We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Salem Witch Trials Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Two Hour Salem Morning Stroll Historical Tour
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each of this park's 20 stone benches represents a person executed in the infamous 1692 witch trials.
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
242 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Situated near a cemetery and old house. Very interesting to walk around the area. Close to visitor center and other attractions. And free!

Helpful?
Thank iver0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    352
    120
    21
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Sweet Memorial”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I read about the Salem witch trials when I was young and I found them disturbing. This memorial is a long time in coming - it was dedicated in 1992 by Eli Wiesel. It's very simple and touching as a memorial should be. It's appropriate that it's next to the oldest graveyard in Salem where the judge at the trials is buried.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Must visit. Big part of salem!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I went here with my friends and it was really sad to see it. To know those innocent people were hanged for no reason is very sad. But it is a must see I personally think its a big part of salems history so you must see it !!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valeriee_Rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lesson learned”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This memorial is a little hard to find without some guidance, and unless you know and understand the history of the Salem Witch Trials, this may have no effect on you, but it is a touching and moving place. From the names etched on the benches to the chill in the air, it almost takes you back in time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJMcK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
405 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A Moving Place (if you know your history)”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a very small little area, but I was surprised how much it affected me to visit here. The names of all of the victims of the Salem Witch Trials are etched on benches around the area, and they somehow bring reality to what happened here. It's a quick stop, and there is little to "learn" if one doesn't already know about the Trials, but if you do know a little bit, it's a very interesting place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Witch Trials Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing