We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so”

New England Pirate Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,100.00*
and up
Day Trip From Boston to Salem in Luxury Rolls Royce Ghost
Ranked #23 of 78 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small museum recounts the exploits of Captain Kidd and other 17th-century pirates.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So so”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

You don't get much for your money. Some interesting pirate stories told at about 8 different pirate vignettes. If the kids love pirates they might like this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    91
    69
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An interesting piece of Salem's history; cool little place”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We, a group of three adults and an 11 year old boy, enjoyed this little museum during our day trip to Salem. The stories and information that the tour guide provided was interesting. Fun taking a photo with the pirate prop out front. Surprise at the end. I thought this was worth our time and money. We actually visited in Sept 2011 but the drop down menu for 'when did you visit?' doesn't go back that far. I was reminded of this museum as I'm looking through my album just now and thought I'd share with you that we thought it was worthwhile.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldsCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It is a pretty cool guided tour thru a museum that explains all about the pirate history in salem throuout it's history. There is a gift shop at the end. It is centrally located.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Museum is larger than it appears”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This museum is larger than it appears and it desends down a few levels to explore many exhibits related to Pirates and the Pirate lifestyle. The tour guides are very knowledgeable about the history of pirates and pirate activity in the area. The gift shop also brings fun and allows a little adventure to come home with you. You may not be all into the Witches of Salem, but who dosen't love a pirate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Tour Guide, thats about it.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Looking at the great reviews for the New England Pirate Museum, our group was excited to go through the tour. We were not expecting anything amazing, however, this tour way below our expcetations. The moment I walked into the first room, I was gagging from the odor and dust covering the pirate figures. The self-guided tour was a joke, a small waterfall and poor excuse for a cave. At the end there was a surprise, that had nothing to do with anything. The tour guide was about the best part of our experience. He very informative about the towns history with pirates and answered all of our questions. Children might enjoy the tour depending on your tourguide. Not worth the price of admission. Definitely a one time thing, would never do it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovebabie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Pirate Museum also viewed

 

Been to New England Pirate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing