We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathing--our daughter worked at the house of seven gables school when she was in college.”

The House of the Seven Gables
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #3 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover The House of the Seven Gables. Built in 1668, this National Historic Landmark is a treasure of American history. Professional guides welcome guests year round for a remarkable journey that explores Salem's maritime history, architecture, the famous hidden staircase, and the literary legacy of Nathaniel Hawthorne, author of The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter. Adding to the site's charm are spectacular three-season colonial revival gardens, and our unique museum store. Please visit our website for current hours and information.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“breathing--our daughter worked at the house of seven gables school when she was in college.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

everything. mostly the seven gables and the beautiful flowers and grounds. We have also been to 3 wedding there. Just beautiful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,134
    641
    144
    35
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely go!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wonderful history, cool architecture. Guide was quite knowledgeable. Learned about American history and motivated me to read more Nathianiel Hawthorne.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love to do see it again”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend and I visited Salem on Halloween weekend. As we found out, this is the busiest weekend of the year. There were lines and wait times for everything but we didn't mind. It was a nice, unseasonably warm weekend. I had always wanted to see the House of the Seven Gables although I didn't know much about the history. The house itself sits on a piece of land overlooking the water. Our tour guide was very informative, animated, and friendly. We learned a lot about the house, the different rooms, the style and purposes of the furnishings, the different owners/family members, the book and the author, Nathaniel Hawthorne. Spoiler Alert: the secret staircase can be a tight fit for some. Don't leave Salem without a visit here. I would love to do it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank treylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
298 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Your in Salem, go see it!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are a fan of Nathanial Hawthorne or just a fan of history check out this house. It's beautiful. Full of interesting information. We went in the fall a couple years ago and it was well worth the money. If you are walking around town doing all the tours this is right along the way!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenhaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Important and beautful.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The quintessential Nathaniel Hawthorne landmark. But it is more than that. It is a fantastic museum of Salem merchant life during the colonial and early Federal period. Super location on the water with a very nice garden and several other historic buildings, including Hawthorne's birthplace which was moved here. Café.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marsille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of the Seven Gables also viewed

 

Been to The House of the Seven Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing