We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pool and Delicious Cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pool and Delicious Cocktails”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

So my mom from NYC insisted on coming to Tucson in July. The first thing I told her was, "We are staying at La Paloma" As far as resorts go, La Paloma is the most centrally-located. I have had the luxury in staying in most of the bigger resorts here in town but i always recommend the Westin whenever anyone asks. We had dinner at the new Azul Restaurant and everything was fantastic.I was only bummed that some lightning strikes had put the water slide out of commission during our stay! I wish more of my NY people would come to visit so that i could stay there more.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRCR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for posting about coming to La Paloma with your Mom all the way from NYC. Sorry you missed the slide experience, but had the opportunity to see our summer monsoons. I hope you will be back with you family and friends soon.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    582
    251
    137
    76
See reviews for
668
656
111
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Great property, rooms and landscape. As always I recommend the Westin to friends looking for a getaway from Phoenix.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPMChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for recommending our resort to your friends as we are a great location to visit from Phoenix, especially in the summer.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Wow! My bellman, Jesus Gutierrez, helped me to my room and thus, began the excellent service at La Paloma. This was just a quick, weekend getaway, but how delightful it was to be able to spend time by the pool and soak up some of that Arizona sun. I have been a fan of La Paloma for years -- since the days when I used to live in Tucson. If you're coming to La Paloma looking for lavish accommodations, then La Paloma is not your place. The rooms are in need of serious renovation and updating. However, the grounds and views are spectacular, and the location puts you near everything you'd want to see in Tucson. We tried a couple of the restaurants and they were great. They were offering a kids' promotion where for $10/day the kids could have anything off the kids menu at no charge. They offered that at all their restaurants (including poolside). The kids really enjoyed that. They also loved the waterslide. I would definitely stay here again and am hoping that the Westin puts some serious money into La Paloma in order to make it a top competitor in Tucson.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for writing about how La Paloma is a great location for family fun. We are continually renewing our property and hope you will be back soon to see each and every enhancement.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I just arrived at the Westin La Paloma for a business conference and have only stayed one night of six. The hotel is beautiful, the bed exceedingly comfortable, and the staff very helpful. Two people I would like to single out...

Jesus Gutierrez helped transport my luggage from the parking structure to my room. He provided a short tour of the facility and answered all of my questions on how to get around.

Cole (I didn't catch his last name) in the Azul Restaurant provided excellent wait service. When I inquired about where I could purchase a six pack of diet soda, Cole went to check if the gift shop was still open and returned with a complimentary six pack. It was a definate surprise!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlmartinez_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for being so quick, the very first day, to complement our associates. I’m sure you will cross paths with many more of our associates who are ready to make each moment a memory.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Many things stood out to me on my 8-night stay at this resort, but the two most amazing were the surroundings and the service. The grounds are meticulous and beautiful. The pool area is perfect because there is an adult-only pool area for those of us who are not traveling with children and would like to keep it that way. Views of the mountains are breathtaking, and the resort itself is lush with native plants. The rooms are amazing-- meticulously clean, well-stocked with necessities, and extremely comfortable. Getting into the bed each night felt like wrapping myself up in a big puffy cloud.
As for the service, I've never been better cared for than at this resort, including other Westins. Every single employee with whom I came into contact was friendly, respectful, and genuinely interested in helping. Front desk, room service, health club, bell service, valet, poolside servers, housekeeping, restaurant/bar servers, even the employees in the gift shops--every single one of them exceeded my expectations as far as making me feel like royalty here at the resort. (And I'm pretty far from it!) I highly, highly recommend this resort as a perfect getaway whether it is with friends, for romance, or with family...it is, in a nutshell, what I'd hope heaven is like when I (hopefully) get there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GivingTree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for writing about why La Paloma was a perfect place for you to stay. As you noted we have a variety of areas and activities for everyone. I look forward to your next vacation where we can treat you like royalty once again. You deserve each and every moment.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have been staying at the Westin La Paloma for business for several years. The employees were helpful and professional. The hotel was clean and well maintained! These factors allow me to do my business without distractions! Dawn Glass continues to help me with room arrangements. I can always rely on her!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipalDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for posting about why you enjoy the Westin La Paloma for your business stays. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is my second summer to participate in the ACTE conference.I must say that the hotel is s real treat, as you turn off Ina road and drive up the hill to the lobby you realize what a gem the hotel is, an Oasis in the foothills of Tucson.
Also, I had seven (7) presenters coming in from different states, and I was worried about the reservations, but Dawn Glass was really helpful and made it seamless for last minute changes and delayed flights due to thunderstorms (monsoons). THANKS DAWN!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for posting about our reservation agent Dawn. She always assures a quick and easy arrival for all.

Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing