We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect, only a short walk to restaurants and tours. The hotel is pet friendly I didn't bring a pet but it's nice to know for future visits. The Hawthorne Restaurant food was excellent at breakfast Juli Lederhaus, the General Manager went to each table and talked (nice touch). Isabel our waitress was very friendly all the staff were friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Marilyn A,

Thank you for your succinct review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be so helpful. Thank you for recognizing Isabel in particular; I will be certain to pass along your compliments to her and to the rest of our team.

As you mentioned, we are a pet-friendly hotel. We were actually recently voted as a “Fido’s Favorite” by BringFido.com. If you do stay with us again, please bring your pet – we love to meet our guests’ little friends!

It was nice to talk with you at breakfast, and I hope to welcome you back again soon. I try to do the table visits at least four or five times each day, but it is random, so I don’t get to talk to every guest; however, I do enjoy every encounter. Because we are in the hospitality business, it is nice for me to be able to offer my own suggestions to our guests to insure the best possible experience.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    460
    118
    35
    44
See reviews for
525
725
100
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family of three adults spent three nights at this hotel while in Salem. We were all very pleased with the services that we received, the décor, cleanliness and the restaurants on the premises. Our standard room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom, in particular, was clean without any mold or mildew. Our beds were soft and very comfortable and the AC was quiet and efficient. All of the staff were friendly and eager to please. The Nathaniel Hawthorne Restaurant provided us with delicious breakfasts and dinners of gourmet- quality. The food service staff were courteous and very efficient. We took advantage of the EXPLOR package offered by the hotel and I am so glad that we did. It is a very good value! I would return to this hotel if I went to Salem again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Maritsa D,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m certain that fellow Trip Advisor readers will appreciate your taking the time to go into such detail about your visit, from the beautiful rooms, to your experiences with dining in our excellent fine dining restaurant, Nathaniel’s.

We offer several great packages through our website. Our Explore Package, which offers an overnight stay, dinner for two in Nathaniel’s, and two tickets to two of our local museums, is a fantastic choice, and I’m so glad that you enjoyed it!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We like the hotel especially the tavern bar. the bartenders are great. when we arrive at our hotel we smelled smoke in our room. they graciously change our room. we loved being so close to the waterfront. We had a great time. It is close to every thing.

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Priscilla M,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. Our guests are our top priority; I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we quickly accommodated your request for a room that was more to your liking.

I’m glad that you also enjoyed Tavern on the Green, our casual, pub-style restaurant. I’ll be certain to pass along your compliments to our bartenders and service team.

In addition to our two great restaurants and beautiful rooms, we are lucky to be ideally located in downtown Salem, within walking distance of the City’s many great attractions, shopping district, and the Salem Harbor. This is perfect for those wishing to explore the city, as it seems you did.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is older and the rooms are very small, but clean and the location is great. You can easily walk to the waterfront with restaurants, or historic downtown area with shops, restaurants, etc. The staff is extremely nice and they will give you 2 water bottles per day which is nice. We arrived early and they were nice enough to call and let us know when ready. It's also very easy to take day trip to Rockport or Newburyport w/in 40 minutes and cheaper stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear vtpsu,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel.

We are lucky to be centrally located in Salem, and I’m glad you utilized our close proximity to the city’s many great attractions, restaurants, and shopping district. As you mentioned, we are within walking distance from the waterfront, which I’m sure our guests appreciate during the summer months, as well as a short walk from the Commuter Rail, which will take you up to Rockport or into Boston.

In addition to complimentary bottled water, we also offer our guests complimentary coffee service in the Lobby in the mornings, and during July and August offer complimentary lemonade in the afternoons. Guests are also welcome to get a “to go” cup of coffee or tea from our Tavern on the Green restaurant if our coffee service is closed.

I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful to you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Super clean, great service, old history. You can't beat the location of this hotel. They were very accommodating, even upgraded our room. It can be a little noisy since its location is right on the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeasly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear MonicaZ1,

Thank you for your concise review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad that you enjoyed your visit with us, and that we were able to make your stay with us even better with a complimentary room upgrade.

You touched on three things that are very important to us: excellent service, beautiful, well-kept rooms, and our history. Although we take care to maintain our unique, historic atmosphere, we are also aware of the needs of our modern guests; this is why our rooms come equipped with flat-screen televisions and iPod stations, and why guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi anywhere in the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We toured the Boston area, using the Hawthorne Hotel as our base, due mainly to the AAA package. We could not have been more pleased. The dining room serves memorably wonderful food, the breakfasts provide delicious sustenance for a day's touring, the staff is friendly and helpful. We were able to negotiate the routes to Concord and Plymouth easily, using their directions. They not only got us on our way to Maine, but gave us a list of shops and eateries along the way. Using their guidance, we had an experience within Salem and beyond that gave us wonderful memories without a hitch. Many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for your glowing review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to help better your experience in Salem, as well as the many other interesting areas of New England that you visited during your stay with us.

Thank you for also speaking to your experience with our fine dining restaurant, Nathaniel’s, where we serve breakfast. We pride ourselves on offering excellent service and wonderful food, and so I’ll be certain to pass along your compliments to our Chefs and service team.

It was so nice to make your acquaintance, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
283 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of July 20-22 & enjoyed it. It is perfectly located to walk to every attraction, bar & restaurant. We have a few complaints but one major complaint I have with this hotel is that the AC for the whole hotel runs off one unit and is extremely old. It was the last few days of an extremely hot heat wave & the room temp never dropped past 80 degrees. We complained several times & each time a staff brought up a fan, which wasn't great but helped a little. Then on our last complaint a manager came up and told us she was dropping our room rate for each night stay, which I thought was nice but room was still very warm. We had a suite that could sleep up to 6 people. The bathroom is the smallest bathroom I have ever since. Cruise ship bathrooms are bigger! And i think a suite should come with a fridge and not charge $7.50 a day for one. Parking was a bit annoying due to the festival that is held in the Salem Common on Saturdays & Sundays. I think the hotel staff should monitor the parking lot a bit better so people staying at the pricy hotel don't have to circle for 30 mins looking for a spot. And my final complaint is not being able to bring outside liquor into the rooms. But I know a lot of hotels have an issue with this.Good note, the beds were extremely comfortable & the staff was always very friendly & helpful. Gave great restaurant recommendations. The best part of this hotel is its location. I suggest you check out the festival in the Common Square, little tents selling jewelry, food, clothes and more. Live entertainment as well. My favorite restaurant we went to was Salem Beer Works. They have a great menu & an awesome blueberry draft beer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsoleary928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mrsoleary928,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit with us. We are lucky to be centrally located in Historic Salem, so I’m glad that you utilized this and took advantage of the city’s many excellent attractions, restaurants, and shopping district. I’m certain that fellow Trip Advisor readers will also appreciate your specific recommendations of where to dine.

I’m sorry to hear that you had such trouble with your AC unit during your stay, but am glad that Elizabeth’s gesture of a discount to your rate was appreciated. Unfortunately your stay coincided with the worst heat wave to heat New England in the 14 years I have lived in Salem. Clearly changing weather patterns are having an effect on us all. While our chiller is so new that it is still under warranty, our system was designed to handle temperatures up to the low 90’s. Your stay coincided with temperatures that hit 100 degrees, and it was simply overwhelming.

As a historic hotel, our rooms vary in style and size. If you stay with us again, please convey your needs to our front desk clerks, and they will do their best to accommodate you in one of our rooms that has a bigger bathroom. The room you stayed in, while very large, was not a suite. The bathrooms in our suites are larger than this one, and if what you seek really is a lot of bathroom “real estate” you might consider trying to book one of our rooms with a bathroom and a half, or two bathrooms.

Our variety of room sizes also happens to be why we are unable to offer refrigerators as a standard amenity. Not all of our rooms are large enough to accommodate a mini-refrigerator and still provide guests with ample storage space. We find that guests prefer more space for their belongings, and so it tends to work best for us to have refrigerators available to rent for those guests who would like one in their room.

Again, we appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay. Guests are our top priority, and such detailed feedback is useful as we continue to better our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing