We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel!”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. I am a travel agent and have always wanted to stay here. Last time I was in Boston we stopped in to see the Hotel and Thomas Macdonald showed us around and was wonderful. During our stay we met Juli Lederhaus who introduced herself as patrons ate breakfast, she was very kind. I would highly recommend for families, couples and anyone looking to visit the area, it is in a perfect location for sight seeing. I will definitely come back for the Halloween festivities in the next couple of years. The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are the most comfortable I've slept in at a hotel. Thank you to the front desk staff as well for always helping us with getting taxi's, advice on sites and anything we needed, they were all outstanding! Dawn Shuman

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36819DawnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear 36819DawnS,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m sure that as a travel agent, fellow Trip Advisor readers will appreciate your experience and recommendation of our Hotel all that much more.

We are always looking for ways in which to improve our guests’ experiences, and so our rooms have all been updated and are individually furnished to offer our guests a unique and comfortable stay. I’m pleased that this was true of your experience, and that you found our beds to be so welcoming.

Thank you for recognizing Thomas, one of our excellent senior managers, as well as the rest of our staff. Guests are our top priority, and I’ll make sure to pass along your compliments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we made reservations, we were made aware that the hotel was a historical building and that our room would be very small, so neither qualities presented a problem. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of a by-gone era, especially in the public areas. The room and bathroom were updated and very clean. Most appealing was the helpfulness of the staff. We have never stayed anywhere where the staff was so accommodating and cheerful. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We went for the least expensive room and it was small but adequate for our needs. If you need space...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryGahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear TerryGahan,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be so helpful. Guests are our top priority, and so I’ll be certain to pass along your compliments to our team.

As a historic hotel, we pride ourselves on offering a unique, charming atmosphere, while still keeping in mind the needs of today’s travelers. This is why our rooms have been updated, and why guests are able to access free Wi-Fi from anywhere within the Hotel. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this part of your experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The Hawthorne Hotel is located in Salem Mass. It is an older hotel, and the rooms vary in size. Some are really small, and not suitable for a family. We had a bigger room, but it is luck of the draw. My sister was there as well, and her room was the size of a closet. The service is great, and everyone is very friendly. We were hoping for some "haunted sightings", but had no such luck!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristenkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear kristenkelly,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. We love to hear from our guests about their experiences with us, and I’m pleased that your stay was so enjoyable.

It is true that as a historic hotel, our rooms vary in style and size. Because guests are so important to us, we want to be sure that you are comfortable during your stay. We hope that all potential guests will feel free when making a reservation to convey your room needs to our front desk, as they will do their best to place each guest in a room that suits their needs.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a boutique room which was quite small but very comfortable and nicely appointed. Within short walk to many restaurants and to Pickering Wharf where the fireworks were displayed. They were spectacular. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel through AAA, the confirmation says 3:00 check in when it is actually 4:00. A...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbsully01886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear cbsully01886,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad that you found your stay with us so enjoyable. As you mentioned, we are within walking distance to all of Salem’s great attractions, and only a couple of blocks from the water, making our location ideal for those who wish to participate in the city’s celebrations.

We appreciate your bringing to our attention that the reservation you made through AAA reflected an incorrect check-in time. We will be certain to have this corrected as soon as possible, and we may be reaching out to you to obtain more detailed information to handle that correction, as there are a myriad of semi-independent AAA travel agencies throughout the country.

We hope to welcome you back again soon. Please feel welcomed to contact the Hawthorne Hotel directly to obtain the room(s) that best matches your travel needs at the time.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having rented out our house on the North Shore, we needed a place to stay for the 4th of July. My wife is recovering from shoulder surgery, so we changed our reservation from one night to two and were moved into the Guest House! This was a charming room (with important AC). Very comfortable bed and TV to watch the Boston fireworks display. Split bathroom on either side of the chimney was workable, though the shower was better made for Twiggy than for me.
We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and were treated very well by the staff. Food was delicious, and so convenient! Maybe we'll just extend the lease on our house and keep coming back here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerbMotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear HerbMotley,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to help you celebrate the holiday comfortably.

I’m glad, too, that you were able to experience not only our wonderful, charming Guest House, but also our dining services for breakfast and dinner. Excellent food and great service are the two things we strive for, and it seems we hit the mark. I will be certain to pass along your compliments to our chefs, as well as to our dining room team members.

We hope to see you again soon. Please consider renting out your home on a regular basis and making our hotel your “home away from home!”

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There are a few things that kept the stay from being an Excellent, but the biggest is our bias towards Bed and Breakfasts. You can't beat the hospitality of an Innkeeper that doesn't just work there, but owns it and the intimacy that lets you get to know the other guests. That being said the Hawthorne is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but we kind of expected it and didn't find it to be an issue. I think they have rooms with bigger bathrooms is important to you. We chose the hotel because we couldn't find an available B & B and thought this would be closer to the charm than a big chain hotel and I would say that is very true. The Hotel has a lot of character. We loved the old character with the conveniences you would expect in a chain hotel like wi-fi and nice TV's. I also love that you can open the windows! The staff was friendly enough, although when asking for a place to eat they really encourage you to eat in their restaurants, but I guess that's understandable. Nathaniel's is supposed to be wonderful, but we were in Salem to walk around and wanted to venture out for dinner. The other minor annoyances were no refrigerator in the room and the tavern is REALLY bright. We stopped in for a drink after dinner and they had all the lights turned up all they way. You want a bar that has dim relaxing lighting and as such I didn't feel like the tavern had much of a bar feel, it felt more like you were visiting in someones living room, albeit a big one. We didn't stay beyond the one drink. Finally, one suggestion would be to offer a little social hour before dinner with tea or coffee and a treat like a cookie or something. Most B&B's and some hotels have this. We didn't experience any of the things that others posted in their bad reviews. Overall it was a great choice and felt it beats the chain hotels by a mile! We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Richard D,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although we are not a B&B, we do strive to offer a similarly warm and welcoming atmosphere in our Hotel. All of our rooms have been individually furnished for a unique charm, and with our guests’ comfort in mind. We also know that our guests need the best modern amenities available to them. This is why our rooms are equipped with flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, and why guests are able to access our complimentary Wi-Fi from anywhere in the Hotel.

We can certainly understand why you would wish to venture out into Salem after checking-in. I’m surprised to hear that you found the Tavern to be uncomfortable, as guests tend to love the cozy atmosphere and large, welcoming chairs. If it was after dark, the lights certainly should have been turned down. I will make sure to call this review to the Dining Services Manager’s attention so that we insure this is the normal protocol, and that everyone adheres to it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff were so welcoming and helpful. We had lunch in the Tavern and the food was excellent and very reasonable. The hotel was very quaint, you felt as if you had stepped back in time, but everything was immaculate. Parking was directly behind the hotel in an open car park. You just needed to display a sign in your vehicle stating that you were staying at the Hawthorne hotel. We only stayed one night because we were touring round New England and Vermont but we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Sheryl F,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the historic nature of our Hotel.

I’m not surprised that you enjoyed your lunch in Tavern on the Green, our pub-style restaurant. Our chefs are excellent, and with its oversized chairs and cozy fireplace, the Tavern is always welcoming.

As you mentioned, we guarantee free parking to all of our overnight guests. Because we are located within walking distance of Salem’s many great attractions, this is perfect for guests wishing to explore the city.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $149 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing