We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish they all could be Westin La Paloma's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I wish they all could be Westin La Paloma's”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Where to start? From the moment of arrival, the hotel did an amazing job of welcoming me personally, as well as by conference attendees (~350 people). From pre-planning (Joey Bradfield) to Reservations (Dawn Glass) to on-site execution with my event concierge (Peter Mnatzaganian) to shipping and receiving (Aaron and Alex) and EVERYONE in between. My conference was nearly flawless. As planner, you always hear about the bad things, and not the good, but all I heard were good things. The guests loved the hotel, the banquet food & beverage, and I only heard one person who was disappointed about the pool renovation.

I must say, I have had many conferences and events at many properties, and the Westin La Paloma, will forever be listed in my favorites. Peter was amazing! He anticipated all of my needs... I really believe he must be a mind reader. Can I take him to my next conference?

Joey and Dawn... you both are a fantastic and really get things done. I never had to ask more than once, and you kept my guests happy, my CEO happy, and me happy.

Thank you all for a fabulous job... again. We worked with you in 2009, again in 2013 and I hope to come back again in the near future. You guys truly ROCK!

Room Tip: If you like golf, get a room facing the course. If not, get a room facing the mountain... It has a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear our staff was able to make your event successful and memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    597
    257
    145
    78
See reviews for
690
671
113
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked our stay 3 months in advance and we’re eagerly anticipating our trip, only to find out a week before our check-in that the hotel was under the biggest renovation since its existence. To make matters worse, the guest experience representative who emailed me this news had incorrect contact information, which sent me on a wild goose chase for two days before I realized what happen. Then, I couldn’t get any honest answers from either the hotel staff or the SPG representatives. What was a simple misunderstanding now had turned into a rotten experience, leaving a terrible taste in my mouth I was ready to throw in the towel and never deal with any Westin Hotels again when I was put in contact with Rob, the Director of the Front Office.
From the moment he introduced himself, my attitude and experience began to change. He not only took responsibility for the miscommunication, but also accepted the blame for things that he had no control over. He made me feel like I was important and promised that he would personally see to it that we would have a wonderful trip. When we arrived at the hotel well before check-in time Rob already had a room waiting for us. However, it was not the room we booked, but an upgraded one with a parlor suite! Shortly after we settled into our spectacular suite, we were given another surprise. Rob had a bottle of wine and an assortment of fruit and cheese delivered to us along with a very sweet note wishing us a Happy Anniversary. In addition to that, we also received a dinning credit and compensation for some of my SPG points. Far be it from me to say that upgrades and handouts don’t matter, but what really stood out was Rob’s character and integrity. We went from never staying at any Westin Hotel and speaking negatively about the chain, to actively seeking them out for future travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear levey001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. While we are sorry to hear about your initial experience, we are happy to hear our staff was able to turn your experience around and provide you with the anniversary getaway you deserved.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I flew in from Jacksonville, Florida to be a bridesmaid at a wedding on 4/13 at this resort and have to say that my overall experience was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful, the landscape and layout of the resort made for a picturesque and amazing backdrop to the wedding. If you needed anything Lindsey at the front desk was the "go to" person to ensure that your needs were met. The bell staff is also amazing, Matt, Brad, Jesus, and Dexter carted the wedding party and guests around with smiles and purpose. As with all weddings the stress levels were high, but Nancy was quick to answer our questions, requests, and concerns. The room looked beautiful! However, I have to say the best part was the banquet staff. William, Kyle, Deann, Yolanda, John, and Joel were so amazing and attentive to the wedding guests and their needs. Their professionalism and personalities went hand in hand in making my friend's special day amazing. Not only is the resort beautiful, but so are the people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We hope the bride and groom had an amazing wedding! We are so happy to hear our staff was able to make the event memorable.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I work for a local mining company here in Tucson, AZ. I need from time to time set up large meetings with our Contractors & Vendors. We have contracted with The Westin-LaPaloma twice now. The first time was a dream! Once all of the details were worked out, all we had to do was focus our attention on our customers internally and externally! The 2nd time was even better! The staff at The Westin are top notch..but there is one person I want to give the top kudos too, and that is a waiter server by the name of William Arcz. William is a person that I have never had the pleasure of working with! He is the utmost gentlemen! He is professional, kindly, personable and caring...he is the ultimate server! I have never ever in any restaurant ever been called by, "My Lady"...and William calls every woman in his care that! The first time he said that I was so taken aback by that kindness...but this is his trade mark, and every time he says it, its a special gift to that woman! I know, I've seen it change a person's face and attitude! Many people could learn from William...but it's his outstanding service and care to his commitment to this hotel! I highly commend William to all of his supervisors & managers that he should receive the highest of honors that your company provides! I so look forward to next month when we once again come to The Westin for a large event...knowing that William will be there (because I insisted) and knowing that he and his staff will make the event a total success! Last year we had just about 400 people at the event, we will most likely double that this time around...and I'm not a bit concerned! I know that The Westin will take care of us! And I also know that anyone who stays there always enjoys the service as well as the staff and area! You just can't go wrong here! Thank you Westin and most of all thank you William! You are just the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Diane,

Thank you for your continued business at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that our staff provided excellent service and helped make your event successful and memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hosting your events in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The renovation made this place immaculent and the service provided by the hotel staff made our stay incredible. Thanks for making our annual vacation such a pleasant experience. We were in builing H. Parking was very close, open and convenient. The main floor suite was very spacious and our standard rooms upstairs were more than adequate for double occupancy even for guys on a golf trip. Even with the hustle/bustle of the people in the facility, the resort was peaceful and quiet. The AC units were very quiet. The view was beautiful! The golf course and pool were excellent.

Room Tip: We were in builing H. Parking was very close, open and convenient. The main floor suite was very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimE860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms and that our staff was able to make your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I were juding at the FBLA Conference at the Westin La Paloma. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, the spacing was great, the master bathroom was fabulous; there were plenty of fresh towels and soaps. We had a mini fridge in the room plus complimentary water. We didn't use the safe this time as we only stayed one night. We met Peter Mnatzaganian (and saw him several more times during our stay); he had cold bottles of water for us to "keep hydrated". What a great and friendly person; he is a great asset to the Westin La Paloma. The hot tub outside the patios look very tempting (we worked too late to enjoy it - maybe next time we are there). Thank you Peter for watching out for us.

Sheila A. Martinez
Arizona Department of Education
sheila.martinez@azed.gov

Room Tip: Any room would be great. Make sure you meet Peter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila_JoePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I can't wait to go here again. The king sized room was very comfortable. There was a mini fridge that did not get very cold at all. They put 2 complimentary bottles of water in it per day and I thought that was nice. The room had a bath tub and a shower with soft towels and good smelling soap. There was a safe in the room that could be used for free. The balcony over looked the mountains.

Now... the pools! Heaven!!!! There were around 5 pools, one for kids, one for adults, a family pool, a pool with a waterfall, and a pool for the water slide (that adults can go down too!!!) My fiancé proposed to me under the stars at that pool on the last night we were there. It's that nice.

The swim up bar was a nice touch and the bar tenders were friendly. We were allowed to bring a few guests into the pool with us, since we were in Tucson for a family reunion everyone wanted to come check out the pools. We played pool volleyball with a net they had up. The employees organized games for all the kids in the pool area and gave out prizes.

The grounds are beautiful. At night they have two fire pits that turn on, it creates a romantic relaxing ambience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezzabella408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jezzabella408,

Congratulations on your engagement! We are thrilled your fiancee used our pool area as the backdrop for your very special moment. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guestrooms and were able to enjoy our resort amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing