We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai in Tucson”
Review of Saing Thai

Saing Thai
Ranked #182 of 2,092 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We've been coming here for years, but stopped coming about 3 years ago when the food quality and service plummeted. Had a craving for Thai back in October 2010 and had given up on Vila Thai as their quality and service kept declining. We came back to Saing Thai in Rita Ranch and fell back in love and curry lust. They fixed their personnel problems and are back to being just family run again. The food quality now surpasses where it was originally 5 years ago and we are there at least once or twice a month now.

Last night we had the Tom Yum Gai soup with chicken. Out of this world good. You know the lemon grass is in there when the tanginess hits the back of your throat and you have to cough! The flavors melded together perfectly and brought a smile to our faces.

We usually have a curry and had the Gaeng Garee with chicken; yellow curry in coconut milk with potatoes and onion. The best it has ever been. The delightful subtle sweetness of the coconut complimented by just enough heat to delight the palate. Excellent.

We enjoy all of their curries and the fresh spring rolls. The Tom Kah Gai (coconut based) soup is also very good. We've tried most of the stir fry dishes and the noodle dishes. I find their Pad Thai just a little disappointing but just toss on more chili oil and jazz it up.

I'd truly give this place 4.5 stars if that were an option. I hold back on 5 stars simply because of simplicity of decor and lack of maintenance of some items .. mostly just general wear and tear. Also, be patient as the service isn't particularly fast but the food is worth the wait!

It is the best Thai in Tucson! It is better than several Thai places we've tried in LA.

They sometimes close in July or August for a couple of weeks and the family goes back to Thailand. You might give them a call ([--]) during those months just to ensure they are open.

Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Weeyahneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

My friend and I went to this restaurant after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor.com. And although the fresh spring rolls were the best I've ever had...there were some real shortfalls. There was only ONE waiter on staff for the entire restaurant- and he kept running to answer the phone for take-out orders - and would stop to ring up people who were picking up food for take-out. This restaurant is in a strip center - and had no ambiance at all. So don't take a date there to impress him or her.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Animal-lover2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We just returned from having dinner at this little gem that is tucked away in Rita Ranch on the outskirts of Tucson. We had an order of spring rolls, crab puffs, Chinese hot and sour soup, a chicken entree with cilantro, garlic, and black pepper, and a shrimp entree with pineapple, vegetables, and red curry sauce. Everything was prepared to perfection and delighted our taste buds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TucsonJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Relatives recently moved to area and we saw this Thai restaurant at the local shopping center and thought we should give it a try for dinner. What a gem! The food is authentic and delicious. The price was very reasonable (we had the dinner special, which is the price of a normal entree, but includes an appetizer). We noticed they have daily lunch specials that are a real bargain ($6.95 for entree + soup + springroll). Been 3 times in the last 5 days to try the different items for lunch. Almost 70 entree items. It will take a few months to try them all!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WeLuvFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This is the best Thai in Tucson. Also, they are very willing to cater to specific requests. I am vegetarian and they are always willing to leave the fish sauce out of their dishes. The food is great and the family that owns it works there. They also own China Thai, so it is a good alternative when Saing Thai is closed on Sunday, but Saing is our favorite Thai restaurant in Tucson.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mariadosTucson_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saing Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing