We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, and worth the walk”

Salem 1630: Pioneer Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,100.00*
and up
Day Trip From Boston to Salem in Luxury Rolls Royce Ghost
Ranked #36 of 78 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1930, this recreated fishing village was one of America's first living history museums.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Out of the way, and worth the walk”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a true to history experience. Terrific tour and structures.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    8
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Visited just cause we were close by”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Did not do alot for us but we toured around the old town just because it is apart of history. spent a couple of hours here looking around. Thats about it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenzie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went here a few times. But this time was great. a wonderful tour of the living history museum. Go check it out. a great way to see life in the early 17th century.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank APazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old-timey fun!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My friend and I went to Salem for Halloween weekend and did lots of the tourist activities. This was one of our favorites! It was like going back in time to the 1600s. We had fun seeing all the recreations of the old dwellings, and there were people dressed old-timey, going about their old-timey business. We squealed with delight!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimba_Kutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and Quaint”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This village is very small ( probably about 8 buildings or so) but it was very educational and interesting in terms of history. We were greeted by a man and woman at the front hut where admission of $6 pp was paid. Then the man took us on a guided tour and explained the history of the area and significance of the archetecture used. There were 2 more characters inside the "governors mansion" giving another educational lecture regarding ways of life, knitting, cooking and dinner serveware etc. Then last but not least, the village blacksmith actively molding metal tools and describing his typical work day. It was cute and we all enjoyed it being history buffs and all. Worth the admission.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salem 1630: Pioneer Village also viewed

 

Been to Salem 1630: Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing