We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at The Hawthorne Hotel many times upon visiting Salem, MA. The rooms are quaint and the service is excellent. The location of the hotel is superb.
The food in the pub, as well as the dining room, was tasty. We especially enjoyed the atmosphere in the Autumn months. However, we also had an enjoyable experience vacationing here in the Summer months.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mglifort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear mglifort:

We love hearing from our repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this for us, and for potential new visitors to Salem.

It seems you have stayed with us many times at varying points throughout the year. I am pleased to hear that we have lived up to your expectations time and time again.

We are delighted that you were able to try both of our restaurants while you stayed with us on your most recent trip and that everything was well prepared and delicious. Do not forget on your next visit, that should you need a late-night snack after a long day of sight seeing, we are the only Hotel in Salem to offer room service.

Thank you again for such a thoughtful review. We truly appreciate it.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    467
    120
    35
    44
See reviews for
536
732
102
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you ever wanted to be in the best grown up Halloween experience ever this is the place to come ~ the town is charming as great New England town in the fall should be~ The Hawthorne Hotel host the most fabulous Halloween Grand Ball for the pass 30 years ~ a fun traditional grown up Halloween adventure ~ step back in time, dance the night away, wear your favorite costume and let your imagination take flight. Going back for our 2nd year and hopefully many more. The food is great, the service terrific, the ambiance beyond description. A bucket list must do.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, this is an old hotel with lots of charm, most modern conveniences but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear HBCarroll:

Thank you for such a thoughtful review. The Hotel is putting final touches on our Ball preparations and we are just as excited as you are.

Thank you for appreciating the charm our Hotel has to offer in all aspects. I could not agree more with your statement that we are not a “new” hotel, nor should we be. Thank you for acknowledging us exactly as we are; an elegant, charming building with every modern convenience a guest could want.

We have done some major renovations to our guest rooms since your visit with us last November. All of our guest bathrooms have been updated and we have updated the mattresses and bedding, now with higher thread count sheets, new duvets, and extra pillows.

We will see you soon. Thank you so much for thinking of us.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I grew up in Salem and I have a special place in my heart for the City, and especially the Hawthorne Hotel. All of our families special events, weddings, birthdays, etc. have taken place here. My husbands birthday was the first time we stayed over.. it was so nice. I half expected to see Nathaniel Hawthorne at breakfast!
Any time of year is great but I like Christmas the best. The atmosphere is right out of Charles Dickens! Book early it is a busy time.. you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saks5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Saks5th:

Thank you for writing this superb review for the Hotel. I cannot begin tell you how much I loved reading it. Hearing that we have played even a small part in your family’s memories for so many years is absolutely heart warming.

I am glad you were able to finally stay with us for an evening. I am glad we lived up to your expectations after such a long time as a guest here.

Perhaps we will see you at the Hotel this Christmas. Thank you again for such a thoughtful review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really liked our stay at the Hawthorne. Comfortable, albeit small, room, very helpful and friendly staff and a good restaurant in the hotel. If you want a chrome and steel super modern, don't stay here but if you want to experience what the well to do traveler did circa 1930's-1950's, then take a punt on this gracious old hotel. Should also mention that they have good off-street parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollisdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Holiisdwyer:

Though your review was brief, you did a great service to future travelers by writing it. Thank you for taking the time to do that for us.

I am pleased you could appreciate the unique character the Hawthorne has to offer our guests. We want our guests to have all of the modern amenities they need when traveling, but not at the cost of losing any of the charm this building has maintained through many decades.

I am glad that you found your room comfortable, though I apologize for it seeming a bit small. We have a wide variety of room types, so on your next visit with us do not hesitate to call the front desk and they can guide you through all of your options.

Thank you again for such a nice review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently had a delightful 2-night stay at the Hawthorne Hotel in Salem. Had a lovely corner room overlooking a park. The room was well appointed and very clean. Comfortable bed, quiet.
The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and gave great service. Delicious breakfasts.
Parking convenient in an outdoor lot behind the hotel. This historic hotel is close to everything that we wanted to do in Salem....a 5 minute walk to the amazing Peabody Essex Museum. Thank you for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Elizabeth B:

Thank you for writing this review. Though you were only with us for a two night visit, it seems you got to experience everything both the Hotel and the city of Salem has to offer. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly and efficient staff, as well as our great breakfast meals.

The proximity of the Hotel to all of Salem’s attractions has always been a draw to our guests. Whether you want to see the amazing collections at the Peabody Essex Museum or step back in time at the House of Seven Gables, the Hotel is only a short stroll away. Many of our guests have found they are able to experience the city more fully when walking it, as opposed to driving.

Thank you so much for your kind and well-written review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first time visiting Salem, MA and staying at the Hawthorne Hotel. It was simply beautiful! If asked to describe the Hawthorne Hotel is to say it has elegance & charm along with it's gorgeous decor! The Hawthorne Hotel has to be experienced to truly appreciate the Hawthorne Hotel's ambiance and it's surroundings. We felt as though we had walked back into a time gone-by as soon as the front doors opened. Two girls and the front desk greeted us with welcoming smiles were so helpful. We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast for two that was hearty & scrumptious! The Host and Wait Staff were very attentive to our needs. The Hawthorne is within walking distance to many attractions that Salem, MA has to offer a visitor. The Peabody Essex Museum, House of Seven Gables, Witch History Museum and so much more!

We booked our trip through AAA Travel and everything went so well, it was great! We enjoyed our stay so much that we would certainly stay at the Hawthorne Hotel again, and again! And highly recommend the Hawthorne Hotel to friends and family visiting Salem, MA

Great getaway! Worth the visit! The Hawthorne Hotel made our trip to Salem, MA an experience to be remembered!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, our room was perfect for just the two of us. Very quiet and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Linda L:

Thank you so much for writing such a comprehensive review! I cannot tell you how much I value you taking the time out of your day to do this for the Hotel.

Thank you for recognizing the wait staff and the front desk clerks. I am thrilled that you felt welcomed immediately upon arrival. First impressions are very important to us and it is wonderful to know that yours was so pleasant.

I appreciate the high praise you have given us on every aspect of your stay. I will be certain to share this rave review with our entire Hawthorne team. Your enthusiasm for the Hotel is greatly valued.

Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Salem.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed here before and needed an overnight stop after landing at Boston and decided on this hotel. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. We had a large room with four poster bed, very clean, great period decorations in keeping with the historic hotel. Friendly welcome, great food at the tavern and fab breakfast. Shame we didn't have time on our trip to stay longer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GandMFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear GandMFisher:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, despite only being with us for an evening. We love hearing from repeat guests and it is wonderful to know you have received consistent and excellent service on each of your stays with us.

Thank you again for such a kind review. The next time you are visiting Salem, I hope you think of us again.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing