We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort, Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After having just spent five days at this beautiful resort for a conference, I can genuinely say this is one of the nicest and most accommodating places I have ever stayed. The staff was extremely helpful in every possible way, and the food for each of our plated meals and events was absolutely amazing. One of the associates William Arce was phenomenal, always checking up on us to see if there was anything else that he could do to help, not to mention going out of his way to help us set up during our event. Excellent experience, would definitely return again thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms in building H had a beautiful view of Tucson at night.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are extremely environmentally-friendly, and offer a food/meal voucher in return for not changing your sheets every day that you are there.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jymacias10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your conference with us. We do have the perfect surroundings as well as extraordinary cuisine and service staff to create a memorable stay for both business and pleasure. I look forward to seeing you back to The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa in the very near future. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    569
    249
    136
    74
See reviews for
655
648
110
917
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Let me preface this by saying I am not a resort traveler - I would rather be out there with the locals than sequestered away on the edge of town, where they offer "Waxing Wednesdays" and golf. However, the weather was beautiful (in early October), the mountain scenery lovely, and pools galore - including a water slide and a swim-up bar. So if you have to be trapped in a resort (or if you like to be trapped in a resort), this is a nice one. For what you get, the price was quite reasonable - $145/night when I was there. Large rooms, big bathrooms with separate shower and tub. Small deck outside the room overlooking the hills or the pool. Everything very much up to date and newish.

One downside is it is not easy to get off the hotel grounds - and it can get old eating from the same restaurant two or three times a day. They do offer a complimentary shuttle up to 10pm that can take you out within a ~3-mile radius... but within that radius is mostly other resorts and a fancy mall. To get into town and try out some of the local Mexican food or mingle with locals, you will need to either have a car, or get a cab - and it can take a while for a cab to come, and they are not cheap since you really are on the perimeter here (~$50 cab ride from the Tucson airport).

The resort is also dog-friendly.

Green Features: They offer a $5 credit for forgoing full made service, but isn't it a bit of a charade to take the mantel of environmental sustainability when you have a big resort out in the desert? Just the number of plastic water bottles they go through each day must be enormous.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing how we may have won you over as a resort destination. I am delighted to read you enjoyed many of our amenities while you were “trapped” here. We are on the perimeter of the city of Tucson, nestled in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains with the great mountain views. I do hope you will be back to Tucson and will choose The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa for your stay. Be well and I look forward to having you as our guest. Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent last week at the resort,played golf every other day and visited Tubac,Old Tucson,the Titan II Missile Site/Museum and Pima Air Museum/"Boneyard". The property is set below the santa catalina mountains and the colors change throughout the day. Excellent room with easy access to the many pools and hot tubs. Also,enjoyed the water slide! Staff was great,at the course (Vinny and Paul) and at the Country Club, where we ate breakfast almost every morning. I think that this would be a tremendous place to hold a meeting,something for everyone. Special thanks to Ale in the lounge for being so welcoming and attentive. All in all I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We stayed close to the Country Club,easy parking and close to Golf Course.
See more room tips
Green Features: They will ask if you would be interested in skipping the linen service,we took advantage of this program.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed our staff, location and amenities while staying at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. You had a full schedule and I’m sure there are many more attractions you would like to see in Tucson. I hope to see you soon enjoying another round of golf and dining at the club, as well as an evening beverage in the AZuL Lounge. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at this hotel for a conference. The service was great all around, the food was tasty, and I had exceptional service from William Arce at our welcome reception the first evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatStrubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
William and I thank you for sharing how he provided outstanding service to begin your conference at La Paloma. I, along with the rest of our staff, look forward to welcoming you back for business and/or pleasure. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Property recently was renovated and is beautiful. Rooms (Building c) where we stayed overlooks the golf course. Room was clean and felt new. Enjoyed a breakfast and lunch at Azul and food was very good and a nice presentation. Spent the afternoon at the pool(s), nicely spread out for privacy. In the evening, sat outside by the fire fountains and just enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course, upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of our renovations, dining and the ambiance of our Resort. As fall approaches, I look forward to see you once more relaxing in the evening by our fire pits with the Catalina Mountains as your backdrop. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had to travel to Tucson on business and have been to several nicer Starwood hotels around the country but what made this one was the size of the rooms, the views from the pool area and from your room looking down at the pool, and most importantly - the people. I had some personal things I needed to get mailed and Jose at the front desk really went the extra mile in helping me mail those things. He was very pleasant in every interaction and extremely helpful as I did not know the surrounding area or the layout of the resort. I want to commend Westin la Paloma for investing in great people - it really stood out in my mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing how Jose added to your stay by his friendly, personalized assistance. Our staff genuinely enjoys interacting with each guest, providing a memorable stay for all. I look forward to having you return and let us treat you once more to a great vacation. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went for our 37th wedding anniversary, and they made us feel special putting Champange and chocolate covered strawberries in our room while we were out! The room was nice and the bed was wonderful! I have a hard time sleeping and I slept very well.The room we were in was quite a walk for me but they came in a golf cart if I needed to get to the car. The only thing is their bathtubs are really narrow, I was unable to take a bath but the showers are great. Loved ALL the staff! I WILL be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
You are special and we are delighted you chose The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa as your destination for your 37th Anniversary. Thank you for sharing and I hope to have you return for your next anniversary, if not sooner. Our staff will be here to ensure another wonderful stay. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing