We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little pricey for what you get.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of C I Chu's Mongolian BBQ

C I Chu's Mongolian BBQ
Ranked #576 of 1,908 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
252 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A little pricey for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have eaten at Mongolian BBQ's all over the USA and some are better than C I Chu's and some are worse. Most are less expensive, especially for lunch. I went in solo the other day, selected my ingredients and left my dish on the counter to be cooked. I then paid for my meal, received my bread and rice as well as my drink and proceeded to a booth. At the time there were six men at one table who had completed their meals, and a couple at another. At that time, the couple had not received their food, so I was number three in the line to be served. It was close to twenty minutes before I received my cooked meal and it came with no apologies or explanation as to the delay. Although, I now needed to rush to get to my next appointment, I must say everything was fresh and the food was very flavorful. Pro(s): Fresh, flavorful meats and veggies. Con(s): Way too long of a wait and expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“HooHum...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have been to other Mongolian BBQ places where they variety and choices are almost overwhelming. Not here. They give you the basics, noodles, spicnach, veggies and sauces but nothing to write home about. The little bread and soup on the side at check out is nice but this place is really spendy for wheat you get in my opinion. They raised prices not too long ago and we have scratched this place off our "out to lunch" options. Just OK...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeGrownOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Make Your Own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We enjoyed making our own meal and having someone else cook it. We've eaten there several times and each time it is tasty.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gonzdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

If you've never tried Mongolian BBQ you should visit this restaurant. You create your own meal from a buffet style setting then the chef cooks it for you. You'll leave full with plans to return.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whitem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but value is a bit iffy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband and I tried this place on a whim when we discovered our original destination (a nearby Mexican restaurant) to be closed.

On the whole, it was a positive experience. The restaurant was clean, the staff cheerful, the food fresh (always important with Mongolian BBQ-style places) and quite tasty. The hot & sour soup was a little skimpy on the "hot" part, but a bit of the provided sriracha sauce fixed that right up. Also, they had lamb meat available, which is a big plus in my book.

Normally they'd have earned themselves a solid four stars in my book, but unfortunately, the value for our money just wasn't up to par. Dinner runs $11 a person, which with tax and gratuity came out to $30 for the two of us - for that price, the experience was a tad underwhelming (I'd expect at least table service, rather than the cafeteria-style checkout line). However, dinner is all-you-can-eat, so for people who eat a lot in one sitting, $11 for an endless bowl might represent an excellent value. I would definitely recommend this place to someone very hungry who enjoys high-quality food. But since I can't even finish one bowl in a sitting, and take-out boxes aren't allowed, it didn't feel worth the money to me.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roseneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to C I Chu's Mongolian BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing