We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly Madame Tussauds.”

Salem Wax Museum of Witches & Seafarers
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$547.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Salem
Ranked #66 of 78 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wax museum covers Salem's two most famous archetypes - witches and sailors.
Somewhere, USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not exactly Madame Tussauds.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Old, falling apart, missing pieces, pretty much paying to look at junk. Save your money, take a walk down to the wharf.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Common_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    41
    44
    61
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boring....”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We toured this with the Salem Wax Museum's halloween package. I was very disappointed in the whole package, except the Candlelit tour. I didn't enjoy these wax figures, as I have at other wax museums. The plaques were educational but nothing exciting. Downstairs was more for kids entertainment, as you could do some small activities.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enrunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Not worth the money!!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

It had just a few wax exhibits, not worth the money, I would have much rather spent the money on something else.

Helpful?
Thank Samanthatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lower the price”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It is an okay way to get a good idea about the sea trade and witch trials. However, it is not worth the price. I think $2 would be reasonable to charge, or keep the price and add a tour guide...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Haileelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome displays”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I loved how the people look real and the knowledge of the tour guide knew the history of the past. The museum does not have a problem telling anyone how the past was in Salem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anjoli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salem Wax Museum of Witches & Seafarers also viewed

 

Been to Salem Wax Museum of Witches & Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing