We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorne Hotel....We love you!”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We go to Salem every August and have stayed at a bunch of different places but this hotel was hands down the best! Not only is it absolutely beautiful and clean but it is what I think to be very reasonably priced for being RIGHT across the street from Salem Village. Everyone there from the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff were so very, very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay anywhere else again when I visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently in the hotel but I'm sure whatever room you get it would...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Chris S:

Thank you for writing such a kind review. Receiving such glowing review from a regular traveler to Salem is wonderful.

I am glad you were happy with not only with the comfort and cleanliness of your accommodations, but the service you received while staying with us. The staff works exceptionally hard to meet the needs of all of our guests and your praise is appreciated by the entire team. I will be certain to share your kind words with them.

We look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again next August.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,425 - 1,431 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perfectly situated in the heart of Salem. Lovely hotel. They catered the food for the wedding we
attended at The Essex Museum, the food was outstanding and the service was amazing. The
hotel was warm and inviting and the staff go out of there way to help you. Wonderful places
to eat right at the hotel for your convenience. Lots of wonderful local, shops to visit and many
wonderful local restaurants. You are within minutes of everything including the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjorieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear MarjorieMurphy:

You painted a perfect picture of everything we do at the Hotel and exactly how centrally located we are in Salem. Thank you for highlighting this for future Salem travelers.

Experiencing a city like Salem really must be done on foot. I am glad you were able to take in the sights from the waterfront to the many local shops while here for a wedding in Salem.

Thank you for praising not only the Hotel, but the catering we do at the Peabody Essex Museum. It is a unique and beautiful location in which to have an event such as a wedding, and we love being able to play a part there with our cuisine. I will certainly share your compliments with the entire Hawthorne team.

I am pleased that all of the accommodations were comfortable during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at The Hawthorne Hotel many times upon visiting Salem, MA. The rooms are quaint and the service is excellent. The location of the hotel is superb.
The food in the pub, as well as the dining room, was tasty. We especially enjoyed the atmosphere in the Autumn months. However, we also had an enjoyable experience vacationing here in the Summer months.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglifort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear mglifort:

We love hearing from our repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this for us, and for potential new visitors to Salem.

It seems you have stayed with us many times at varying points throughout the year. I am pleased to hear that we have lived up to your expectations time and time again.

We are delighted that you were able to try both of our restaurants while you stayed with us on your most recent trip and that everything was well prepared and delicious. Do not forget on your next visit, that should you need a late-night snack after a long day of sight seeing, we are the only Hotel in Salem to offer room service.

Thank you again for such a thoughtful review. We truly appreciate it.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you ever wanted to be in the best grown up Halloween experience ever this is the place to come ~ the town is charming as great New England town in the fall should be~ The Hawthorne Hotel host the most fabulous Halloween Grand Ball for the pass 30 years ~ a fun traditional grown up Halloween adventure ~ step back in time, dance the night away, wear your favorite costume and let your imagination take flight. Going back for our 2nd year and hopefully many more. The food is great, the service terrific, the ambiance beyond description. A bucket list must do.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, this is an old hotel with lots of charm, most modern conveniences but it...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear HBCarroll:

Thank you for such a thoughtful review. The Hotel is putting final touches on our Ball preparations and we are just as excited as you are.

Thank you for appreciating the charm our Hotel has to offer in all aspects. I could not agree more with your statement that we are not a “new” hotel, nor should we be. Thank you for acknowledging us exactly as we are; an elegant, charming building with every modern convenience a guest could want.

We have done some major renovations to our guest rooms since your visit with us last November. All of our guest bathrooms have been updated and we have updated the mattresses and bedding, now with higher thread count sheets, new duvets, and extra pillows.

We will see you soon. Thank you so much for thinking of us.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I grew up in Salem and I have a special place in my heart for the City, and especially the Hawthorne Hotel. All of our families special events, weddings, birthdays, etc. have taken place here. My husbands birthday was the first time we stayed over.. it was so nice. I half expected to see Nathaniel Hawthorne at breakfast!
Any time of year is great but I like Christmas the best. The atmosphere is right out of Charles Dickens! Book early it is a busy time.. you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saks5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Saks5th:

Thank you for writing this superb review for the Hotel. I cannot begin tell you how much I loved reading it. Hearing that we have played even a small part in your family’s memories for so many years is absolutely heart warming.

I am glad you were able to finally stay with us for an evening. I am glad we lived up to your expectations after such a long time as a guest here.

Perhaps we will see you at the Hotel this Christmas. Thank you again for such a thoughtful review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really liked our stay at the Hawthorne. Comfortable, albeit small, room, very helpful and friendly staff and a good restaurant in the hotel. If you want a chrome and steel super modern, don't stay here but if you want to experience what the well to do traveler did circa 1930's-1950's, then take a punt on this gracious old hotel. Should also mention that they have good off-street parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollisdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Holiisdwyer:

Though your review was brief, you did a great service to future travelers by writing it. Thank you for taking the time to do that for us.

I am pleased you could appreciate the unique character the Hawthorne has to offer our guests. We want our guests to have all of the modern amenities they need when traveling, but not at the cost of losing any of the charm this building has maintained through many decades.

I am glad that you found your room comfortable, though I apologize for it seeming a bit small. We have a wide variety of room types, so on your next visit with us do not hesitate to call the front desk and they can guide you through all of your options.

Thank you again for such a nice review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently had a delightful 2-night stay at the Hawthorne Hotel in Salem. Had a lovely corner room overlooking a park. The room was well appointed and very clean. Comfortable bed, quiet.
The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and gave great service. Delicious breakfasts.
Parking convenient in an outdoor lot behind the hotel. This historic hotel is close to everything that we wanted to do in Salem....a 5 minute walk to the amazing Peabody Essex Museum. Thank you for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Elizabeth B:

Thank you for writing this review. Though you were only with us for a two night visit, it seems you got to experience everything both the Hotel and the city of Salem has to offer. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly and efficient staff, as well as our great breakfast meals.

The proximity of the Hotel to all of Salem’s attractions has always been a draw to our guests. Whether you want to see the amazing collections at the Peabody Essex Museum or step back in time at the House of Seven Gables, the Hotel is only a short stroll away. Many of our guests have found they are able to experience the city more fully when walking it, as opposed to driving.

Thank you so much for your kind and well-written review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $149 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing