We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newly renovated beautiful Tucson resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently spent a couple of days at the Westin La Paloma in Tucson with our grandchild and had a wonderful time at this beautiful, newly renovated resort. We live in Tucson but like to take advantage of the greatly reduced summer rates offered here and at the Phoenix/Scottsdale area resorts- just a change of scenery and a chance to be alone with our grandchild who now expects nothing less than the luxury and beauty of a place like the La Paloma.

The staff in all areas, check in, room service, restaurants and at the pool were all friendly and efficient. We received an email from the hotel's guest relations a few days prior to our visit welcoming us and asking if there were any special occasions we might be celebrating. We emailed back thanking them for the special attention but indicated that the getaway was just a little reward for our grandson's having done so well during the past school year. We were pleasantly surprised when on our first day, room service delivered a plate of warm chocolate chip cookies and milk with a congratulatory card specially addressed to the kid. He was impressed as were we with the thoughtful gesture and he and the grandparents thank Tracy from Guest Relations for that nice little surprise.

As we live in the area we frequent the fine dining restaurant at the resort called Azul and had outstanding food and service the two nights we were there. Breakfast can be had at this same restaurant and again, we were very happy with the quality of the food and the service. The restaurant overlooks the pools and out door features like the fire pits and al fresca dining areas, very beautiful and romantic at night with the pristine golf course and dramatic Santa Catalina mountains in the background. We didn't golf on this occasion but know that the course there, designed by Jack Nicklaus, is one of the premier courses in southern Arizona.

We lunched around the pool and although the drinks and food were expensive, the portions were so huge that they could easily be shared by one or two others.

All in all we had a great time at this beautiful resort and look forward to returning. The staff knows how to make even a short stay a memorable one and is to be congratulated on their customer friendly way of doing business.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course or into the mountains are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

It is truly heartwarming when a guest takes a moment to share with us that we made their stay at Westin La Paloma exceptional. We strive to make every guest feel welcomed, and 'at home' with us, during their stay. To learn that we succeeded on all levels during your stay, is truly wonderful to hear. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,541 - 1,547 of 2,833 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent several days at the Westin La Paloma Resort with our 9 and 11 year old grandsons in July. The staff were extremely customer service oriented. We had a microwave and small refrigerator in our room which allowed us to keep food available for the boys. They really enjoyed the water slide and the pool. The resort is beautifully landscaped with drought tolerant plants. I highly recommend the Westin La Paloma Resort in Tucson.

Room Tip: If you're interested in being near the water slide and pools area, ask for Building E or Buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary91711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience, and recommending the Westin La Paloma -- we are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your grandsons enjoyed the pool and waterslide!

I will be sure to let our Associates know of your kind words regarding their service -- they will enjoy knowing that their efforts helped to make your stay more renewing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed eating at the Azul, with gorgeous views, and Lilia was wonderful-wonderful, so friendly and courteous. She was helpful and always had a big smile. There was a little hiccup at check-in with the guy not telling us that the room we were checking into was still occupied and he took our gift certificates but did not reflect in the system that we were supposed to get breakfast included for two days. But the second front desk rep was helpful, she tracked down the paperwork and turned lemons into lemonade. We've had excellent customer service at the pool with Britny during previous stays, but the pool guy this time was not very customer service oriented. While we enjoyed the awesome comforts of the poolside cabana, we had to get our own utensils to eat our lunch, and he never brought the water we ordered either. Also, we encountered some difficulties with the "Green" program whereby the $5 coupon was only left for us on one of the four days we were there. Also when we called Service Express to ask about the program, we were told that they would take out the garbage and change towels everyday, but that was not true, they never did. It is noteworthy that the program always worked well during previous stays.The property is truly beautiful and the location is perfect for our needs. Even with the glitches, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have the noise from rooms above. Rooms on the west side have pretty golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your understanding during your check-in at the property, we are pleased that the second attendant was able to correct the situation and that you enjoyed Britny's service poolside. Your comments are well received, and we will use them to ensure that all guest expectations are met ... including yours, when you return. Thank you for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a romantic weekend get away and we had a fantastic time!

Denise F. checked us in and she was a delight. She made us feel welcome and comfortable. We were also celebrating my husband's birthday and she arranged a pleasant surprise for that evening. Saturday we had a late lunch at Azul. The food and service were outstanding. Sunday we had drinks and appetizers at the lounge. Hillary assisted us; she was friendly and courteous.
The adult area pool was clean and refreshing. Our room was clean, comfortable and packed with amenities.
From check in to check out...an outstanding experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are so happy to learn that our associates helped to make your birthday visit to Westin La Paloma a fantastic one! We hope you make your birthday visit a tradition, and we get to see you next year!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the experience -- it truly means a lot to us when we know we've been successful in ensuring our guests have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at La Paloma for a business conference. The property was beautiful but even more so, I must commend the staff. I have several food allergies so eating at conferences is not always easy.

One staff member (Nels) took it upon himself to go above and beyond to ensure that I had items I could eat throughout the entire stay. I really appreciate his attention to detail and the excellent level of customer service he provided.

Nels was certainly a contributing factor in making this stay a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing how Nels provided the final touches to a wonderful conference at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. We certainly would like to entice you back for a leisurely stay and let Chef Michele and his teams prepare more culinary delights. Be Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really do love this hotel. I stayed there a lot last summer when I was working in Tucson and was happy that the conference I was attending this year was being hosted there.

I was pleasantly surprised with the renovations. This was the second stop on a 3 week trip, and I had come from LA and had stayed at the Westin Long Beach and had paid twice the price and that hotel was no where near as wonderful as this. I also stayed at the Westin LAX and it was "OK". It definitely is disappointing that there isn't consistency with the brand. However the standard of excellence in this hotel now that the rooms are renovated is superb. It really was absolutely luxurious.

the pros - beautiful property, great cocktails, half decent gym.

the cons - the gym is at least a 10-15 minute walk from most rooms, so you need to factor the extra time into a busy morning and in the 100 degree plus heat - it's not pleasant by time you get to the gym if you are totally hot and feeling gross, and walking out into that for a long walk afterwards kind of makes you feel queezy. This was the same issue last summer.

I wrote a few reviews last year about how SLOW they are at breakfast. Unfortunately this has not changed. This is probably nice for a leisure traveller, but when travelling on business most folks don't have an hour for breakfast. However I'm finding this seems to be an issue with most hotels in Tucson.

This was the first time i experienced the Red Door Spa and I absolutely LOVED it.

Definitely one of my favorite hotels in Tucson. I'm not a fan of the huge sprawling resort - just due to the heat and the "critter" factor, but that seems to more or less be the norm, and I definitely prefer the La Paloma to most of the other hotels.

The other hotels in the brand could learn a thing or 7 from the La Paloma.

Room Tip: It really depends on your interests. If you want to work out, request a room near the gym, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerraNovaExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

It is always nice to hear back from our guests - it provides us with the opportunity to learn what we are doing right, and what we could do better! Your comments were very helpful and asking for a room near the gym is a great tip for future travelers. We are in the process at looking at a pre-arrival program that may help us understand our guests needs better, so I have shared your comment with our Director of Guest Experiences that is coordinating the program. Thank you for your other wonderful comments, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The pool areas are spotless and someone is always around to take your food or drink orders. The adult pool is monitored and no children are allowed in the pool or the immediate area. There is a very large fun pool area for families. I loved that there were plenty of loungers with umbrellas everywhere. Another pool has a large waterslide and there is also a lap pool. There are lots of cabanas which are beautiful but go nearly completely unused due to the price. We ate at the swim up bar which served very large portions and the food was great. We also had coffee and breakfast in the quasi-Starbucks and were surprised in both cases that there was an added convenience/resort fee added to both purchases. This is on top of the daily resort fee you pay. The room was nice but crowded for 4 of us. There is a mini frig but no microwave. Some things in the room were dusty...the hair dryer, coffee maker [which still had the used coffee pod in it], etc. The neighborhood is high end so you have to drive quite a ways to get to reasonably priced family restaurants. All in all it was a great stay and we would return if in the area again and a good rate was available.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suntracker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed our many pools and dining options for your brief stay. Call us directly to let us assist you with great packages and rates for your next stay in Tucson. We have more dining options that you may not have had a chance to enjoy during this last stay. Chef Michel is continually creating culinary delights to fill your desires and budget here at the resort. Stay Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $191 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing