We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool place and a must-visit in Salem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulu-Gulu Cafe

Gulu-Gulu Cafe
Ranked #10 of 229 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very cool place and a must-visit in Salem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Coming all the way down from Montreal, Canada, and after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided that we had to try this place in Salem.

At first, we had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated, but it gave us the time to look at the menu and the place. We can see it seems to be a locals' favorite... and we were not disapointed. The menu is simple, but efficient and the food is excellent!

All the employees seems to enjoy working there and we can feel it. The ambiance is very cool, relax and confortable.

Only one issue with that place... need more tables! LOL

Definitelly a place to visit and we'll go back for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    155
    45
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fresh food and great service in this little local spot! We had a wonderful brunch - even lots of vegan options for my daughter! Worth a trip for sure!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PANancyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place for a good moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Even if it was raining outside, the weather was Xtra fine inside . Good choice for veggies, and Art everywhere in this place .
People are nice . Hope to come back soon

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“enjoy going!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hi! Gulu is one of our favorite places to go, eclectic, unique, good food, and awesome atmosphere. I've gotten the Oslo sandwich the last couple of times we've been, it's delish! I must agree with one other reviewer tho, that the little side salad has little to no dressing, I've had to ask for it twice now, but other than that it's awesome! You gotta get there at just the right time to get a table though! I feel that some folks sit hours upon hours with their laptops when others are waiting for food and drinks, so come on guys, go to Starbucks if you're gonna be that long okay?? We all want a chance to experience Gulu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Once you are there...you won't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the best cafe / bars I have ever been to. Great ambience, service and menu. A real gem that everyone visiting Salem should seek out and visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulu-Gulu Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gulu-Gulu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing