We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hawthorne”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Holiday Island AR
1 review
“Wonderful Hawthorne”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Staying at The Hawthorne Hotel in Salem MA is a unique experience. In addition to feeling like you've stepped back in time you're also afforded the modern conveniences we all enjoy in a first rate hotel. Food and service in the dining room is excellent. The Tavern provides great atmosphere including a roaring fire in season plus a unique martini menu. While there we enjoyed the atmosphere surrounding several beautiful weddings, showers and receptions while ladies and gentlemen in period costumes gathered for a commemorative Titanic weekend.
All in all we would recommend a stay at the Historic Hawthorne in Salem for anyone visiting the area who wants a hotel with great service, friendly surroundings and convenient location

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a corner suite when we arrived and would recommend it to anyone. Great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear kay n:

Wonderful review! Thank you so very much!!

You really hit all the nails squarely on the heads in terms of outlining all the wonderful reasons to enjoy a stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. You did an excellent job of painting an accurate word picture of the tangible and intangible benefits of staying at our hotel

We are so happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of each aspect of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    460
    118
    35
    44
See reviews for
525
725
100
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have stayed at and enjoyed the Hawthorne many times in recent years, but we’ll be taking a break after this most recent 2-night trip. Most of our problems stemmed from being placed in a room right in the heart of the renovations. We knew from a prior visit that the hotel was undergoing a renovation, and the hotel had also so advised us by email when we made the reservation. The email advised that “[t]he work … generally will be confined to a side of the building not occupied by guests,” so, when we discovered that the hallway carpet outside our room was swathed in protective coverings and the hall itself appeared to be an acting storage area for a variety of renovation materials, we were not particularly concerned. We discovered right away that our sink drained about a drop at a time. This problem was quickly attended to when we stepped out, and we were told that it was a result of the renovation, as the sink had only been installed the day before. We thought that would be the end of it. However, the next morning (a state holiday in MA) we were awakened before 8 AM by unrelenting banging, scraping, drilling and what felt like jack hammering, shaking the bed. We called downstairs and were told we should have expected disruption as we were told about it in the letter we’d theoretically received at check-in. Though we had not received a letter at check-in, a letter taped to the reception desk conveyed the same message as the email we’d received: guests would not be staying in the areas currently undergoing renovation. I stepped into the hallway and discovered that the renovation was underway right in the next-door room. Someone called us back to apologize and to offer a discount on that night’s stay (which was in fact applied to the bill) and a move to another room. We opted to stay in our room, which was spacious and light - and we hadn’t yet seen another guest so when the workmen were gone it was quite private - and rearranged our schedule so that we would be awake the next morning before the renovations started. This we did, ignoring the noise and the foot traffic and paint fumes, but we were not prepared when the power was cut to our room, presumably as part of the renovation. The hotel did discount our first night as offered and, I want to be clear that we were given the choice to move after the first morning’s disruption. But I can’t imagine why we were placed in that room in the first place without at least a bit more notice that we’d be in the heart of the renovation so we could plan accordingly. A few unrelated issues: a bench in our room was broken, creating a potential safety hazard; a clear vial of an unidentifiable substance was sitting on one of the beds when we first arrived in our room (unnerving); a folded piece of paper or something equally casual-looking, was slipped under one of the armoire's legs to keep it stable (functional but not up to Hawthorne standards); the hotel has installed awful chemical air "fresheners" in the two guest elevators, bathing guests in noxious fumes that are overwhelming in such a small space.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front can have street noise if the windows are open but closing them shuts it out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Heather086:

We are so upset that you had a poor stay after being a loyal customer in the past. The construction crew encountered an accidental water break that flooded all of one wing of the hotel, thus pushing the finish date for the construction back a full month. You will be happy to know that the construction is done at this point, and only a few things remain to be done that will have little impact on the operations of the hotel.
I am sincerely sorry to read your current review, and hope that you will contact me directly so that I can make things right for you. You can call me at 978-744-4080 or email me at Juli@HawthorneHotel.com

Thank you for writing.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel has some good history and strong character with an excellent "club" feel. The staff were really helpful and kind enough to offer a military discount.

Unfortunately, the upstairs (4th floor) was undergoing refurbishment, half the corridor was marginally better than a building site. Once into our room it was pretty tired, hence the refurbishment!!

A good location with easy access to the main hub of Salem and the water front (which has a regular ferry service to downtown Boston).

I would definitely recommend the hotel, based on the lobby and lounge area but would strongly advise holding off until they have finished the refurb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_O_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Big_O_UK:

Thank you for the kind words about the overall good feel of the hotel. We do sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with the renovations. It did take longer for this to be done due to an accidental water break in the attic of the hotel that caused a great deal of damage. This in turn slowed down the renovations, but they are virtually complete at this point. We are only waiting for the custom wallpaper and carpeting to be made and installed for everything to be finished.

I would appreciate your contacting me directly so that I can make amends to you. You can call me at 978-744-4080 or email me at Juli@HawthorneHotel.com.

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed in the guest house out back and found the room exquisitely charming. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was large. On either side of the fireplace, two small closets had been turned into the bathroom. One held the sink and toilet and the other held the shower.
If you are not looking for this old type of New England charm then this is not the place for you. I am from the area and was staying there for a wedding at the Peabody Essex Musuem. So if you are someone who is looking for this type of experience, then I hightly recommend the Hawthorne Hotel. Some of my family stayed in the hotel proper and thoroughly enjoyed their experience as well. But, as I said, we are all hearty New Englanders.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear May C:

Thank you so much for your kind words about our guest house, the Fidelia Bridges House. You are so correct that staying in a building that was built in 1807 is a very different experience, and not one that every guest is able to appreciate. But the ones who do really get it, and that appears to be the case with you!

You also understand that the nicest place to visit in Salem is the Peabody Essex Museum, and we totally agree with you about that assessment. What you may not know is that we have a lovely package that you can buy which includes tickets to PEM, as well as a gift certificate to spend in their wonderful Gift Shop.

Thank you again for writing this lovely review. We are sincerely appreciative, as it gives our future guests a first-hand account of what staying in our Guest House is all about.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Hawthorne has lovely rooms and, importantly, superbly firm and comfortable beds that provided an excellent night's sleep. The room in which we ate breakfast was elegant yet not staid, and the dishes were tasty. Everything you would want to see in Salem is within walking distance. I would also put in a plug for dinner at Finz by the water for excellent seafood.

Room Tip: There was no pool or spa, but we knew this before our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Eric G:

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We sincerely appreciate every guest who takes the time from their busy schedule to do something like this. So many of us rely on these kinds of review sites, but they are only as good as the input such as yours that come to them.

We especially appreciate your kind words about our beds. Our mattresses are made right here in Salem by the Gardner Mattress Company, so we are acting locally to provide you with an excellent night’s sleep.

We are also very appreciative of your kind compliments about your breakfast dining experience. Should you choose to do so, we always love getting separate reviews of Nathaniel’s Restaurant on TripAdvisor, as sometimes that is what guests search, rather than simply on the Hawthorne Hotel.

We refer many guests to Finz for their excellent seafood. Thank you for mentioning their excellence as well. I will be sure to share your comments with the owner of Finz.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a Friday night here and really enjoyed it. We'd never stayed in a historic hotel before so we weren't sure what to expect. The rooms are somewhat small but that added to the charm of the hotel and was perfect for the two of us. The room was very clean and the king size bed was pretty comfortable. The look and feel of the hotel makes it easy to get a sense of stepping back in time to the hotel's early days in the 1920's and 1930's. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. As a bonus, the hotel is ideally located to all the main attractions in Salem. Everything is within easy walking distance. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Salem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Jay H:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. You certainly gave an accurate picture of what most of our guests think of staying in our hotel.

We do not pretend to be a modern hotel, but instead focus on excellence in customer service combined with a hotel that has all of the modern amenities such as true high-definition television on 32-inch flat panel televisions, clock-radios with iPod, iPhone and related docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi, excellent beds with double the number of pillows you would expect, and the largest on-site parking lot in Salem, all located within a very walkable area proximate to all that Salem has to offer.

The charm of the property is apparent, as you have noted, and we sincerely appreciate your kind comments about that, and know that your review will be helpful to other travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The location is great seeing that it is in short walking distance to the sights of Salem however the rooms are small with not very many amenities. Not to mention the renovations that were going on. They put us in a room three doors down from the chaos and was awaken by a sander every morning at 7am. The renovators had no consideration for the guests staying for they were loud, swearing and even smoking. My husband and I found garbage for the pervious guests and old toothpaste in the sink. My husband and I are planning one more stay after the renovations are complete just to try and be fair but if our satisfaction is not met then, we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffirose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Steffirose23:

Please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations during this most recent visit. We are very sorry that you experienced the construction noise that you did. We did try to notify every guest before arrival of the construction work going on in the hotel, and it appears we might not have gotten that letter to you letting you know that the construction would be going on starting at 7 am each day. It is imperative that we get this work done, so the quality of all of our bathrooms will be the best we can have them be, and that the work is done before the busier seasons arrive.

I am truly more concerned about the two housekeeping issues that were missed, as there is certainly no excuse for anything like that. The two staff members who were involved (the person who cleaned the room and the person who inspected it) have received the appropriate corrective counseling to make sure nothing like this ever is allowed to happen again.

I am surprised to read your comments about the amenities of the hotel. Here is what I know we provide to our guests in the way of amenities: complimentary morning coffee and tea service, complimentary USA Today newspapers, true high-definition television, including complimentary HBO, on 32-inch flat panel televisions, clock-radios with iPod, iPhone and related docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi, excellent beds with double the number of high-quality pillows you would expect, triple sheeting, high thread-count linen, duvets, complimentary passes to the Salem YMCA in addition to a small fitness center here in the hotel, full Room Service for food and beverage service offered 18 hours per day, and free on-site parking.

Because of your comment, as compared to what I have listed above, we would honestly be very interested to learn what kind of amenities one would expect in a hotel charging what we do, for a room with two queen beds and a full bath plus a half-bath?

We are sincerely pleased that you wrote you would give us another opportunity to show you the kind of excellence in hotel lodging that has made the Hawthorne Hotel what it is today, and thank you for your taking the time to write this review. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss our hotel amenities, you can call the hotel at 978-744-4080 and ask for me. I'm certain such a conversation would be mutually beneficial, and result in better service to future travelers as well.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing