We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic home!”

The Witch House/Corwin House
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,100.00*
and up
Day Trip From Boston to Salem in Luxury Rolls Royce Ghost
Ranked #11 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only remaining Salem structure with direct ties to the witch trials of 1692.
Minneola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic home!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This home was built nearly 400 years ago and is still standing?!? WOW! There are many period objects and furnishings in the house. You will see the giant fireplace with different cooking nooks and the wooden baby cradles. This was the home of a judge that presiding over the witch trials.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank allicatFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    230
    162
    44
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited Salem for the first time last summer, and absolutely loved The Witch/Corwin House. I liked that they had artifacts from that time period; something that I would have liked to see at other attractions throughout the city. It is a great attraction for history lovers, such as myself.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitlinB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Manager at The Witch House/Corwin House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is a rewarding experience when we are recognized by the historically appreciative. It is an amazing house to work at, to share with the public. I am often in the home alone, before staff arrives and I am constantly reminded of the importance of respecting the human drama that has played out within these walls. I have cultivated a profound respect for the structure and the events she has witnessed!

Warmest Regards,
Elizabeth Peterson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The house was interesting, although alot of the items were replicas, it did give a sense of what things were like back then. I thought for the cost, there would be more to it. It was self guided, which was nice, you could move at your leisure, but, if you wanted to ask questions, you got one or two word answers from a staff that was more interested in talking to one another, it seemed. I also found it in poor taste that you had to exit through the souvenir shop....hmmmm, kind of tacky.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank StormyDaze0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Manager at The Witch House/Corwin House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Very disappointed to find a visitors experience was not all they had hoped it would be. Most visitors share with us their appreciation for being able to visit a home directly tethered to the Salem Witch Trial History. We have worked diligently to research the period and to share an accurate, dignified interpretation of this tragic episode in our history. Our guides are trained to help dispel commonly held misconceptions about the trials and we strive to offer an attentive, friendly staff presence for our visiting public. Having said that, we are in the process of training new staff and perhaps your experience reflected a lack of confidence in answering your question more completely. There is a great deal of knowledge to absorb and it does take a bit of time to become comfortable with it.

Though I have never received a complaint for the positioning of our gift shop before, I will say that the house's age, size, design and function necessitate directing public access through the gift shop. It ensures the security of our remarkable collection of late 17th, early 18 th century pieces. It also provides our visitors with a more immersive and fully optimized interpreted space and experience.

I am happy to discuss your concerns further, or answer the questions you posed to our staff during your visit. Please feel free to call the house at 978-744-8815.

Kindest Regards,
Elizabeth Peterson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“authentic historical link to the witch trials”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Unlike most of the 1692 witch-related attractions in Salem, this one is legitimate. Even tho the furnishings are not authentic to the house (those were dispersed when the family sold the house many years ago), the house itself has been restored to a state resembling its 17th century form. Most of the current furnishings (assembled since the 1940s) are appropriate to the period the Corwins lived there. In the parlor one can imagine the magistrate Jonathan Corwin discussing the examination of the accused witches with his colleague John Hathorne. The two of them conducted most of the preliminary questioning of the accused, and both served as well on the larger court that tried them. In addition, this is one of the few houses in the Americas remaining from this period that one can visit. Highly recommended for visitor who want authenticity, not myth.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NYscholar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Eerie but Interesting”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was amazing to actually walk around inside a house that had direct ties to the Salem Witch Trials of 1692. This was the home of witchcraft trial judge Jonathan Corwin. There are a lot of artifacts to see and descriptions of some of the events of the witch trials. This is a self-guided tour but there are volunteers around if you have questions. Downstairs was the kitchen and dining room and upstairs are a couple of bedrooms. We were the only ones upstairs and it felt very creepy so we didn’t linger and went quickly back down. As this is the only house like it in Salem, we highly recommend visiting it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwinTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Witch House/Corwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing