We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't do better”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

In one sentence: the Hawthorne has it all. The food in both the Tavern and Nathaniel's is excellent (grilled salmon salad in the first, and the best blueberry pancakes I ever ate in the second). Angie, our Tavern waitress, was superb - cheerfully accommodated special requests and was attentive without being omnipresent. Who wouldn't love to eat dinner in a comfy wing chair? The lobby is charming, spotless (despite welcoming dogs in some of its rooms, which I love) and beautifully furnished in elegant, historical charm. Room was very comfortable and clean; plenty of amenities; and best of all, totally quiet after bedtime. Everyone we interacted with there seemed genuinely eager to please. There are so many wonderful things to see within walking distance - something for everyone. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you want a king size bed, 508 is the place! :) Good shower, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilariejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear hilariejones:

Thank you so very much for the wonderfully kind review. We do pride ourselves on our awesome food, both in the Tavern and Nathaniel’s. In fact, TripAdvisor has kindly set up review sites for both of those restaurants in case our guests want to post about their experiences there, since not every potential restaurant guest stays in a hotel—so (hint, hint) we would love for you to write about your experiences in dining in each of those places as well. It seems you have so much to share!

We appreciate your mentioning Angie’s great service, and the cleanliness of the entire hotel. I will be certain to share your comments with the appropriate department managers and our team members.

Best regards and many thanks,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

On an early March Friday I chose Salem, MA for my birthday celebration. The historic Hawthorne Hotel had a special rate for winter so we took advantage of the exceptional price. The Hawthorne is a beautiful, well kept gem in the heart of Salem. Upon entering you can feel the history through the wood, carpets and plush seating arrangements. Very welcoming. Staff was attentive and friendly. The room we chose was one of the larger ones with a seating area, three closets, flat screen television and very comfortable beds. It overlooked the Salem common. It was a great room and comfortable. Only issue is the bathroom. The sink would fill up when no one was using it. I assumed it had to do with old plumbing and overflow from upper flows and not to any hauntings. The shower was a bit unwieldy. We will definitely return to the Hawthorne.

Room Tip: Try for one of the larger rooms over looking the common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB-Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear CB-Mass:

Wow, what an awesome review! Thank you so very much for all your kind words. It is always delightful to see our guests’ responses to the kind of hospitality that we offer to our guests every day.

Many people share your enthusiasm for our crab cakes, which are available as a “burger”, or on a salad, or even under poached eggs and smoked salmon and dilled Hollandaise sauce as an outrageous breakfast.

We were happy to offer all guests a late check-out on the Sunday of the Daylight Savings Time changeover, something that robs our guests of even an hour of sleep doesn't make us happy, so we try to do what we can to make things better for our customers – we believe that is one of the ways we offer “hospitality”.

Coffee is available 24 hours each day. If the coffee station is not set up in the lobby (normally from about 5 am to 11 am) our guests may request a cup “to go” from our Tavern Restaurant, or from the overnight front desk attendant.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such an insightful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Hawthorne Hotel was lovely, with old-fashioned charm and contemporary amenities. A comfortable bed and prompt room service breakfast delivery were the perfect start to my work days. The complimentary bottled water and newspapers were a nice touch.

Room Tip: No comment on the value, because I didn't pay for my stay and have no idea what the rates are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miriambyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear miriambyk:

Thank you for the succinct review that covers so many aspects of a stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your mentioning your delight with some of our amenities that you enjoyed. We are one of the very few hostelries in the area that provide true room service meals, delivered to your room. That service is available 17 hours each day, which usually covers most of our guests’ needs. We offer food service in our Tavern from 11 to 11 daily, and breakfast and dinner in our Nathaniel’s Restaurant.

We are very grateful for the time you took to write a review for us.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have made many trips to Salem, but usually do day trips. This time we decided to stay overnight since we were meeting our daughter who was driving down from Burlington, VT and we were visiting our son, wife and newborn baby. We wanted a place to go when they needed quiet time. Salem has so much to offer; we loved being in the center of the action. We rented two rooms. Both were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom products were outstanding. The staff was great and in the morning when my daughter overslept and missed the free coffee in the lobby, someone went and got her a cup for me to take up to her room. Now that was really impressive! My husband and I had breakfast in the dining room and the crab cakes were delicious. They gave us a late checkout which was really appreciated too since it was the night to turn the clocks ahead an hour. If you love historic buildings, good food and Salem, you will love staying at the Hawthorne.

Room Tip: The hotel also has passes to the Y if you want to swim which was a big plus for our daughter who lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank symmetry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear symmetry62:

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is always interesting to us to read the narrative of a guest who takes the time to share their reason for staying with us. We are very centrally located, and we do give our guests passes to the Salem YMCA which has not one, but two swimming pools – one that is perfect for swimming long laps, and the other which is called the “family pool” which is kept at a higher temperature.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Very Rustic, Charming and a wonderful Staff. Juli Lederhause made us feel very welcomed! We checked in Monday Afternoon & stayed until Thursday Morning. They even held our luggage while we shopped around town. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jane C :

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay at the historic Hawthorne Hotel. While it is succinct, you certainly touched on everything that a future traveler would need to know about your feelings on a stay at our property.

It was so nice to meet you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I'd been wanting to stay here for years and finally got the opportunity--and I was not disappointed! When I walked into the lobby, I felt like I had stepped back in time. And I knew I had when I opened the door to my room. I felt like I was back in the 1930s when people lived in hotels. My room had a darling bathroom, a walk-in closet and another small closet. It had a great, comfy bed and a nice sofa. The hotel has kept the integrity of its history with just the right amount of modern conveniences. The soaps and lotion are Pharmacopia, and they are fantastic.

Regarding the service, the staff is wonderful. Friendly and helpful. After I checked in and went up to my room, a staff member called me to see if I needed anything. Very nice! I was also selected as the VIP guest of the day. They gave me a gift certificate for one of their restaurants and said I could choose what state/country flag for them to fly the next day. Being from Illinois, that was the flag I chose. It was a nice touch and made me feel a bit special and proud of my home state.

I had the crab cake sandwich in the Tavern on the Green restaurant, and it was delicious. So was the chocolate banana bread pudding.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's right near the shops, restaurants and everything that makes Salem such a great town.

I highly recommend the Hawthorne Hotel. They will take great care of you! The value for the money is high. I thought it was a pretty decent price. I also hear it is a wonderful place to hold your wedding.

One more thing, they still have the old glassed-in mail shoot between the elevators (drops down to the first flood). I dropped postcards to my daughter in there and wished she was there to do it, too. She'd get a big kick out of it. I know I did!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

o Dear CemeteryMind:

Wow, you can certainly write a valuable hotel review! I don’t think there is any aspect you omitted, which will make this commentary so useful to fellow TripAdvisor users.

Your specific commentary on such things as our in-room amenities, our excellent menu items, and even our original-to-the-property mail chute paint a great word picture of our historic hotel.

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you (and your daughter) back soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spent an overnight with my college kids on winter break. The hotel is beautiful - stepping back in time to the age of grand hotels. The staff were all friendly, professional and a pleasure to deal with. Room was larger than expected and spotless. Same for bath which had some very nice verbena toiletries. We will definitely be back in the warmer weather when all the shops are open again. We had plenty to do for an overnight tho. Supper and breakfast was awesome at Nathaniels. Props to Scratch Kitchen down the street as well. We had an amazing lunch there. If you want a reading, see Demetrius across the street at Crow Haven. He was spot on.

Room Tip: 414 - 2 Queens,spacious, facing front street views, shower curtain closed on it's own overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posbldremr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear posbldremr :

Thank you so very much for writing to bring your perspective to other travelers visiting Salem. Your specific comments about both your stay in our hotel as well as your meals in our restaurants will help others know what to expect when choosing our centrally located historic hotel.

In addition, your recommendations for other businesses such as Scratch Kitchen and Crow Haven Corner will be helpful too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $136 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing