We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little wornout and needs some attention!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little wornout and needs some attention!”
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We have stayed at the Westin many times over the years as a good in town getaway. We stayed a few days this time and I was disappointed in the room and especially the pools. The rooms need a face-lift and our heavenly bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable. We even moved the 2nd day and the bed in the new room was also lumpy and hard. Our first room smelled musty and the AC made a very loud noise that woke us up several times. It was marginally clean, with the bathroom floors being quite sticky?! The 2nd room was cleaner... We spent a day at the pool and the pools were horribly dirty. Bugs and more bugs floating in the pool and the tile around the pool needs a scrubbing, it has a lot of scum and yuck around it. It was not a busy day and we mentioned it to several service people out at the pool. No response! I was sad to see that our favorite hotel has gone downhill! We ate at JBar and I love their food! Well worth it and we go there often, even when not staying at the Westin.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — pools-yuck
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    582
    251
    137
    76
See reviews for
668
656
111
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

After a very positive reception and check-in from a helpful front desk person, things went downhill as we entered our room in the Starwood Preferred section of building A.
Although the view overlooking the golf course was nice, the room had a very damp,heavy, musty odor to it,. I wonder when the last time the air conditioning ducts were cleaned? The old, mechanical thermostat appeared to be 15 years old, and the a/c itself seemed to be struggling to keep up in the hot desert weather.
The "heavenly bed" in our non-smoking room was closer to purgatory for us due to heavy tobacco odors from two of the pillows.and a lumpy, uneven mattress.Nice linens though.
The bathroom floor was a bit sticky and one of our sinks had the stopper handle jammed closed, so it took a half hour to empty.

Having stayed here quite a few times in the past when the hotel was much newer, we were disappointed to see it very worn, tired and in need of some repairs and major upgrading. The location, views and pool areas remain a plus, but the exterior of the buildings,doors and room interiors need a lot of work.

  • Liked — Front desk and valet people
  • Disliked — Room and bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPetrella, General Manager, Bill Petrella at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2008
Thank you very much for posting your comments. I appreciate your kind words regarding our front desk staff. They work extremely hard to create a memorable first impression on our guests. I apologize that they rest of your stay was not up the same standards. They will certainly be addressed to ensure a positive experience for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 7nights.
The buffet breakfast was $19.98 and very very poor.No omlette station and the cost was an additional $3.00 on top of the buffet price if you wanted one.Scrambled eggs,and waffles were your only hot choice.
Hotel was quite a distance from the airport.$50.00 for the taxi from the hotel to airport..$100.00 r/t.Get a car.
The rooms all needed a facelift.Some were very musty.
Pools were very nice,especially the all adult one.
All and all it was just a fair property.Not up to the Westin name.

  • Liked — The adult pool
  • Disliked — old rooms,breakfast buffet,cost of internet.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cactuscromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPetrella, General Manager, Bill Petrella at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We’re disappointed to hear that our breakfast buffet and guestroom did not exceed your expectations as they have for so many other guests. However, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful pools. We certainly take your comments very seriously, and we hope that your concerns did not impact your stay enough to deter you from returning to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

my family stayed there for three nights, July 8-11, and absolutely loved it and would get back in a second. The staff is excellent, the room great, the pools awesome. The bartenders at the swim up bar were great, the IT Director who we met and spoke with for a little but sent our family a bottle of wine and snaks for the kids, plus a free movie. One of the bartenders at the swim up bar got the cooks to make us some burgers as they were closing (one of our kids is a picky eater). Just great service! We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel a week later, and La Poloma blew them away.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPetrella, Bill Petrella, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2008
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time here at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. We are extremely proud of our staff, and glad to hear our IT Director created a memorable moment for you and your family. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

My Husband and I were visiting our children who are local Tucson Residents and wanted to experience the Westin and see the fireworks from the Resort...
We were told the incorrect information by the staff of the best place to view the fireworks from the Resort. Well we could barely see them at all from the spot they sent us to....
Then we paid over $20.00 a person for a 4th of July BBQue that consisted of a sub par buffett of Hambugers and hot dogs for a 2 star resort let a lone for a 4 star Resort-----I guess the F&B Director must have been a manager at a Golden Corral or a Bobs Big Boy... My Family and I have Celebrated many a Holiday and Birthday in their Dining room and have always been very impressed and pleased with the the food quality...
Well not any more.. not only did my daughter become extremely ill from the Hambuger but my grandson and my daughters friend also became ill. We will take my grandson to the Doctor in the morning. Everyone that ate the hambuger got sick.. We called the Resort to let them know and they said they have had no complaints but we know another family called to complain. We will call the Department of Health in the morning to register the complaint...
Do yourself a favor don't stay at the Westin la Paloma- their standards have changed to a 2 star resort...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the food quality, the service and the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinnschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPetrella, Bill Petrella, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2008
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us during the 4th of July. As a Management team, we do take all comments very seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get and I thank you for addressing it with the front desk, so we could have the opportunity to make it right. I sincerely apologize for your experience. Our culinary team is truly one of the best in the country, and it is extremely rare that someone is unhappy with their meal, let alone becoming ill. I certainly hope everyone is feeling better. Again, thank you for the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

My wife and I were here for a wedding, and we enjoyed most of the visit. The rooms were nice and had beautiful views of the foothills. The wedding cocktail hour was nothing special, only serving cheese & crackers. The reception was nice. Our favorite part was the pool, actually pools. There were several pools which included an adult only pool, a activity pool (swim up bar), a water slide, kid pools, waterfall pool (really cold, but refreshing). If I had been there another day I would have played golf which looked in fantastic shape. It was a fun trip for a weekend getaway, but with not too much around any longer might have been repetitive.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dothedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I absolutely loved staying here. I had no issues checking in. The associate at the front desk was very professional yet friendly. We had to park in a centralized parking area in fron of the hotel as there was no parking available near or in front of your room, however, there was staff that could take you & your luggage to your room in a small golf car. The young gentleman that drove us to our room and handles all our baggage was very helpful and kind. He told us where the pools are located and a little bit about the grounds and activities. We got into the room and thought it was very clean and inviting. Our room was on the first floor so we could just open our patio door and straight outside on the grounds which were beautifully maintained in it natural desert look. You could go hiking on the grounds itself. Cottontail rabbits were just roaming the grounds. The resort had 5 pools which included an adult section for only adults as well as the main pool where they would play movies at night and also a swim up bar attached to the main pool. My kids enjoyed palying volleyball in the pool. There was also a jacuzzi next to the amin pool, kids and adults could relax in this jacuzzi. I can't comment on the food because we were always grabbing food outside the resort. The bathroom could have used a little updating- there was a separate shower and tub which did not look like what you would see in a resort. The bathroom did have double sinks and granite countertops. The beds were clean and confortable. Even though I was not impressed with the bathroom, it worked for us- it did not take away from the whole experience. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPetrella, Bill Petrella, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2008
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us here at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. It was nice to hear the Front Desk and Service Express staff took such great care of you. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing