We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

The room was tiny but it served our needs and we worked around it. I really liked that the window opened so I can enjoy the fresh cool air - something I rarely get to experience in Florida. The Tavern and restaurant were both good. The restaurant was a understaffed so service was slow. The Tavern was comfortable, friendly and the hours were good.

I was more disappointed in Salem at night. It is literally a ghost town at night, at least the week we were there (last week of september). Again though, we just went with it and found a local bar and then went ghost hunting!

Convenient location to all things - boston, salem, new hampshire and the white mountains, and a short 1 hr drive to maine.

Overall, I really liked it and will return again. I may even spend a little more to get a bigger room. My wife was equally happy!

Room Tip: unless you are going to be out and about and not really in your room, go with a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Rich B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your guest room as well as your meals. Since your departure, we have recruited new breakfast staff in an effort to keep up with business demands. We are very sorry that you were not offered proper service during your stay.

While Salem is known for its rich history and does draw tourists year round, our October season is by far our liveliest. The off-season is a great time to check out our local restaurant scene, which we hope you enjoyed. We are glad that you found our location to be a hub-and-spoke to areas beyond Salem itself.

Thank you so much again for writing. We would love to have you back!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    448
    116
    34
    44
See reviews for
517
712
97
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

What the rooms here lack in space the hotel makes up for with history & location. The hotel is walking distance to all the major sites & restaurants. The hotel is beautiful however, be prepared that the rooms are small, almost European size. The walls are quite thin and you can hear every conversation around you. The service is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dearm JMC062,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed our central location as well as our charm.

While some of our guest rooms are the same size as they were when the hotel was constructed in 1925, we do offer larger room types as well. Like many historic properties, our walls do not have soundproofing, but as a courtesy we do offer high-quality ear plugs for our guests.

Thank for also mentioning our outstanding service, as we do hold our staff to high service standards.

Your review, while short, will be quite helpful to future travelers. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Delightfully older yet well maintained...easy to walk to everything. Flat Screen TV was a little awkwardly mounted on the wall, but I was able to watch from the bed with no problems. Shower was big and clean...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your kind review! We have been receiving great reviews of the new TV sets since we have acquired high-definition programming.

Thank you again – we hope to see you back for a return visit.

Best regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My review gives this hotel five stars. I am basing this on the quality of the room, the cleanliness of the hotel and room, and the staff. One must remember that Salem is a small, New England town, and to preserve the charm of a town like this, buildings are not torn down to put in "five star W's". And, although this may not be a Rowe's Wharf hotel in downtown Boston, it is an amazing hotel in the middle of Salem, in the perfect location to explore most of the central places one would want to be in.

I had read the reviews and was concerned about the size of the room. We fortunately got a larger corner room, so I cannot comment on the size of a standard room, but I will say our room was wonderful. Two queen sized beds, very comfortable to sleep in, with a dresser for our clothes, a desk for our computers and plenty of plugs in the lamps to charge our electrical gear. The bathroom is very very small, but I didn't expect it to be larger. The shower had a good pressure and the water was very hot like I like it. Although older, the bathroom was well maintained and newly painted. No heebee geebees here!

The hotel is located across from the town common, and one of the witch museums. Everything is a nice stroll from it. We spent the day strolling from museum to museum, stopping for lunch and ice cream at the end. Nothing is too far away (I am not someone who likes to walk too much, and this was the perfect place to walk slowly and enjoy). We were lucky enough to find ourselves there on a Thursday night, and as we strolled to dinner, the peacefullness of fall settled in. The beauty of the houses, the leaves gently swirling down and the smell of crisp. Needless to say, the area the hotel is in was the perfect location.

The staff at the hotel greeted us with a smile every single time we went to the desk. They gave us detailed descriptions, good directions and helped guide us when needed. Very friendly and efficient.

This hotel is a reminder of the grandeur of the past, while being maintained in the present.

I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Salem and be centrally located. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great old hotel. Great location with in city. Walked everywhere no reason to use car. The front desk/Bellman/Cleaning staff were all great and helpful. The manager Juli and Tina were the greatest.
Great Sunday Brunch at Nathaniels.
Travelers with dogs will love the doggy menu in room service.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the top (6th floor) floor and out room did not have a view but we spent little time there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Besides being a great place to stay the attention the staff of the hotel gave to our conference attendees was first rate. Special requests from our attendees were greeted with a smile and fulfilled quickly. We were in the Library for our meetings and the Essex Room for cocktails and meals. The character of rooms was a bonus. Highly recommend the Hawthorne.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear George S,

Thank you for so much for this great review! I will be sure to relay these wonderful comments to all of the team members who took part in making your conference such a great experience.

We hope you and your guests will join us again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Nice period hotel in a great location with loads of parking, once you've parked you can do all of Salem on foot. Nice rooms, we were on a corner but the bathrooms are small (ok you can't make them bigger) but the basin was badly cracked and plumbing was too noisy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevetherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Stevetherover,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our central location and complimentary parking.

We appreciate your input concerning our guest rooms. As we have only completed bathroom renovations to 40 out of the 89 guest rooms in our hotel, we have scheduled to commence renovations on the remaining guest bathrooms this December. These renovations will include new piping, granite countertops, new energy-friendly toilets, sinks, showerheads and faucets. Upon completion, these bathrooms will also be quieter. We also plan to enlarge bathrooms in our corner rooms to provide more space and functionality.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Square West, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing