We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind Cafe”
Review of Gulu-Gulu Cafe

Gulu-Gulu Cafe
Ranked #9 of 235 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind Cafe”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our first night here in Salem led us to this cafe. They have 24 beers on draft that change periodically and our experience was the La Guanitas Lucky 13. Talk about a nice beer! The food is really good too. We enjoyed a variety of crepes (the Cordon Blue, and the chocolate, banana crepes to name a few). So far we've gone back several times now and have enjoyed not only the food but the ambience as well. It's a great place to hang out and play random board games as well. Thanks for the souvenirs and experience. Will definitely come back again... And again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esquared33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    163
    49
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Love it here, great atmosphere, great beers and great food. They have great crepes, both dessert style of meal style like ham apple and brie or strawberries, blueberry, yogurt and honey crepes. The coffee is great too, I had the crème Brule late which was just awesome. Being a pug owner , of course I love all the pug motifs everywhere and they also have lots of local artist work on the walls which are always very cool and quirky.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMGBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great watering hole on a hot day!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped in for drinks and snacks both days we were in Salem.
Nice outside seating. Good variety of beers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pshapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beers were excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a few choices for beer and asked the Bartender, got a really good explanation of the options and really enjoyed a night here, did not try the food but it looked good. Really nice buzz about the place and staff were ultra helpful. Was reccomended by the guys in the Great Escape and they were bang on the money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tent_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly service and central location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

have had drinks and lunch here on a number of occasions the latest being on 7 July. Great choice of cocktails and beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dontparkatno14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulu-Gulu Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gulu-Gulu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing