We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch spot.”
Review of Gulu-Gulu Cafe

Gulu-Gulu Cafe
Ranked #9 of 234 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot for lunch. The food was very "foodie" and the atmosphere was laid back. The food was delicious and the sandwiches and wraps were just right, size-wise. The meat and cheese plate was a bit expensive. They gave a huge chuck of cheese, but "cheese" you on the meats, no pun intended. Well, maybe it was b

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tipapint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    163
    49
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great place! Love the beer choices and their crepes are good. Most of the staff is pretty friendly! I usually go on Wednesdays which is open mic night, so it's always super crowded, but its still worth going to even if you have to wait a bit for a table!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

While walking about in a downtown core, one can be a bit perplexed where to find a good (one hopes for great) place to eat. We asked a local for a recommendation for breakfast / ,brunch spot and was directed to the Gula Gula Café. Wonderful coffee, terrific friendly service and best of all, awesome food. Prices are reasonable and servings were generous. We sat outside on a sunny but shaded patio which was a welcomed change due to the recent onslaught of rain and dreary weather. We would recommend or return? Absolutely! Thanks Gula Gula!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome. And Awesome.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lunch was so good we decided to go back for dessert the next night for crapes. We sat outside both times and had decent service and awesome food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shire2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Day 1... a group of 6 of us sat outside. It was the service that put us off. No patience. Snotty. Made to feel apologetic for expecting our server do her job. Decided on just drinks & left.
Day 2...decided to give it a 2nd chance, breakfast menu intrigued us. We encountered even worse of an attitude with a different server! Ignored us. We asked a question about gluten free items available, couldn't believe how snotty our server was. Walked right by us as we were trying to ask her a question & get her attention. She seemed "put off" to have us there. The bathroom was a filthy disgusting mess. We left before we got any service...not even waters & went to "Reds" right around the corner...it was cheaper, food was great, servers were friendly. Gulu was a total let down considering we really wanted to try the menu out. Servers help make the experience...the Gulu experience was a total disappointment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulu-Gulu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing