We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting stop in historic Salem!”

Salem Maritime National Historic Site
Ranked #13 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salem Maritime, the National Park in Salem, is a nine-acre historic site located on Salem’s waterfront that tells the history of Salem’s international trade and the sailors and merchants who built the economy of the young United States. National Park Rangers present guided tours of historic buildings and replica tall ship Friendship, and are ready help you navigate Salem at the Visitor Center, conveniently located on New Liberty Street across from the city parking garage.
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“An interesting stop in historic Salem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here on our annual national parks trip- this time to the East Coast. We always buy the national parks recreation passport which allows you to get into all of the national parks for a full year for one price. If you are visiting multiple national parks you should look into it because it will save you money, often paying for itself after only two or three stops.

The current visitor center is located downtown at the museum, not by the harbor as it used to be as it is closed for renovation. Also their hours were not correct in my visitor book- they are 10-4 M-F and 9-5 on Weekends. The museum is nice- we did not view the film because we were pressed for time. The harbor is beautiful and the ship that is sitting in it very large. The plaques by the harbor make the visit worth it even if you cant tour the boat because it explains how the harbor worked and how important it was to the area. I would make a stop if you are in Salem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eclipsethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    80
    37
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Salem itself if a very interesting place, historical architecture, lots of history. My wife and I walked around for two hours. The maritime historic site was interesting to see how our forefathers traded merchandise. The friendship was closed, I would have liked to have gone on board. Salem was busy with a lot of traffic but we had a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Sign up for the tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Without a Ranger to get you on the sloop and show you the interior of the Customs House, this is just a nice bit of urban space. A phone call to a number posted on a sign in front of the Customs House got us on the noon tour. One can also register at the Visitor's Center. Some folks did neither and since there was room they joined in with no effort at all. The Ranger put it all into perspective - the "Friendship" carried about 3 semi-trailer loads of stuff and sailed as far as China, always trading up. The Custom House interior is also interesting with the connection with Hawthorne and the "Scarlet Letter" as a part of the story. Much of the income for the USA came from customs duties and similar fees and Salem was a very rich town before bigger ships and a shallow harbor took the trade away. The Ranger made the building come alive as a place of business, although one does have to remember Hawthorne's take on it. Get on the tour and pay attention - it is definitely worth a phone call.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely tour of the Friendship. Our tour guide knew the ship's history well. Tour also went into the Custom's house, which I was not too fond of. Although the ship makes up for it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shannhugo440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,901 reviews
886 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit the ship Friendship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This park contained some historic buildings and an old merchant vessel from the 1700s. No one was present to let you on the ship, or to answer questions. However, the site itself was quite pleasant, and we gathered a lot of interesting facts simply by reading the plaques around the area. It was a nice was to spend an hour of time, and there are benches that can be used to rest your feet and take in the view. This was well worth the time to see the sights,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salem Maritime National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Salem Maritime National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing