Thank you so very much for the extraordinarily detailed and delightful review of your stay with us this summer. We are so pleased that you found our location convenient as a stopping point between New York City and Acadia National Park. It truly is just about midway between those two very popular locations, and yet Salem is also a popular destination unto itself.

I am glad you enjoyed dinner in Nathaniel’s, and would highly recommend you also give the Tavern on the Green a try the next time you visit. We have an extraordinary local following for our restaurants, especially for the Tavern.

With thirteen differing room types, it does seem like we can accommodate everyone’s needs and wishes, as long as the reservations are booked early for best choice of room type.

Once again thank you for your kind commentary. We hope the rest of your vacation was as pleasant as your stay in Salem, Massachusetts.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Hawthorne on the night of 21st July 2014.

Our room was well appointed, comfortable and we slept very well. The restaurant served us a delightful dinner and the waitress could not have been more charming. After this, we enjoyed a glass of port from the bar in the main lounge area, a perfect end to the day in excellent surroundings. The hotel is situated in the middle of Salem, and we took advantage of the museum offers.

On arrival, we went to the reception to book in, and the process took way too long. The receptionist, one of two constantly answered the ‘phone interrupting the process many times, to the point of being insulting. I have no doubt that she was acting to instruction, but the reception does set the tone for a stay in a hotel, and logically is the first direct point of contact. Earlier, we had arrived too early to have our rooms, and that was perfectly understandable, but the young man on reception also incessantly answered the ‘phone and also seemed to have to ask his female colleague for constant advice. We all have to learn, but it was frustrating having driven a long way to be dealt with less than efficiently. As a visitor to the United States I did exercise restraint in a way I certainly would not, had this been a British hotel.

Maybe, we arrived at reception at a bad time (both times?) and our experience is not typical, but it did take the shine off our stay in the Hawthorne. Checking out, I’m delighted to say was trouble free with no delays.

I would return here, but would not look forward to booking in.

Room Tip: Contact direct and ask about the museum packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod_B552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Rod_B552,

Thank you for your review of the Historic Hawthorne Hotel. I am happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the prime location of the hotel. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience in our fine dining restaurant Nathaniel’s, as well as your after dinner drink in our Tavern on the Green. We take pride in providing excellent service in both of these restaurants, and I am happy that you were able to experience this during your stay.

I apologize about the difficulties you encountered upon checking in to the hotel. This is certainly not typical; however it seems that you did catch us on a day when we were training some newer staff members. I can understand your frustration with the prolonged process and the interruptions related to phone calls. Since the date that you stayed, we have adjusted our staffing patterns to include an additional “reservation clerk” who can handle phone calls during our check-in hours. This change, along with the continued growth of our newer staff members, will certainly expedite the process for you on future stays.

I thank you for your patience with our front desk team throughout the process, and would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to your guest room upon your next visit, based of course on our availability in the hotel. You may contact me directly by email at aseidel@hawthornehotel.com or by phone at (978) 825-4322 to make the arrangements for this upgrade. Simply reference this response to your review and I will be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,

Andy Seidel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We wanted a hotel with great location, which this hotel has. Rooms were very nicely appointed, beds quite comfortable, and the best part, each of the two rooms had two separate bathrooms, which made for great comfort.
Price to value was very good, food at Nathaniel's was pleasant and service polite and expeditious. The tavern was great for a late night supper and drinks with our traveling partners.
The hotel contributed a lot to make our Salem experience memorable.

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe D2NS room that has the two bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GusRipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear GusRipol:

Wow, what a nice review! You certainly experienced a perfect stay.

You are correct in your assessment of the Derby Rooms that have two baths or a 1-1/2 baths as being the most convenient rooms for families and friends traveling together. It makes getting ready so much easier.

Thank you for your kind comments about our two restaurants as well. We especially appreciate the fact that you took the time to also write separate reviews on each of these restaurants review sites as well, since guests just looking for a place to eat may not necessarily go to the Hawthorne Hotel listings.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and let us know what pleased you about a stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been to the Hawthorne Hotel on three separate visits since 2010 specifically to attend a conference. The detailed attention to quality service for each guest is superior.

Its location is also a huge benefit & being right next to the park provides a versatility of fun.

Be sure to check the local paper for weekend events. Many events are ongoing & fun to find on the spur of the moment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Deb D:

The highest compliment one can pay to any business is to return to patronize that business again. Since you have been to stay with us on three differing occasions, you certainly know what you are talking about when you write this kind of review. We are so grateful, both for your loyalty and your kind words right here.

You are certainly correct in that we place a high “attention to detail” factor in everything we do, so we are especially glad to have you notice our successes.

Last but not least, you are also “spot-on” when you point out to future travelers the fact that there are so many things to do in Salem. In addition to the local newspapers for this source of information, we are always putting this kind of post on our Hawthorne Hotel FaceBook page so our guests have an easy way of learning about what is going on.

Thank you so much for writing.

Best wishes,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but I wish we stayed longer! The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location. Walkable to anywhere you'd want to go in Salem. It's a beautiful, historic hotel. You feel like you are taken back in time. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are clean and updated. There's room service available and free bottled water. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harik1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Harik1977:

We find this over and over again – guests coming to Salem for just one night, and then realizing how much there is to do and see in Salem and the surrounding area. This location is not only convenient for walking to virtually all there is to see and do in our fair city, but it also makes a great “spoke and hub” location for those guests wanting to see Rockport, Newburyport, Gloucester, Danvers, Saugus, Concord, Lexington, and many other places on the North Shore.

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel’s cleanliness and free amenities. We also find this is a theme of these reviews – that we offer so much to our guests, which makes staying here a great value.

As you can’t wait to return, we also cannot wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Square West, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing