We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawthorne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Merchant(Salem)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)
$205
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Light Inn(Marblehead)
$315
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,072)
Filter reviews
2,072 results
Traveler rating
1,353
504
133
39
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,353
504
133
39
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstavern on the greenbeautiful historic hotelrooms are smallan older hotelhalloween ballwithin walking distancethe general managerfront desk staffthe peabody essex museumtwo queen bedsfree parkingnew englandwitch museumvisiting salemthe publobbywedding
Filter
Updating list...
1,382 - 1,387 of 2,072 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Hawthorne on Tuesday night, which was our 2nd time being there within 5 months. (Already have our room booked for this October too!!) We arrived 3 hours before the check-in time, I took a chance and found that our room was already ready for us!! Were able to park our car in the lot, drop off our luggage, and relax before heading out to the streets of Salem.

We brought our daughter back to Salem to celebrate her 5th birthday. Not only does she love the Halloween aspect of Salem, but she loves the history as well. Staying in such a historic hotel excites her very much...had so many questions about all of the old pictures. She already asked if we can go back for Christmas.

I do not understand how anyone can say that the hotel looks like any old Holiday Inn. Just walking in the front door you can see and smell the history of the building. I honestly do not have one complaint about the hotel.

We really wanted to get the chance to see Salem not during the Halloween season. We weren't sure what to expect...still love it!! With the Hawthorne directly in the center of downtown Salem, it really gave us a chance to spread out our days, and not have to rush to see everything. The location cannot be beat. I will never stay anywhere but the Hawthorne when we visit Salem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Michael R:

Your review is so spot-on and heartfelt as well. Thank you so much for being the "perfect" customer who really gets what we do at the historic Hawthorne Hotel, and how it sets us apart from all of our competition.

Thank you especially for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We do sincerely appeciate you comments and feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

Juli

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We search high and low for meeting space that was different and out of the ordinary. We came across this location and from the very beginning the whole entire staff was just a pleasure to work with. I'm an executive assistant and let me tell you...when you find a hotel staff to make your job so much easier that's a plus. The hotel was GREAT, very clean, very friendly staff and the food was great! They made my meeting guest feel right at home. I enjoyed it so much that I plan on going back with my family in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Leslie W:

Your review is very special to us, as we receive lots of compliments on our meeting facilities, but very few meeting planners take the time to write reviews about their meeting-related experiences here on TripAdvisor. Thank you.

We work very diligently with our staff to remind them that we are not in the “hotel business” but we are in the “hospitality business” and with that mantra in front of them they can easily see what needs to be done to make our guests welcomed, comfortable and cared for.

We will certainly share your comments with our entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back with your family, and hopefully with another group meeting as well.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been planning a little getaway from Boston and the Hawthorne was a great choice. We were snowed in mostly so we could enjoy the fireplace in the Tavern and walk to the Peabody Essex Museum. Rooms are very small, but with nice updates. Very comfortable bed and great view of Washington Square. The staff is exceptional, helpful, friendly, and check-in/check-out were quick and easy. The chocolate covered strawberries were also delicious!

Room Tip: Spring for a king room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goyaz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Goyaz22:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this kind review here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your getaway from Boston to Salem, and are so sorry that you had bad weather while you were here. Even though we are not in charge of the weather, if you want to contact me I would be happy to offer you a "bounce back" special rate which will assist with a visit during the spring as a way to offset the slight "sting" of the bad weather.

We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our favorite museum, the PEM. It is such a jewel for all of New England, and not to be missed in our opinion.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments about our friendly staff, and are especially pleased that you enjoyed the strawberries!

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel for one night before a morning wedding in Salem. Opted to spend a tiny bit more for the Cleveland room with a queen bed and more space. It was perfect for my boyfriend and I when getting ready in the morning. The only con to the room was that the shower isn't really made for tall people. Other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Adrienne B:

Congratulations on your marriage! We hope you will come back to celebrate your anniversaries for years to come.

It was so kind of you to share your experience with other travelers on this site. We do offer a variety of room sizes, from economy boutique rooms, to double and triple-sized rooms.

We do have showers that are very tall as well, so next time you visit, be sure to ask for a room that has a tall shower. One of the differences between the Hawthorne Hotel and other properties is that every room is unique, since over time various owners did differing things to the rooms. We are always happy to be of personal service.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days at the Hawthorne Hotel.....what a wonder experience....the staff was professional and very helpful.....The hotel has a pet friendly floor which was perfect for us...Charming hotel that was the atmosphere that we were looking for in Salem, Massachusetts...

Thank you to the staff

Room Tip: Probably the hotel in Salem that is pet friendly.....including a pet menu :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandSusan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear MarkandSusan01:

Thank you so much for the delightful review. The fact that you stayed for so many days certainly gave you the opportunity to fully experience all of the aspects of a stay at the historic Hawthorne Hotel.

We are always grateful when our guests take the time to share their experiences with other travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews