We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned something new.”

Salem Witch Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Salem Combo: Wax Museum and Witch Village
Ranked #22 of 79 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This indoor maze offers visitors a guided tour through the history of witchcraft.
Ellershouse, NS
2 reviews
“Learned something new.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Decided to take the Salem Witch Village tour and was pleasantly surprised. With all the attractions dedicated specifically to the Witch Trials, this one takes the time to tell the history of Salem and why we have the stereotype of what a "Witch" looks like. Our guide was enthusiastic and informative. She took the time to answer all our questions. If your looking for a more laid back attraction (only takes about 20 minutes to walk through) with some very interesting information and history, you'll enjoy this. Glad we went.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJPEllershouse_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    50
    31
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sad”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There are so many witch themed things to do in Salem but this is not on of them. My daughter and I went to see this. There are walk-thru tours every 1/2 hr so when we arrived, we paid ($14 total) and waited in the waiting area. Turns out we were the only 2 on the tour. Before entering, the guide gave us a few ground rule as you would get with any walk-thur tour but the one that stood out was "please be careful not to knock into any of the displays as they are old and we don't want you to get hurt". That should have been the first clue. Even though we learned a few little known witch myths/facts, this is a total was of time. I couldn't even be annoyed in wasting my money since it's such a sad attraction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank RidleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice indoor tour”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice indoor tour, great guide. Combo tickets for wax museum can be bought. Great for families. Knowledgeable tour guides.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Davesgirl420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disinterested tour guide - just plain embarrassing”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

This tour is definitely a classic tourist trap. The props are laughably poor - it's a bunch of manequins dressed funny. A couple of he sets are pretty good, but most are discount Halloween store purchases. The tour guide clearly didn't want to be there and grunted out a rehearsed talk through chewed gum. The talk itself was interesting, but the presentation was poor. Maybe she was just having a bad day, but it felt like she just wanted to finish the tour as quick as possible. There was no real option for asking questions, it was all too rushed.

Given the price of this ($8 by itself or $14 including the rather good adjacent museum) it seems to me to be a ripoff deisgned to get cash from tourists with the Salem name attached.

Don't get me wrong - we actually enjoyed it, but mainly because it was unintentionally funny. In saying that, we went to it with the expectation that it would be cheesy. And it was.

Helpful?
3 Thank danspamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A tour to remember”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we went here in march when most museums weren't open for season yet. by far, our favorite museum tour that we went on in salem. i think i learned the most interesting local lore here. our tour guide was an older gentleman in his early 50's late 40's (??) who had just started working at the museum and he did an amazing job of entertaining us with local legends and lore. i learned alot of interesting things here...like the 'curse' put upon the local sherifs...some lesser known local hauntings...first hand accounts of strange things that happened during the 70's and 80's in salem...i won't go into detail because you'll want to find out for yourself.:)
the gift shop was pretty cool too. i bought 3 old salt box publishing books for 9.99 and turned a coin into a witch souvenir.
for an adult who's facinated by all things spooky, quirky, and strangely offbeat it's a great place to go...i felt the same kind of excitement i felt as a child when reading about legends and witchcraft.:) my boyfriend who is a little less into things of this sort, also thought the tour was very entertaining.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jessicat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Witch Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing