We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amelia Payson House
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

After searching the bed and breakfasts in the Salem area I am so glad we decided to stay here. Ada and Don are very helpful with referring places to eat and for giving directions around town. You can really see they have a passion for their town. The house could not be in a better location and we enjoyed the charming look and feel of the home. To say it is clean is an understatement. Our room was made up each day and I never noticed even the slightest bit of anything dirty. The bed was comfortable as well and the private bathroom a good size.
The breakfasts were always freshly prepared with more than ample amounts of food to keep us full until lunchtime. Ada and Don learned each of their guests likes and made sure each guest was happy.
We enjoyed meeting such a sweet couple and will stay here in the future if we return to Salem. Thanks for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoelover80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the b&b for two nights. Ada & Donald are wonderful, welcoming hosts! We loved the fresh breakfast which included freshly baked goods lovingly made by Ada. Our room was spacious, beautiful, quiet and clean - and the bed was very comfy!
Also, a great plus is that the ferry to Boston is super close (you can walk there, takes about 10 minutes), and it saves lots of time & money in getting to the city!
All in all, a great experience and a wonderful stay, we highly reccommend it :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Perfection! The Amelia Payson House is warm, charming and very well kept. Our room was meticulously clean. Ada & Donald made us feel so comfortable and were extra attentive to my daughter. Breakfast was above and beyond what we expected and we enjoyed our conversations with Ada, Donald and the other guests. We can't stop talking about the fun we had in Salem as well as our stay at The Amelia Payson House. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our time spent in Salem was even better due to Ada & Donald Roberts at the Amelia Payson House. Clean, friendly and inviting, the Amelia Payson house was just steps from all of the attractions Salem has to offer.

Breakfast was great with warm and gracious hosts. Highly recommend...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaRoseBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Let me start with this is what a B&B is all about! I was never impressed before now with B&B's. Ada makes you feel so comfortable and like one of the family while still giving you space. The breakfast she serves are spectacular! I saw some people complain on some of the other reviews but I do not see how they could really mean it! Fresh fruit always served with breakfast and it was so much food that we did not have to eat till 2-3 pm. The house is even more gorgeous in person and a lot more spacious then what I was expecting. We are so lucky to have found them and hopefully they keep opening for many more years cause this is our new spot to travel too. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHELLE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The Amelia Payson is a beautiful house with meticulously cared-for rooms. A friend and I stayed in a large room with two beds. The bathroom was huge. The innkeepers were very helpful with advice on what to see and do. They also recommended the Finz restaurant where we had a fabulous seafood dinner. Salem is a lovely place to visit. We will definite stay again at the Amelia Payson.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCamper46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Delightful accommodations with comfortable sitting are for guests and lots of materials on area; very helpful hosts with suggestions for restaurants;location convenient to the center of Salem. Off street parking which is a very nice plus in an area where parking is at a minimum.. Very nice breakfasts with choices of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJS1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.5 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Payson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Payson House

Address: 16 Winter St, Salem, MA 01970-3807
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $135 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit about us...Celebrating 27 years as innkeepers, Ada & Donald invite you to their 1845 Greek Revival home. Guest will not only enjoy the grace and charm that is tradition at a true Bed & Breakfast Host Home, but will also appreciate our convenient Historic District location; just steps from all of Salem's limitless activities. Forget about your car, a five minute stroll finds the Witch Museum, the National Park Service Visitor's Center, the Peabody Essex Museum, the House of the Seven Gables, and all the shops, restaurants, whale watching & harbor tours located at Pickering Wharf Marina. Amtrak train service and/or passenger Ferry to Boston is just four blocks away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing