We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic authentic food!!! What a gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vegetarian

The Vegetarian
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Indian, Take-out, Authentic northern and southern Indian cuisine. Dumm aloo, naan, uthappam, dosa, curry dishes, desserts, and more.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic authentic food!!! What a gem!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The inside is definitely not a wow factor, but the food is beyond amazing. You don't even realize there is no meat! Everything is super flavorful without being heavy, unlike a lot of Indian restaurants. All dishes are fresh and cooked to order. Will definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this little place”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I like spicy food and that is what you get here. certainly you can order your food prepared with mild spice, but that isn't my thing.

Have eaten here several times and really like it. Each time I get something different and I have to say the only thing I could complain about is ordering an appetizer that was so good that it ruined my ability to eat the main entree. that's certainly not the chef's fault!

Food is good, service is good as well - if you go in when they are busy you may have to wait a bit longer since the food is prepared to order.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyLee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

As a diehard carnivore, I was pretty skeptical, especially about vegetarian place in such a small town. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. We were waited on by the owner/cook's daughter. She was VERY helpful and very nice and made excellent suggestions. The food was GREAT. We'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JCasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ten cheers for variety!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Middle Eastern food with good wine list, very friendly staff -- owner seeks out every table! Fun place! This menu and my palate not well-matched, but the place is busy, and I'm happy to see it in a small town where pizza and steaks predominate.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hartman551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly vegetarian-Indian restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This charming restaurant is nestled into the heart of downtown St Croix Falls. The waiter helped us choose between many appetizing items and we were not disappointed. Our meal included the appetizer sampler, dal makhani, kadhi mushroom mutter, masala dosa and garlic nan. Each entree averaged around $10. The mushrooms were outstanding and a sure success for any diner. The nan was out of this world but would go with the tandoori nan rather than with the added garlic (although both are made on site and you not be disappointed with either).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vegetarian also viewed

 
Taylors Falls, MN
Saint Croix Falls, WI
 
Saint Croix Falls, WI
 

Been to The Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing