We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

The House of the Seven Gables
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #3 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover The House of the Seven Gables. Built in 1668, this National Historic Landmark is a treasure of American history. Professional guides welcome guests year round for a remarkable journey that explores Salem's maritime history, architecture, the famous hidden staircase, and the literary legacy of Nathaniel Hawthorne, author of The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter. Adding to the site's charm are spectacular three-season colonial revival gardens, and our unique museum store. Please visit our website for current hours and information.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Warwick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not cheap to tour but definitely worth it. This place is just stunning and the antiques are so beautiful. The area scenery is so calming and soothing. We really enjoyed this. Hint: we didn't take the 5 year old grandtwins in there!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,090
    627
    142
    35
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boxborough
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you have time to only do one thing in Salem, this is it. The site is wonderfully maintained. The staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Included in admission is Nathaniel Hawthorne's birthplace, so it's like getting 2 sites for the price of one.
If you can go during the month of October when they are acting out the story of the House of Seven Gables in the house, even better. A fantastic way to learn the story, on the spot!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A time gone by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rich in History, Historical gardens, Salty Sea air! What a beautiful place to spend a day or weekend just walking around. There is so much to explore in Salem, MA. Plus, the Peabody Essex Museum is great fun! Can't wait to go back in the Spring on a warm, breezy day and sit by the ocean, enjoy it all!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trip to Salem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were staying at the Morning Glory B&B next door so we decided to check it out and it was a great tour and very educational. Wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it all that much but it was amazing just to be in a house that old and hearing the stories behind it. A must see!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanners83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“breathing--our daughter worked at the house of seven gables school when she was in college.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

everything. mostly the seven gables and the beautiful flowers and grounds. We have also been to 3 wedding there. Just beautiful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of the Seven Gables also viewed

 

Been to The House of the Seven Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing