We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three times Each a charm!”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been to the Hawthorne Hotel on three separate visits since 2010 specifically to attend a conference. The detailed attention to quality service for each guest is superior.

Its location is also a huge benefit & being right next to the park provides a versatility of fun.

Be sure to check the local paper for weekend events. Many events are ongoing & fun to find on the spur of the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Deb D:

The highest compliment one can pay to any business is to return to patronize that business again. Since you have been to stay with us on three differing occasions, you certainly know what you are talking about when you write this kind of review. We are so grateful, both for your loyalty and your kind words right here.

You are certainly correct in that we place a high “attention to detail” factor in everything we do, so we are especially glad to have you notice our successes.

Last but not least, you are also “spot-on” when you point out to future travelers the fact that there are so many things to do in Salem. In addition to the local newspapers for this source of information, we are always putting this kind of post on our Hawthorne Hotel FaceBook page so our guests have an easy way of learning about what is going on.

Thank you so much for writing.

Best wishes,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but I wish we stayed longer! The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location. Walkable to anywhere you'd want to go in Salem. It's a beautiful, historic hotel. You feel like you are taken back in time. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are clean and updated. There's room service available and free bottled water. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harik1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Harik1977:

We find this over and over again – guests coming to Salem for just one night, and then realizing how much there is to do and see in Salem and the surrounding area. This location is not only convenient for walking to virtually all there is to see and do in our fair city, but it also makes a great “spoke and hub” location for those guests wanting to see Rockport, Newburyport, Gloucester, Danvers, Saugus, Concord, Lexington, and many other places on the North Shore.

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel’s cleanliness and free amenities. We also find this is a theme of these reviews – that we offer so much to our guests, which makes staying here a great value.

As you can’t wait to return, we also cannot wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

As a historic site, the rooms and bathrooms quite small, but liveable. Soaps and shampoo are high quality. There are only two, old school (read: small) elevators and walking into the lobby is like stepping back in time. All of the staff was pleasant and attentive.

You can't beat the location in the center of the historic area, walking distance to everything; parking is right behind the hotel.

We'll stay here again should our path take us back to Salem.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Steve H:

It is so kind of you to write a review here to share your experience with other travelers. We are especially pleased that you would stay with us again, and that you noted how pleasant and attentive our team members are.

You are certainly correct in noting the convenience of our location, as well as the guaranteed complimentary parking that we offer to all our overnight guests.

With 13 different room types within the Hawthorne Hotel property, we have many differing room sizes. If the size of the room needs to be on the larger size, we have those, and the key is to either review the square footage on our on-line hotel reservations site, or to discuss room size when you call the hotel to reserve.

Thank you so much for writing. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I loved this hotel. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The room was a little small, but it was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The bathroom was gorgeous! Thank you so much-- my stay here was perfect.

Room Tip: My room was a little small, so if you prefer, or need, space, I would ask for a larger, standard roo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear SuzanneSF,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found your room to be welcoming. Because we operate a historic hotel our room sizes do vary from those of a contemporary chain hotel, but we feel we make up for that in our unique charm and atmosphere. Some of our rooms even have two bathrooms or one full bathroom and a half-bathroom.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Old hotel charm, staff friendly, tavern restaurant good. Rooms leave a lot to be desired, ours was so small we couldn't even unpack without bumping into one another.
Walking distance to cool places in Salem.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a larger room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmaninseinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear newmaninseinfeld,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad that you enjoyed the charm of our Hotel and our friendly staff.

Because we are a historic hotel, our rooms vary from the standard rooms you would find in a contemporary chain hotel. As opposed to two or three different room types, we offer thirteen different room types, all varying in size and style. Should you stay with us again, please feel free to explain your needs to our Front Desk team and they will find you a room that best suits you. Our website is also an excellent resource as it offers descriptions of each room type, including approximate square footage. We even include the square footage in our confirmation letters when you make your reservations directly with the hotel, whether by phone on our own website.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

As they say location, location, location! But the Hawthorne goes well beyond just location. The staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel in general is just stunning. Take some time to look around the hotel and read about the history, its really interesting! I would have loved to seen the top floor that they mention in the lobby.

We were just staying for the night and reserved a standard no frills room but wow it was massive! I think we had 3 closets! The bathroom was big and beautiful and we had a view over the park.

Being located in the middle of the action also meant we could walk everywhere and that is just what we did. From walking around the parks in the morning to hitting up the shops it was nice to not see the car for a day!

If we get back to Salem again, we would book here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We faced the park side so it was a bit quieter and was nice for people watching!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vixia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Vixia,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you took the time to really explore the Hotel and take in its history while you were here.

The Salem Marine Society is the top floor you referred to, and while there are special showings during the Sails & Trails event that takes place in the fall, that area is actually the property of the Salem Marine Society and so we are unfortunately able to show it. If you visit our blog, however, there is a video of the room and information about it and its history.

I’m glad that you also enjoyed the Hawthorne’s excellent location in downtown Salem. As you mentioned, guests are able to walk to any of the city’s many great attractions and growing shopping district, and because we offer complimentary parking for our overnight guests, this means doing so without worrying about your car.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This historic hotel has the best location in Salem. It's beautiful, has very friendly staff, and has excellent food in both restaurants in the hotel (Sunday brunch is a must). A short walk to most sites in Salem. The rooms are definitely older, but the beds are very comfy, and the ambiance is what one would hope for in an old Salem Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Totalvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear cooperrun,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your kind words for our Hotel, our two excellent restaurants, and our welcoming team.

We agree that the Hawthorne’s historic charm is exactly what one would expect of a city with Salem’s rich history. We are proud to maintain that unique atmosphere while still offering our guests the comforts they would expect from a modern hotel.

If you enjoy our Sunday Jazz Brunch, you would certainly enjoy one of our special holiday brunch buffets. We offer four throughout the year on Easter, Mother’s Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas Day.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $145 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing