We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go to Peabody Essex Museum across the street ! sassy, snooty receptionist ignore her...”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

good hotel but undergoing renovations they took off $10 so it made it more reasonable, food is not great in restaurant, terrible inept waiter , ... Tavern is better service and more reasonable for their menu, free computer use in lobby,

Room Tip: pay more better deal with suite........ no A/C
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamaica6100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear jamaica6100:

Thank you very much for your understanding about our recent renovations work. I am happy to report that the majority of the work is now done, and our rooms are better than ever.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about the Tavern and the business center, as well as your pointing out how good the Peabody Essex Museum is, but we are concerned about your commentary about the food and service in Nathaniel’s Restaurant. I would be most appreciative if you would call me directly so I could make things right for you regarding your less-than-satisfactory experience in Nathaniel’s.

The hotel number is 978-744-4080, and just ask for me. Or email me at Juli@HawthorneHotel.com.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,575 - 1,581 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just got back from an enjoyable weekend stay at the Hawthorne. I would give the stay high marks. Even though there was renovation going on, we hardly noticed.

Staff at the hotel are top notch - even the renovation workmen were helpful when we encountered them going up and downstairs.

The rooms have a funky but luxurious feel. They were very clean and well appointed. Breakfasts were very complete and done well.

The wedding reception was in the main ballroom. The staff outdid themselves and the setting was luxuriously fantastic.

We didn't pay much but we were treated like millionaires. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a nice break from lookalike chain motels and gives travelers a glimpse into luxury downtown hotels enjoyed when service and style were paramount.

Room Tip: Take the Salem Trolley Tour. It will give you a good orientation plus it's narrated by locals wh...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear PaRambler:

Wow, what a great review! Everything you point out will be so helpful to future travelers. We sincerely appreciate every aspect of your review, but you truly identified what sets us apart when you noted that we are unique and not at all like the lookalike chain properties.

Even your room tip is spot on, because the Salem Trolley Tour is really a good orientation for new-comers to Salem.

Last but not least, your commentary about the wedding reception was so reflective of what we hear all the time, we are blushing with pleasure.

Thank you so much.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My fiancée and I stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel last Spring and had a great visit to Salem.

The staff were very friendly. We arrived a little later in the evening, and the person at the desk recommended a wonderful italian restaurant just across the street. We were also made aware of the construction going on, which never became an issue.
I really liked the proximity of all of the "must see's" in town! We didn't have to drive anywhere during our visit.
The room was small, but cozy. We had a wonderful view of the common area and I really appreciated the big bath tub and authentic old tiles in the bathroom.

We are planning another trip out east for this Spring, and one of our stops will be at the Hawthorne Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are able to make this request, ask to have a room with the view of the "Common" are...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear hilzy:

Thank you so much for the helpful review of your stay. It appears that each and every aspect was just right, and that is certainly what we try to accomplish.

Your review will be very helpful to other travelers coming to Salem, and we are very pleased that you took the time to write it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Staying at The Hawthorne Hotel in Salem MA is a unique experience. In addition to feeling like you've stepped back in time you're also afforded the modern conveniences we all enjoy in a first rate hotel. Food and service in the dining room is excellent. The Tavern provides great atmosphere including a roaring fire in season plus a unique martini menu. While there we enjoyed the atmosphere surrounding several beautiful weddings, showers and receptions while ladies and gentlemen in period costumes gathered for a commemorative Titanic weekend.
All in all we would recommend a stay at the Historic Hawthorne in Salem for anyone visiting the area who wants a hotel with great service, friendly surroundings and convenient location

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a corner suite when we arrived and would recommend it to anyone. Great views of...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear kay n:

Wonderful review! Thank you so very much!!

You really hit all the nails squarely on the heads in terms of outlining all the wonderful reasons to enjoy a stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. You did an excellent job of painting an accurate word picture of the tangible and intangible benefits of staying at our hotel

We are so happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of each aspect of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have stayed at and enjoyed the Hawthorne many times in recent years, but we’ll be taking a break after this most recent 2-night trip. Most of our problems stemmed from being placed in a room right in the heart of the renovations. We knew from a prior visit that the hotel was undergoing a renovation, and the hotel had also so advised us by email when we made the reservation. The email advised that “[t]he work … generally will be confined to a side of the building not occupied by guests,” so, when we discovered that the hallway carpet outside our room was swathed in protective coverings and the hall itself appeared to be an acting storage area for a variety of renovation materials, we were not particularly concerned. We discovered right away that our sink drained about a drop at a time. This problem was quickly attended to when we stepped out, and we were told that it was a result of the renovation, as the sink had only been installed the day before. We thought that would be the end of it. However, the next morning (a state holiday in MA) we were awakened before 8 AM by unrelenting banging, scraping, drilling and what felt like jack hammering, shaking the bed. We called downstairs and were told we should have expected disruption as we were told about it in the letter we’d theoretically received at check-in. Though we had not received a letter at check-in, a letter taped to the reception desk conveyed the same message as the email we’d received: guests would not be staying in the areas currently undergoing renovation. I stepped into the hallway and discovered that the renovation was underway right in the next-door room. Someone called us back to apologize and to offer a discount on that night’s stay (which was in fact applied to the bill) and a move to another room. We opted to stay in our room, which was spacious and light - and we hadn’t yet seen another guest so when the workmen were gone it was quite private - and rearranged our schedule so that we would be awake the next morning before the renovations started. This we did, ignoring the noise and the foot traffic and paint fumes, but we were not prepared when the power was cut to our room, presumably as part of the renovation. The hotel did discount our first night as offered and, I want to be clear that we were given the choice to move after the first morning’s disruption. But I can’t imagine why we were placed in that room in the first place without at least a bit more notice that we’d be in the heart of the renovation so we could plan accordingly. A few unrelated issues: a bench in our room was broken, creating a potential safety hazard; a clear vial of an unidentifiable substance was sitting on one of the beds when we first arrived in our room (unnerving); a folded piece of paper or something equally casual-looking, was slipped under one of the armoire's legs to keep it stable (functional but not up to Hawthorne standards); the hotel has installed awful chemical air "fresheners" in the two guest elevators, bathing guests in noxious fumes that are overwhelming in such a small space.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front can have street noise if the windows are open but closing them shuts it out...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Heather086:

We are so upset that you had a poor stay after being a loyal customer in the past. The construction crew encountered an accidental water break that flooded all of one wing of the hotel, thus pushing the finish date for the construction back a full month. You will be happy to know that the construction is done at this point, and only a few things remain to be done that will have little impact on the operations of the hotel.
I am sincerely sorry to read your current review, and hope that you will contact me directly so that I can make things right for you. You can call me at 978-744-4080 or email me at Juli@HawthorneHotel.com

Thank you for writing.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel has some good history and strong character with an excellent "club" feel. The staff were really helpful and kind enough to offer a military discount.

Unfortunately, the upstairs (4th floor) was undergoing refurbishment, half the corridor was marginally better than a building site. Once into our room it was pretty tired, hence the refurbishment!!

A good location with easy access to the main hub of Salem and the water front (which has a regular ferry service to downtown Boston).

I would definitely recommend the hotel, based on the lobby and lounge area but would strongly advise holding off until they have finished the refurb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_O_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Big_O_UK:

Thank you for the kind words about the overall good feel of the hotel. We do sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with the renovations. It did take longer for this to be done due to an accidental water break in the attic of the hotel that caused a great deal of damage. This in turn slowed down the renovations, but they are virtually complete at this point. We are only waiting for the custom wallpaper and carpeting to be made and installed for everything to be finished.

I would appreciate your contacting me directly so that I can make amends to you. You can call me at 978-744-4080 or email me at Juli@HawthorneHotel.com.

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed in the guest house out back and found the room exquisitely charming. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was large. On either side of the fireplace, two small closets had been turned into the bathroom. One held the sink and toilet and the other held the shower.
If you are not looking for this old type of New England charm then this is not the place for you. I am from the area and was staying there for a wedding at the Peabody Essex Musuem. So if you are someone who is looking for this type of experience, then I hightly recommend the Hawthorne Hotel. Some of my family stayed in the hotel proper and thoroughly enjoyed their experience as well. But, as I said, we are all hearty New Englanders.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear May C:

Thank you so much for your kind words about our guest house, the Fidelia Bridges House. You are so correct that staying in a building that was built in 1807 is a very different experience, and not one that every guest is able to appreciate. But the ones who do really get it, and that appears to be the case with you!

You also understand that the nicest place to visit in Salem is the Peabody Essex Museum, and we totally agree with you about that assessment. What you may not know is that we have a lovely package that you can buy which includes tickets to PEM, as well as a gift certificate to spend in their wonderful Gift Shop.

Thank you again for writing this lovely review. We are sincerely appreciative, as it gives our future guests a first-hand account of what staying in our Guest House is all about.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $147 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing