We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too darn busy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Interstate State Park- Wisconsin

Interstate State Park- Wisconsin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too darn busy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

For years, I have wanted to get to interstate park. It is tight on the St. Croix river with lots of activities in the surrounding areas. The sites on the loop we stayed,( by the showers) are very close together. Thankfully we had great, fun neighbors to the south that we became friend with, and the north side was pretty quiet. Because this park is so close to Minniapolis, It is VERY BUSY.we had several inconsiderate neighbors who yelled & screamed at each other & their children constantly . The neighbors across from us were VERY LOUD. No real privacy. Lots of kids screaming & running all over. We loved the St. Croix river and the hiking trails, great geological rock formations and"pot holes". Awesome canoe / kayak trips. We'll be back to the area, just not to this State park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dentalDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been to Interstate several times both as campers and to use the beach. Well maintained and great for families. Get a yearly pass and enjoy it all you want (along with other state parks)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alnkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots of things to keep you busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This park is across the St.Croix River from MN's Interstate Park. This park seems more spacious than MN's Taylors Falls. There is campgrounds with bathrooms and showers, miles of hiking and bicycle trails. One lake with a small beach. Plenty of picnic areas throughout the park. If you are a WI resident a daily pass is $7,out of state it is $10 a car. Or if you have a state park pass its free, or national park pass its free. I went on the 4th of July and it was busy but plenty of parking.

So if you like canoes, kayaking, hiking, bicycling, picnics, camping this is a great place for you. I think park hours were 6am to 11pm

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FencePert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wisconsin's oldest state park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We go try to get to Interstate camping at least 3 times per year and love taking friends there for hiking and picnics. There are hiking and walking trails for all types of people. This park is worth a stop if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Docroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hiking and scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place is amazingly beautiful. We spent hours on the trails and the scenery was awesome. The park is home to glacial potholes of all sizes and some amazing rocky cliffs. Can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interstate State Park- Wisconsin also viewed

 

Been to Interstate State Park- Wisconsin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing