We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Princess Tea”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent Saturday, February 23rd at the Hawthorne Hotel with my niece and her 4 year old daughter at their famous Princess Tea. Young employees dressed in prom gowns, and young ladies dressed in princess dresses, white gloves, and sparkly shoes. The music, the dancing, the singing, the buffet (which was set up on tables close to the floor- perfect for preschoolers), the activities (face painting, temporary tattoos) were all perfect. The waitstaff treated us "regally" and was very patient. The food was good, too!
The Hawthorne is glorious, clean, warm, elegant. Set in historic Salem, Massachusetts, it is a hidden jewel in a small town; while a short trip to Boston. HIGH recommendations for out of towers, and MA residents, alike. This event, and this hotel, gets my A+ rating!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetteDavisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear BetteDavisFan,

Thank you for taking the time to review one of the many events we hold here at the Hawthorne Hotel. We love having children be introduced to the Hawthorne Hotel by attending one of our events designed especially for them.

I was so glad to read your positive of the Princess Tea, an event that is fun for both staff and guests alike. We strive to cater to every guest, and we make no exception even for the youngest of attendees. With food choices sure to delight even the pickiest of eaters, and a range of activities and entertainment to hold everyone’s attention, we are glad you recognized all of the attention to detail that went in to this event.

Thank you again for you kind words.

Warm Regards,

Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We highly recommend this wonderful old hotel. What makes it exceptional is the caring and friendly staff. Both Melissa and Dilya at the front desk went out of their way to provide us with all types of helpful information. Shawna and Linda, 2 of our waitresses at Nathaniel's Restaurant in the hotel, helped us to enjoy the great food and live music! It's within close walking distance to many of Salem's popular attractions--Peabody Essex Museum, House of 7 Gables, the waterfront, etc. The accommodations were very clean, comfortable and attractive. The large beautifully decorated lobby was very inviting after a day of sightseeing. Hats off to hotel general manager, Juli Lederhaus and staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russojl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear russojl,

Thank you for your excellent review! We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff, and I will notify Shawna, Linda, Melissa, and Dilya of your praise. I am certainly pleased to see your flattering words about us all.

We are so pleased and happy to see you took advantage of the fact that all of the main attractions are within walking distance of the Hotel. Our central location and complimentary parking make for easy navigation on foot, and for stress-free sightseeing.

Thank you again for your very kind and thorough review.

Warm Regards,
Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for just one night with my kids, 13 and 14, and another 14-year old who came along at the last minute. We stayed in the Derby room with 2 queen beds and had brought an aerobed. Staff did not bat an eye at the extra traveler and offered to bring up a rollaway ($10 extra), which we accepted. We managed to fit everyone easily. The hotel is a beautiful period piece. Many interesting details, all very well maintained. Nice atmosphere. There was a wedding going on, much joyous commotion, but no extra noise on our floor (6th floor). Overall the rooms appeared well insulated from noise. Walking distance to the commuter rail to Boston (that was where we had to go the next day). Only drawback was I couldn't make the room any cooler at night using the AC controls, and the bathroom was the only cool room, with a chilly tile floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friederike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Friederike K,
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Hawthorne Hotel.
Our staff takes great care in making sure each and every guest feels comfortable and cared for.
In regards to the A/C control, the Hawthorne Hotel has a central heating and cooling system. This means that the entire building is either on heat, neutral or on airconditioning. During the time of your stay the building was on heat, which means if you tried to switch on the air conditioning, it would have made sure that your room got even hotter. I wonder if you called down to the desk for assistance when you were not comfortable? We do have letters posted near the thermostats in each room with directions to do just that, but unfortunately sometimes we still don’t hear from our guests who could use our help.

While we realize the central heating system is not ideal for every guest, we have taken steps to ensure guests’ comfort in all weather. Unlike most hotels today, you are able to open the windows in the guest rooms, and if you call down to the front desk they are able to assist in making the rooms as comfortable as possible given the prevailing conditions.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review of your stay.

Warm Regards,

Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have previously written about the wonderful experience I had staying at this Property.

I had the opportunity this weekend to spend another night at the Hawthorne Hotel and the experience was just sublime.

In a time when Hotels can barely find the time to say hello at Check-in, the Staff at the Hawthorne are all smiles when you arrive. They walk you through the Check-in process pointing out all the details and history of the Hotel and you leave knowing that the Staff cares about your experience. The best way to think about it is Old World European Hotel experience in a town that is sees so many who may not appreciate the finer things in choosing a hotel.

Or is it the caring training of a GM who knows the value of the making the customer feel like he's the most important person in the Hotel. And that my friends, will make me customer forever. In addition, the rooms are luxuriously large, the Restaurant ( at least for Breakfast) was absolutely delicious and on Sunday, they have a Jazz Brunch with a duo that played almost anything we could come up with.

I will stay at this Hotel everytime I'm in Salem, it's just THAT GOOD!!!

Room Tip: They Hotel smartly has a sign on every floor about no noise at 12midnight so had no issues with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzman69123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Jazzman69123456,

We are so glad to receive such a positive review from a repeat guest! We know we are nothing without our reputation, and we so appreciate hearing about our success in providing hospitality.

I am pleased that you recognized the care that the staff at the hotel treats every guest with. Our front desk staff is knowledgeable about the area, and they are always happy to help with directions and recommendations.

Our Sunday jazz brunch is truly a treat, and we are glad you were able to experience it. The extensive and delicious menu has something to please every palate, and the music is absolutely delightful and relaxing on a Sunday afternoon.

We are so happy to hear that you will be staying with us again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My fiance and I booked a one night stay at the Hawthorne Hotel 2/22/13 - 2/23/13. The room was a medium room with a divided bathroom. Both the walk-in shower and sink/toilet sections of the bathroom were large and appointed with grab bars for guests who use wheelchairs. The room was very large with plenty of room provided for a motorized wheelchair to maneuver.

We ate at the Tavern on the Green for dinner. My fiance had the catch of the day, swordfish with hollandaise sauce on a bed of kale and roasted finger potato halves. I had the baked haddock with panko bread crumbs, roasted finger potato halves, and coleslaw. We were both very impressed with the freshness and excellent taste of our dinners. My fiance had the chocolate roulade and I had the chocolate banana bread pudding with a scoop of locally made vanilla ice cream. Both were enough to satisfy even the most picky chocoholic. The staff of the restaurant and the hotel were very professional, friendly, and helpful. We plan to return for our next vacation soon! Breakfast was also very tasty. I had two eggs sunny side up with bacon, home fried potatoes with roasted, diced bell peppers and my fiance had the pancakes. We can't say enough about how nice the Hawthorne Hotel is. If you are going to Salem, Mass, or anywhere nearby, you owe it to yourself to consider staying at the Hawthorne.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Absentmihdedprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Absentmihdedprof,

Your kind words about both of our restaurants leave us all smiling! With two different restaurants located off the lobby of the hotel, Tavern on the Green -- our casual pub style restaurant, and Nathaniel’s -- our fine dining restaurant, we have something for everyone. And what better place to enjoy delectable seafood than on the North Shore? We take great pride in serving local and fresh seafood whenever we can.

I am glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your meal, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Warm Regards,

Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our king room was very comfortable and clean, overlooking the Salem Common. The front desk staff recommended many walking distance shops, museums and attractions with a helpful local map, as well as provided us with driving directions to the Boston Conference and Exhibition Center. All staff was attentive to our requests. Dinner in the tavern was exceptional... the haddock was 'melt in your mouth' delicious, and the desserts were top notch and just the right size, providing the perfect ending to our dinner experience. Breakfast menu provides full array from light to full breakfast. There is enough variety on their menu so you do not have to leave the Hotel for meals. General Manager Juli Lederhaus greeted us during breakfast and encouraged us to discuss any way to improve their service... they sincerely care about their guests!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Judi T,

Thank you so much for your review, we always love to have feedback from our guests.

You touched on many good points in your review.

Since we have two restaurants in the lobby of our hotel, one fine dining and one pub style, there are many items to choose from for all of your dining needs. We purchase our haddock fresh and locally which is what creates that truly memorable menu item you delivered. Some places use frozen product to save money – we would rather really impress our customers instead.

We are right in the heart of downtown Salem so we are within walking distance of all the main attractions, as well as many shops and restaurants.

Our entire staff is dedicated to making each guest’s experience a pleasant one, and we are all here to accommodate everyone’s needs.


I really appreciate all of your kind words. It was so nice to meet you, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hawthorne Hotel in mid February. We were anticipating buying a condo in Salem and were checking out the town. The Hawthorne was our first peek at Salem and we loved it. Our room was very spacious, very clean and beautifully furnished.
The staff was wonderful and always asking if we needed anything.
I am happy to say that we have decided to live in Salem and one of the reasons is because we found the people to be genuinely kind and friendly and that started with our stay at the Hawthorne.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 426. It had two queen sized beds and two comfortable chairs for reading. It was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhead1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Redhead1948:

We feel so very flattered – not only did you really enjoy your visit to the Hawthorne Hotel, but to learn that you enjoyed it so much that you are planning to move to Salem – what can we say but “Wow!” We may need to share this with the Salem Chamber of Commerce!!

You did stay in one of our largest rooms, and the view, overlooking Salem Common is one of the most delightful we have here. We do try to reserve those rooms for wedding parties on the weekends when we have wedding receptions in the Grand Ballroom which is right underneath that particular set of rooms.

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review. We can’t wait to have you join the ranks of Salem residents who choose to enjoy the Hawthorne Hotel by dining in the Tavern on the Green and in Nathaniel’s Restaurant, as well as enjoying our Grand Buffets on the major holidays, and other special events here.

Wishing you the best for a smooth move to Salem,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 9 in Danvers
56 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $128 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing