We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service staff make this a pleasant stay”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here at the end of August, loved it! The location is fantastic, the downstairs communal areas are delightfull. Unfortunately the rooms are in dire need of a refurb, the first room I was given was not great had a broken bed, cracks on the bathroom wall and there were stains on the wall. I was quickly given another room which was nice, I apreciate this is an old hotel so it may take time to update all the rooms but they do let the hotel down as everything else is so good. The staff are excellent, I was greeted by Melissa and the evening manager sorted out another room for me so quickly and politely. Sam in the tavern part of the hotel was also very friendly and informative. The bottomline is I would recommend it but if you are fussy about your room pay extra for a top room!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Arwen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Dear Arwen1979:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. While we are very sorry that the first room you were given was not up to par, we are very happy you afforded us the opportunity to correct the situation.

Your first room (620) is due for a bathroom renovation this coming December, and the room to which we moved you (404) underwent a bathroom renovation this past March. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the new room and hope you liked the new bathrooms.

Thank you for noting the friendliness of our staff members. I will be sure to let both Melissa and Sam know you appreciated their service.

Thank you again for writing this nice review. We sincerely hope you return to the Hawthorne Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,710 - 1,716 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wow. Well, this certainly was an interesting hotel! Beds were nice, room was nice. Bathroom was small. Walls are a little thin, but I suppose that's more due to the age of the building. If you're looking for 'new', then this isn't the place of for you. If your looking for different and classy, then by all means, check it out. Service was outstanding...from reception to the tavern the people were really nice and helpful. The hotel is about as good a location as we could have asked for in Salem. We were staying for a wedding and they did a great job hosting it. Don't know about the rates as we were there with a wedding, so we got a group rate. Definitely not your typical hotel and certainly unique!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilmishabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Dear Lilmishabear:

Thank you for writing such a kind review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed the beds, the room and our central location. I am personally pleased that you were so impressed with the service.

As with many historic properties, many of our guest rooms have smaller bathrooms, and no two guest rooms are alike. With the second phase of bathroom renovations approaching this December, we intend on expanding the bathrooms in some of our guest rooms, as well as making the existing space more practically useful. If our guests do have specific requests concerning the layout of their guest room, our staff is always on hand to assist, so your input is very helpful to other travelers.

Thank you again for your great review. We hope to welcome you back to the Hawthorne Hotel in the future.

Warmest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The food is excellent, the staff is very responsive, and the facility is beautiful, but don't look too close. Broken beds, old plumbing, and fixtures could use repair or updating. I guess the example of a sausage is perfect for this example of Elegance of the Past, if you knew exactly what was in it, you may not want to eat it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear John A:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate knowing how much you enjoyed our service responsiveness and our food. We do know those are two things over which we have the most control, and we do work hard to give our guests the highest levels in both of those critical areas.

We would like you to know that since October 2010, our property has undergone several updates in an effort to improve guest comfort and room functionality.

We have added new mattresses, box springs, mattress and box spring enclosures, and frames to all of our guest rooms, and have renovated 40 of our guest bathrooms. These renovations addressed new piping, ventilations, granite counters and bathroom fixtures, and our second phase is scheduled to commence this December to complete the bathrooms in the remaining guest rooms.

We finished adding new wallpaper and crown molding to all of the rooms, added flat panel television, and new lamps with handy outlets for charging your cell phones, computers and related gadgets.

We have upgraded all of our sheeting and pillow cases to a higher, more luxurious thread count, with more upgrades to come within the next month.

We thank you again for your review, and hope that you consider returning so that you may see the improvements we’ve worked so hard to accomplish. Please do not hesitate to contact me so that I may assist you personally.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were at the Hawthorn Hotel for a wedding. Common areas were a bit worn, but comfortable. Free am coffee and free Wifi-always appreciated. Also free parking. Room was spacious,although dark. We had to buy higher wattage lightbulbs on order to read anything.
Only other negative in our visit was Hawthorn attitude/policy re bringing liquor. Like cruise ships, they prohibit personal liquor in guest rooms!! We ignored that, although staff asserted it when directions to package store were requested. I have never been to a hotel anywhere with such a policy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jph51350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear jph51350:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our property. We are very pleased to know that you appreciated our complimentary WiFi, morning coffee and parking while you joined us this past weekend.

We have recently purchased new lamps for our guest rooms, which, in keeping up with the “green” trend have been installed with energy-efficient bulbs, which take a few moments to shine at their brightest once turned on. We do have additional lamps on-hand in case any of our guests wish to have more light in their guest rooms.

Our hotel does offer two restaurants, both of which serve alcoholic beverages. In order for us to legally maintain our liquor license, we do prohibit the entry of outside liquor. This is not a hotel policy, but one imposed by the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission.

Thank you again for your kind review. We sincerely hope you will consider our hotel on your next visit to Salem.

Best regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

As proud father of the bride, I was extremely pleased with both the wedding event and our stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. The pre-wedding planning, rehersal dinner, ceremony, and accomodations were all terrific. The food was absolutely fantastic. The parents-of-the-bride's room was welcoming with 1-1/2 baths and very comfortable beds. The historic element of the hotel and seaside surroundings made it extra special. My thanks to the management and staff at the Hawthorne for making this important occasion a memorable experience and total success.

Room Tip: Ask about the individual attributes of available suites/rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Jim A:

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful, candid review of your recent experience with us. We are all just thrilled that our team was able to provide you and your guests a great experience on such an important occasion. I will be sure to pass on these kind words to all of the staff that took part in this special event.

We are also glad to see you enjoyed our property’s historical assets, comfortable beds and prime location.

Thank you again for your kind words, and congratulations!

Best regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel has lots of history and character and is in a great location. From the minute we walked in the hotel till when we left, all staff tried to make our stay a very pleasant one and they succeeded. Dinner in their Tavern (twice) was great and twice we had the Continental Breakfast which was also very good. The staff is very helpful if you have any questions about touring around Salem or the area. The second night of the four nights we wanted to stay, the hotel was booked and they (Adam) were extremely helpful in suggesting and arranging alternate accomodations for that particular night (we did return for the next 2 nights.)

Room Tip: If a spacious bathroom is really important to you, ask which rooms suit your needs when you register...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Cathy B:

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so pleased to know that you appreciated the location and charm of our hotel; as well as the wonderful service we encourage from our friendly staff. It is flattering to us to know that although we were unable to accommodate you for one night, you returned to us the next day.

Like many historic properties, our room sizes range as do the sizes of the guest bathrooms. Our knowledgeable staff is always on-hand to personally assist guests with particular guest room needs, so your room tip is very helpful for future travelers considering our hotel.

Thank you again for this wonderful review!

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I recenlty spent a long weekend here in connection with a family reunion. We had a quiet room on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel. The room was comfortable and included two closets. The meals I had in the Tavern and Nathaniel's were good as were the two private meals included in the reunion. Service at the front desk and in the two restaurants was good and friendly.

The location is great; you can walk everywhere, both to points of interest and to restaurants. I enjoyed the House of the Seven Gables and the National Park Service Regional Visitor Center which also has an interesting orientation film.

Restaurants we enjoyed were Bella Verona, Finz Seafood (at the waterfront), and Red's Sandwich Shop.

We did not have time to do everything we were interested in, which is better than not having enough to do. That will have to wait for another trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalJunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear SoCalJunebug:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so happy to know you found comfort and functionality in your guest room and from our friendly staff. We take great pride in the service we offer to our guests, and I am so pleased we were able to provide that in all facets of this recent reunion.

Our hotel is located within steps of some of Salem’s most popular attractions and restaurants. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of this convenience.

We sincerely hope you will return to Salem in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hawthorne Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing