We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinced 6th floor is haunted”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I will start by saying that our stay at the Hawthorne was great. We stayed in 610, so there was not any traffic noise. The bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't large, but there was a desk, two chairs, and enough room to lay out the luggage. They only provide one towel per person, but I am sure they would give you more if you asked. The staff was very polite and helpful. The location is ideal, as you can easily get into town and to all of the sites in a few minutes of walking.
We did experience something odd immediately after turning off the lights around 11:00 p.m. There was a VERY loud sound in the room which made both of us sit straight up in bed. We thought someone had opened up the door, but no one was there. The door was closed and no one was in the hallway. We looked around the room to see if something had fallen, but nothing had. The only way we could recreate the sound was by swinging the metal safety lock open really hard against the doorframe (the kind that hotels use now in place of the chain locks). It kind of freaked me out, but I didn't feel threatened. I guess they just wanted to get our attention??!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear turnest1:

Thank you so very much for writing this review for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have received many, many compliments on the comfort of our beds. You are very correct in noting that you need only ask for whatever else you might need, and we will immediately provide it for you, as in the case of a request for extra towels.

Regarding your unusual nighttime experience, we appreciate your sharing that with us, as we will keep this report on file for future reference. While TAPS’ investigation for the television show “Ghost Hunters” came up empty-handed, they did say that situations like this are rarely conclusive, and that entities do not perform “on demand”.

We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,580 - 1,586 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Hawthorne Hotel is the most per friendly hotel that we have ever experienced. In fact, we have now started making monthly trips. the food is supurb. The staff treats you as though you were a guest in their own home. it is a historical hotel which is upgraded with the latest amenities like hd tv and a fitness gym. The location is central to all major attractions including the world famous Peabody Essex Museum. A "must see" when you are in Massachusetts. BMCDSaugus

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Salem Commons can be quite pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMCDsaugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear BMCDsaugus:

We really appreciate your review, because we do work hard to be all of the things that you point out we are. I especially am pleased to see how much you enjoy the Peabody Essex Museum, as I personally think it is the best attraction to visit in Salem. Thank you also for your kind words about the quality of our food and the excellence of the staff encounters you have had.

Thank you for being a loyal Hawthorne Hotel customer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay 1 noc before ending our east coast travels. The Hawthorne Hotel had a wonderful 1nocstay package for $230. But included in that were 2 adult passes to 2 local attractions of your choice, 2 for 1 dinner,and a free breakfast. It was a great deal!!!

In addition the rooms were beautiful, clean, and well maintained.

I loved the histroic aspect of the hotel.

In addition it is centrally located to all the best attractions in town

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear voramn:

Thank you so much for the lovely review. You are very correct in noting that our package deals are a great value.

In addition we are so pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and maintenance, as well as the history of our hotel. We all work hard to make sure these kinds of important details are attended to. It is gratifying to see when that work is noticed.

Thank you again for writing, and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

every time i come to salem i stay at the hawthorne hotel the place is so beautiful and always so clean the staff is so nice if you need anything they are there to help you.It also close to all the shops and all the sight they you want to see!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Denise D:

Just because your review is brief does not make it any less valuable to future travelers, and in fact, some people prefer a succinct overview to many extra words. In any case, thank you so much for writing this.

We are so pleased to read about the overall cleanliness of the hotel, and how nice you found our staff to be.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I opted to spend a little extra on the larger rooms. It was money well spent. The complaints about the bathroom side are really just a point of view thing. It's definitely cozy, but enough if only one person at a time is in there. We had a very large room that overlooked the Salem common. It was very spacious for my family of four (with two teenagers). After arriving after a long day in Boston, it was a pleasure to have a easy and friendly check-in, lots of parking at the hotel (especially after being in Boston). It's within walking distance of the major attractions in Salem (although it's a pretty small town anyway). Only downside was there was a room being renovated next door and they started early (by vacation standards) at 7:00am so the pounding and scraping was a bit annoying, luckily the rest of the family was so tired after the day in Boston, they mostly were able to ignore it. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the Salem area and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Darren H:

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are so happy to read reviews like yours, which are clearly the writing of someone that had a real experience in our hotel. We appreciate that you did your homework and chose a room that would satisfy your family’s needs.

I do apologize for the early start by the wall papering staff. They were not supposed to start that early, and while I appreciate their zeal to get the job done timely, I will be bringing your review to the attention of the company that sent them to us. Thank you for letting us know about the situation.

If you will contact me personally, I would be happy to offer you something to make up for the early annoyance of these contractors. You can call me at 98-744-4080 and just ask for me.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel has been lovingly maintained/renovated(?) and is a spotless piece of old world charm. Elevators have cushioned paneled walls, the baths are modern and up-dated. The staff takes pride in working there as one maintenance person revealed that he and his extended family all work at the hotel. The personal commitment and pride shows, The location is very good right on the main square and a block or two from the major tourist attractions in Salem. (Salem itself however was a disappointment).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Keith58:

How nice of you to notice all of the things that make the Hawthorne Hotel so special. We do take a very personal interest in providing the best experience for each and every guest who comes to our hotel.

Because of our concern that each guest has an enjoyable visit, we were very distressed to read that Salem itself was a disappointment to you. There are many aspects to Salem, and I have to wonder if your expectations were not met because we did not help you find the kind of interesting things to see here that would have meshed with your personal interests.

Please feel free to call me at 978-744-4080 so we can discuss your interests to see if we can facilitate a better visit for you next time. I would be happy to try to help.

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I hope we can help you have a better visit to Salem next time.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorne with our boxer dog. They greeted her with a toy, we had a lovely room on the 6th floor that overlooked the common. It was very nice. The staff were customer service oriented, we had room service and were impressed with the service and the delicious food. They even offer pet dishes for the pampered pooch or one on a special diet of chicken and rice or something. I hope we get back there again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Rose Mary S:

Thank you so much for the lovely review of the Hawthorne Hotel. We are especially happy that you enjoyed our pet-friendly approach in welcoming the special member of your family.

The Hawthorne Hotel is the only lodging property in Salem that offers true Room Service, so it is especially heartening to read that we delivered impressive service and delicious food.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
12 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $137 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing