We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of good things, some not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at La Palomas for a quick in state getaway, had a pretty good time but there are some issues to think about here. The good: water features worth staying here for! Multiple pools some for families, some for adults only (thank you), a magnificent 177 foot water slide which was so much fun (and no lines!), multiple Jacuzzis, some dedicated for adults, some for families, one cold water spa with a waterfall feature, one shallow pool with a swim up bar (featuring a tropical kind of drink of the day as you would find on a cruise). The water features were clean, had dozens and dozens of chaise lounges, enough to accommodate a lot of people, umbrellas, towels, fresh drinking water stations, everything was very clean and all of their staff working in the water area were awesome. On our last day at 5pm a formally dressed man came out for what I took to be a daily ritual there….those around the swim up bar pool were given pink champagne with blue berries floating in it for the toast to Tucson’s anniversary. I expect there are different topics of toasting on other days. I would add to the water features the rain forest shower and separate tub in our bathroom, much enjoyed. The more difficult: the extreme distances around the property. We had originally chosen a suite but when we found out how far it was located from the restaurants and pool, they thankfully downgraded our reservation to a deluxe room. It was still a lot of walking between our housing unit and the parking lot (about ¼ mile), the main lobby building and the pools. There were plenty of staff manning a number of golf carts to transport guests around, but we just didn’t want to get involved always having to call for a ride. I would estimate my experience similar to that of being on a large cruise ship with no elevators. The maze of uneven walkways with multiple sets of stairs made going somewhere tedious for us. I would say even a young twenty something wearing heels would have difficulty covering that much distance around the resort. Another issue was the fees for wifi, (up to $15 per day PER DEVICE). Thankfully we brought our own card so that wasn't a problem. The beds were awesome, linens just as nice, sleeping was excellent. There was a robe in the room, (but two people staying in the room so only one could use the robe). I liked their clean and green option of going w/o service and in return getting a $5 voucher to use anywhere on the resort grounds. However you will need to figure bringing your own shampoo because that means the amenities don't get restocked if you choose going green. In addition, we didn’t get a voucher when we declined maid service, but when we went to the front desk they issued one right away and there was no difficulty using it toward a meal. Speaking of which we were disappointed in the restaurant on site, Azul. We only ate breakfast there, twice, but the meals were average at best, not even garnish on the plates or similar touches we are used to at nicer restaurants. We did like the number of meals featuring “power foods” foods with good antioxidants, low fat or low cal, many more than offered at other resorts. The servers in the food area were awesome. We found the coffee shop closed one day at 2 pm, another day the café/bistro was closed at 230 when the brochures said they were open till 5. I will probably go back because of the water features but will plan ahead regarding meals and room location. We truly recharged and decompressed here.

Room Tip: See if you can get a property map before booking, then check the distances for the spa, golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing the details regarding your stay at the Westin La Paloma. Reviews such as yours are very helpful for us in determining what we do well, and what we can do better. We appreciate the time it took you to provide such well thought out comments, and hope that upon your return visit we can earn an even higher ranking from you based upon improvements we may make as a result of your comments. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,532 - 1,538 of 2,833 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room remodeling was very successful. Unfortunately, the food offered
at the hotel doesn't live up to what you'd expect. However, there are good
restaurants near by. I suspect the less than top-notch
service could be short staff during the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops_Mgr85, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

I'm sorry to learn that you were disappointed in the food offered at the resort. Our Chef launched a new menu in Azul Restaurant on August 15 and most of the feedback we've received has been very good. We continue to strive for the ideal mix of offerings for all of our guests and local customers, and I hope you'll return to the resort and to Azul as our menu will change seasonally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Let me start by saying that we are loyal Westin guest. Normally we will choose a Westin property over any other, exceptions with the Ritz Carlton, amazing properties! But on this occasion we decided to stay at Westin La Paloma, in Tucson. It had been over 3 years since our last stay at this particular property. What a surprise to find that the property had been updated, that their employees really wanted to leave a good impression on their guest. Our experience was extremely gratifying and relaxing. The property was filled to the brim but yet the employees seemed unfaced by all the hustle and buckle!!!!! It was as if every guest was the most important one! Bravo, to all the employees of Westin La Paloma! Thank you for a great weekend!
Meg

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool area are great and not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amazedhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing all your accolades of our associates and renovations. We certainly are a Tucson, as well as a Westin, premiere resort. You deserve a special sanctuary away from the stress of everyday life. Don’t let another three years go by until you visit us again. I expect you back for a weekend of luxury and relaxation in the very near future. Be Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful resort but absolutely the worst resort experience of my entire life. Terrible management, being treated like lowlife scum because we chose to check in the same day the U of A football team checked out is unforgivable. Being told that rooms weren't and wouldn't be ready until up to 7 PM because we chose to have a rooms next to our friends during an event, when in reality the Westin La Paloma has a contract with the U of A athletics department and couldn't keep up with demand and overbooked, is inexcusable. Having a balcony with a floor covered with sticky drink residue, drink straws and a marijuana roach was disgusting! What happened, Westin? Being treated as though this was our fault, not acceptable. I understand this is not a Ritz or Four Seasons but really?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops_Mgr85, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

It is truly disappointing to read of the multiple disappointments you encountered. As so many others have attested, our resort is known for its beauty and quality of service and accommodations. The experience you describe is not the standard to which we hold ourselves. Shannon's Slumber Party is an fun event that our team looks forward to with great anticipation every year, and I hope you will be able to attend again next year when I'm confident your experience will be more typical of the outstanding Westin weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I enjoyed staying here and would come back in a heartbeat. Beautiful grounds, nice room and clean bathrooms. The pools were fabulous. They are all in eyesite distance from each other and really enjoyable. The views are really wonderful as well.The staff were very helpful. The beds were so comfy and I slept well. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmb817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I’m holding you to your word, you will be back. Thank you for sharing the many reasons, The Westin Heavenly Bed definitely a top 10, why you’ll be returning. See you soon. Be Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I found this resort when looking for a pet friendly location. They exceeded my expectations!
The grounds are lovely A+
The service at check in was terrific as they printed maps and told me about sites to see in areea.
The room was wonderful and really clean.
I slept like a baby.
Plus the pool is awesome with the water slide and pool bar! !

I'd go back in a heartbeat ♥♥

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquaraswel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. The Heavenly beds are waiting for you to return for another great night’s rest to enjoy a fun filled day for you and your pet. ♥♥♥♥ Stay Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located in the foot hills of the Catalina Mountains the Westin La Paloma offers a great place to hold a business meeting or base out of while vacationing in southern Arizona. We stayed in a newly renovated twin queen room that was spotless and roomy. The bathroom has both a large stall shower and a bathtub. The low speed wifi (1 Mbps) is included i the mandatory $20 "resort fee" and high speed is available for an additional $6 per day. Since we had our grand children with us, the highlight of the property is the large outdoor pool area with a two story tall water slide. There is also a swim-up bar and several pools to choose from.

Room Tip: Make sure you are assigned a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin La Paloma for your stay with the family .I’m sure you enjoyed watching the grandchildren just as much as they enjoyed the pool and slide. I’m looking forward to having you return soon for business and/or pleasure with family and friends. Be Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $191 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing