We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The family enjoyed the property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #19 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The family enjoyed the property”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

While there were some opportunities during our stay at the hotel, our family did enjoy the property.

Good items:
- was able to get upgraded to suite (platinum member).
- staff was very friendly.
- view was great from room.
- breakfast was good in the restaurant.

Could have been better:
- first room we were given was did not have a bath tub (accessible room). We have a 4 year old and needed a tub. They did move us once another room which met our needs opened.
- There were a few bugs in the first room as it is an open air hotel (no indoor hallways). So your door opens to the outside. That is fine, but it has the typical hotel gap at the bottom of the door which is plenty of room for bugs.
- Wifi was not very strong and dropped you a lot.

If we ever return to the area we would stay at the resort again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snj1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated suites and that you found our staff to be very friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    597
    257
    145
    78
See reviews for
690
671
113
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It had been a number of years since we'd be here, and in fact found most of the pools under construction when we arrived, but it was still a wonderful experience.

Rooms were JUST renovated, and boy did they do a great job. The 'rain' shower head, unbelievably comfortable beds, and views (our room was on the goft course) were terrific.

The fitness center (which I used twice) was well apointed and easy to use. Although we didn't play, the tennis center was quite inviting.

I had one of the best (and most potent) pina colada at the pool, which would have been more relaxing if there wasn't a construction fence around it. Due to this the pool was packed and every lounge taken (in March!)

Meal wise, we were soooo happy.
We never left the property, so each meal was at Azul.
For lunch I had the Azul burger, which was so fantastic. It was greek in nature, with feta cheese and marinated cuecumber and tzaikki (sp?) sauce. Soooo good.

For dinner- I had one of the best pieces of salmon ever. It was done in a chardonnay reduction and was perfect. My only complaints, sides were an extra charge, on top of my almost $30 salmon is a bit steep I think. My husband had the steak, which he thought was very good.

For breakfast, we did the buffet. Generally it was standard fare, but they did have one of the best salsas I ever had. I commented this to the waiter and wondered if the chef would share his recipe. Well he did, and I can't wait to try to recreate it at home.

One more minor note, their room key cards need some work. You wave them in front of the door, only both my husband and myself had to wave our cards 3-4 seperate times each time to get the door to open. Just when we were about to give up and go to the front desk for another key, it would open.

Overally we're thrilled with this resort and can't wait till our next visit!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a hike from the main lobby. If you have a particular interest- pool, tennis, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avondaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Avondaletraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. While we are sorry our main pool area was under renovation during your stay, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms and Westin Workout.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Being a full-time teacher, I was blessed this year with the same Spring Break schedule as my two daughters, Trystan and Tatum. We were all very interested in a little rejuvenation and decided head south to Tucson for another peek at those beautiful Catalina Mountains. Those lofty Catalinas beckon the Sonoran desert and came into full bloom at the Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa where we would be spending our break together. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the 3-story arched windows that frame the stunning panoramic view that held us captive over the next few days.
On our first evening we met Russell Michel, the Executive Chef at the Azul Restaurant , where he brings to the table his 30 years of experience and expertise. He shared with us that all his ingredients come from reputable and local farms.
The next morning we were greeted with a lovely breakfast to include freshly squeezed fruit and vegetable juices to order. I was restored with an apple, cucumber, spinach and ginger concoction that revitalized my every wish . My daughters also loved the fresh herb and cheese omelets served with perfectly seasoned potatoes. These super food dishes are antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories. Our power breakfast fueled our bodies for our days ahead. This menu included signature treatments at the Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa, a Zumba class and a couple of games of tennis.
Our retreat and rendezvous coincided with the first phase of a $30 million property-wide rejuvenation which is now complete. To date, all the guest rooms have been transformed as have many of the resort’s key amenity centers. With warmer days now approaching, we are looking to head back next month to be one of the first of many to take a dive in the five newly renovated pools featuring the 177' SlideWinder. By choosing the restorative La Paloma Resort into our lives we enjoyed the spring break and experienced the empowering health benefits of rejuvenation as well.

Room Tip: Depends on your preference, we were on the Golf Course and had a beautiful view of the greens. I al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 938StaceyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Spring Break at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, Azul, as well as our other resort amenities. We hope you left feeling rejuvenated and refreshed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just returned from the La Paloma . We requested and were granted a different room upon arriving due to the view. Unfortunately, the front desk neglected to oficially make the change. When we returned form the pool the next day we were locked out of our room. Susan at the front desk treated us like criminals as did security when dealing with their mistake. The next day the entire resort became a teenage summer camp as it was turned over to a high school event. We were unable to use any of the facilities and left the resort early. This is a Westin Resort? Could not believe it! No apologies on their part.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyd602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear kathyd602,

We are truly sorry to hear about your recent experience. This is neither meets our standards nor your expectations and for that we apologize. Please contact the hotel directly at 520-742-6000 and ask to speak with the Front Desk Manager as we would like to address your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were a little nervoius booking as the hotel pools are being renovated and we werent sure if this would spoil the experience. First of all, its a beautiful location, very grand entrance and fantastic views of the city. Hotel reception and check in were excellent, we got upgraded to very fancy master suite as I am a SPG Gold member. Loved the suite and the facilities. The hotel grounds are very nice and spacious with a very high end feel. The suite itself was fabulous - if you get the chance, its a perfect family room - separate lounge area, two baths and very luxurious. The grounds were very well maintained. The pools ARE under construction, but the hotel have not hidden this fact. They will be beautiful when finished. We had plenty of pool for 2 girls and our family. Pool drinks are expensive, this was a little disappointing, but you know in advance. Lobby has awesome window over the mountains. The AZur restaurant was a very nice dinner location one night - kids ate free under our booking plan, and our food was very well presented and delicious. Liked the Starbucks location for breakfast, informal and easy. Nice gift shop too. We would definitely come back. A great experience and very good value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA26NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated suite, location and views.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The recent renovation of the guest rooms at the Westin La Paloma was long overdue, but worth the wait. The rooms are lovely.

We plan two to three business meetings per year at the Westin La Paloma. Our meetings are always a success due to the top-notch Catering Dept and attention to detail provided by Donal Drayne, Margaret Warner and Peter Mnatzaganian. Patrick at the Bell Desk also does a fantastic job.

Plan your next meeting at the Westin La Paloma. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Building A - 3rd Floor are closest to the Lobby and Azul Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorensen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sorensen1,

Thank you for your continued patronage at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guestrooms and that our staff is always helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This resort is in Tucson but once you drive onto the property you feel like you are really away from it all. The main entrance is gorgeous and grand. Check in was quick and easy. The staff was very professional and courteous. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. They must be soundproofed fairly well too because we never heard our neighbors. I think all the rooms have a golf course or pool view. Dual sinks in the bathroom made it nice for getting ready to go out. Also, a shower and separate tub. The resort seems very spread out but it was just a short walk to anywhere on the property.
The only drawback was that they are remodeling the main pool area. We were notified of this when we made the reservation but it still didn't prepare me for the jackhammers that we had to endure while we sat at the other pool. They have a Olympic style pool available at the adjoining La Paloma Country Club that we used and that was quieter as it was farther away from the construction. But that pool was not as picturesque as the Westin pool. We also were able to use the work out facilities at the Country Club. It was very nice with about 5 treadmills, a few ellipticals and bikes. They also had a separate room with dumbbells and a decent amount of machines (I think LifeFitness). So, you could definitely get in a decent workout. Tennis, racquetball and fitness classes were also available. I thought the tennis was a bit pricey, $25 for an hour and then $10 for rackets. Maybe that is not high, not sure as I don't really play but just wanted to hit the ball around a bit with my daughter. Parking was easy at the hotel also. Self park right across from the main entrance or valet. I also liked that they gave us the option to skip housekeeping and receive a $5 voucher for food or beverages. Thought it was a nice perk for us green people that don't want to have our towels and sheets washed everyday. We only ate at the pool and the food was okay. Nothing great but decent for pool fare.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayinHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are truly sorry that our main pool area was under renovation during your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and were able to experience our Westin Workout.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you can enjoy our completed $30 million renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing