We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, historic hotel”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

With business meetings in the Boston area, my husband and I decided to combine a little business with pleasure and stay in Salem. The hotel is a great example of an updated historic hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights to see in Salem. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard have more equipment noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekkercws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear trekkercws:

We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed our visit to Salem, and your stay with us. Thank you for noting your happiness with the way we carried out our updates to our property. We know that guests want certain things to be updated, yet we also try to preserve the historic nature of the hotel at the same time. We are happy to see that you noticed and appreciated what we have done.

You are certainly correct in noting how centrally located we are to all there is to do in Salem.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,612 - 1,618 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the Hawthorne 1 night while attending a graduation from Endicott College. Hotel is centrally located in Salem, MA for everything. Only complaint was the bathtub didn't drain properly. Rooms are small but quaint. Walking distance to Peabody Essex museum and great eateries on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Gee557:

Thank you for your charming review of your stay in the historic Hawthorne Hotel. We are sorry you had problems with your tub drain. I hope you let us know about it right away? We have recently replaced all of the feed piping to the guest rooms, but we did experience a few situations where some construction debris fell into the drains while they were working on them, and we are still working to correct that situation.

We are happy to read that you otherwise fully enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

On April 27th I flew up to Salem on an overnight jaunt to catch the PEM show, Shapeshifting Transformations in Native American Art, before it closed. The Hawthorne Hotel has a relationship with the museum that provided some perks. It is well located for visiting the museum, the downtown shops and the waterfront.

The hotel is gracious looking and the staff are friendly and very helpful. The lobby is large but cosy with comfortable arn chairs, books and newspapers. I'm told there is a library for guests, and bookcases on each floor across from the elevator.

I believe I booked the smallest room in the hotel and it was perfect for one. It probably would have worked for two people who like each other and aren't staying for a long time. The closet was minimal - just a shallow area covered with a curtain- not deep. Again fine for my one night stay.The bathroom has been modernized - by that I mean it is in a style that conforms to the hotel's history, but the walk-in tiled shower and fixtures looked new and worked well.

I had breakfast at Nathan's the next morning- which was quite delicious, but the service was slow and the waitress seemed inexperienced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Linda W:

Thank you so much for the very detailed, and very kind review of the historic Hawthorne Hotel. I’m sure future travelers will find your review very helpful. I believe I was able to visit with you as you were printing your boarding pass, so I did hear from you first-hand about how much you enjoyed the hotel.

I do apologize about the slow service in Nathaniel’s for breakfast. You are correct in noting that that server was relatively new. If we could have we would not have scheduled her without a more seasoned server working along side her. We are certainly happy to learn that you enjoyed the food as it was prepared for you.

Thank you so much for writing this excellent review. I know it will be helpful to other travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

An easy ride from the Boston Airport. Coming from Europe, we were so happy to find this charming hotel and the ability to dine in the restaurant without stepping out the door. The early morning coffee (5am) was delicious and hit the spot to nourish our jet lag. We have never been treated so nicely and will go back the night before our return flight. Loved A & J artisan bakery in town, a real gem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scattinisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear scattinisf:

I just noticed that I had not already responded to this lovely review. I do apologize for missing that in May, but still wanted to reply, especially because this is such a nice overview.

We do receive many compliments on our Food and Beverage operation here at the Hawthorne Hotel, and especially about our coffee. We are pleased that you, too, enjoyed it.

The fact that you recognized the excellent customer service that you received is also very heartening, as we know it one of the things we do have the ability to control, and we do work very hard on this aspect.

I’m personally happy that you discovered A & J King. It is kind of tucked away, but it is so worth finding. They are definitely one of the best bakeries in New England, offering up European-style breads and other delicious baked items.

Thank you so much for writing this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with excellent service! The staff are so friendly and attentive it was refreshing. It was an old hotel so the rooms were as expected. Old but clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lskjongn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Lskjongn:

Thank you so much for the lovely succinct review. Most decidedly you mentioned in just a few words the essence of a stay at the historic Hawthorne Hotel.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Hawthorne is an amazing historic hotel & we will always look to stay there when in Salem. We vacationed there for Halloween and the Hawthorne Halloween Ball is with out a doubt the absolute best Halloween party! The staff were nothing but helpful and friendly as well. The hotel is within walking distance to any and everything you could want or need. The Tavern and Nathaniel's are inviting, as well as, the lobby of the hotel. Needless to say that when our Halloween vacation was over, we were more than ready to book for next year. Yes....we have already booked for Halloween 2012 & can't wait to see you again in Oct!!

You can not go wrong with The Hawthorne.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Ben1313:

Thank you so much for the excellent review. We do love our Halloween Ball event and all the guests we have who join us year after year. Thank you so much for writing about it. I’m sure your review will be helpful to other visitors, whether coming for Halloween, or any other visit.

We look forward to seeing you again in October.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Always look for an opportunity to stay here. Can walk anywhere you want to go or just stay here as The Tavern is great of for more formal dining eat at Nathaniel's.

One of the few Hotels where waiting in the lobby is a pleasure.

Will always return when the opportunity arises.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Chetzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Chetzak:

It is with much gratitude that I write to you in response to the review you have recently posted here about staying at the Hawthorne Hotel. Thank you so very much; we sincerely appreciate your time and effort on our behalf.

While it is brief, your review is clearly succinct, and gives future travelers all of the information that they might want.

We look forward with great anticipation to your return.

With kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $136 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing