We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Peabody Essex Museum
from $547.20
More Info
Go Boston Card
138 Reviews
from $57.00
More Info
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,848 results
Traveler rating
1,364
343
95
32
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,364
343
95
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese house maritime art the yin yu tang house special exhibit permanent collection great exhibits chinese home china trade ocean liners east india audio tour on display new england beautiful building north shore gift shop worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,848 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

While we were up in Salem and we were walking around taking in all of the sights and we came upon this place. I really like a Museum as I have been to many of the all over the Country. We had decided to go and we took the tour and they had an impressive amount of artifacts and other valuable items for sure and we really enjoyed the tour of this place for sure.

We had noticed on this review of this place there were some imbeciles that stated this place is very misleading and inadequate and do not listen or pay attention to any of that nonsense because they do not know the first thing about a really good museum and they probably have the intelligence of a head of lettuce.

We really enjoyed visiting the "Peabody Essex Museum" and thank you again...!

Thank RayTomsRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Went because it was a part of the Go Boston Card. I am not a fan of art museums. Most of the museum was roped off for a special production, which was not included for us.

Thank crazichell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Advertising indicated a sizable exhibit of Forbidden City artifacts, when in reality there were two SMALL rooms with poor examples of Forbidden City artifacts. At an extra charge there was a replica of part of the Forbidden City which also left a lot to be desired. Many quality museums have better Chinese artifacts without the exaggerated promotion. Save your money

Thank 881rona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We did this on a rainy day when touring Salem. It is right in the tourist area of Salem. There is a parking garage right across from it. There are a lot of pieces that reflect the maritime history of the area and the influences Salem had on the rest of the world. We did the museum in half a day. Book your self for the house tours. There are 3 houses in the area that you can tour. One is the house that inspired the Clue game. Keep your pass so you can use the bathrooms later on in the day

Thank kevinlY1011GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

World class Musium in the center of everything Salem has to offer. Beautiful building for exhibits. Layout is wonderful. Nice gift shop. Near train station. Near restaurants and shops.

Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent museum with a fine and varied permanent collection. Where they really shine is in their special exhibits - they are always ingeniously designed, interactive for adults & children, dynamically displayed items. It is conveniently located in the heart of Salem with a range of surrounding walkable sites for food. A must see for the crowd who want to visit Salem for more than the 17th c.witch trials!

Thank michaelbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum is really cool, totally worth visiting even if you have been before. The Chinese house is awesome!

Thank bostonguy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Salem Mass is an amazing small city on the coast, with a great maritime, and literary history. The Peabody Essex Museum is a wonderful museum with innovative, timely, and well designed exhibits. The PEM as it is lovingly referred, has hosted unique and special exhibits you won't find elsewhere, in addition to a great collection that chronicles the history of Salem and the great age of sail. Definitely worth a visit. And great gift shops. Check out their web site for the latest info. And the location is ideal....walking distance to other attractions, shops, amd restaurants. Enjoy!

Thank TeaFanatic2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Interesting the visit , the Chinese kings seccion was impress with all the close and different objects they had , was a very mothern and well designed museum

Thank mauriciof286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have gone to this museum several times, but I never have written a review. The collection is somewhat small and largely focuses on things relevant to the history of this part of Massachusetts. However, a major draw for us are typically the special exhibits. These are usually extremely good. The current one features artifacts from the Forbidden City and focuses on the Empresses of the Qing dynasty. Having been in China, earlier this month, I was particularly intrigued to see the exhibit. I wasn't disappointed. The exhibit was great, very well-explained and laid out. I would recommend checking out the museum and keeping abreast of their special exhibits.

Thank betteskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews