We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Friendly Service”
Review of Dalles House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalles House Motel
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I showed up late at night after a rough day of traveling and not being able to find a place to stay. I was very happy to find a reasonable rate with a very clean facility and friendly staff.
In the morning at a nice simple continental breakfast I enjoyed a great cup of coffee and good conversation with the Owner of the Hotel. I have never stayed at a decent hotel and meet the owner taking care of his customers needs personally! Great Service I would defiantly stay again. As an older hotel this property has a lot of charm and the biggest hotel pool I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night back in June of this year - we'd been to a wine tasting dinner and didn't want to drive back to the cities that late, and after all the wine. The front desk "staff" (just one guy) was pleasant, but not overly friendly. The room was clean but in serious need of updating. It took quite a while for the water to warm in the shower - the first few minutes were down right cold. We never felt at all threatened the night we stayed, but we did jokingly liken it to "the kind of motel you always see in the teenage slasher movies."
Sorry, but we'll stay at the Holiday Inn on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lm55417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed two nights. Older motel but clean rooms and all we needed and expected for the rate. Big snow on our weekend helped us enjoy the local ski hill. Pool a bit older but big and warm after a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My siblings and I met in St Croix Falls for a reunion; we remembered The Dalles House as THE place to stay. Once we got there, most of my sibs refused to stay. We'd booked well in advance, but our reservations and requirements meant nothing when we arrived. That was disappointing, but everything looked so run down. I stuck it out, since I didn't plan to be in the room that much. The only good thing was the excellent pool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I love the decor - it is not American plastic like most hotels/motels that all look the same. Older, quality furnishings.

The pool is excellent, and I love the sauna. Service is excellent, and the people at the desk are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob100087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

it's run down in need of overhaul,
i was working in area and needed a cheep place to crash, it worked for me,
there are other hotels in area yes there nice but higher price,

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chips99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Missing light switches, Broken mirrors, no clean cups in the rooms, stained sheets, old mended linens, no juices or water for young children at breakfast only coffee, rude customer service, smells on the inside, toilets did not work properly. All in all very disappointed! This is a beautiful place on the outside, but a major disappointment on the inside. Needs new management and a remodel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvnlifeat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Croix Falls
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
149 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Chisago City
17 reviews
12 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Chisago City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalles House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalles House Motel

Address: 726 S Vincent St # 35, PO Box 644, Saint Croix Falls, WI 54024-9199
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Croix Falls
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Croix Falls
Price Range: $61 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalles House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Dalles House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalles House Hotel Saint Croix Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing