We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Azul buffet really great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Azul buffet really great!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Jesse (our server) in Azul is the most service oriented person I've encountered in a long time. He is top notch!

Dustin in the kitchen makes a great breakfast buffet, especially the pancakes!

The newly renovated rooms are very nice. The pool was closed for revocation but they informed us of that before we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you were able to experience our breakfast buffet at Azul and that you found our staff to be top notch! While we are sorry that our pool was under renovation during your stay, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    569
    250
    136
    74
See reviews for
655
649
110
918
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Westin La Paloma nestles in the Catalina foothills overlooking Tucson. On a chilly day we received a warm welcome from Juan and Jesse in the Azul restaurant. They settled us into a cozy table, put a space heater at our feet and helped us choose a wine to complement the tomato bisque.The wine, the soup and Juan and Jesse's bright smiles cheered us. Note to Jesse's mom, you raised a good boy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sydney,

Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at Azul. We are delighted to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have never been treated so nicely at a hotel. The whole staff was very friendly and accommodating. William Arce was great! Any question or request we needed, he handled with quickness and a smile. Arce and the rest of the staff made my experience at the Westin a great one. I will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hegotem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing about your recent experience. We are so happy to hear our staff was helpful, friendly and made your stay a great one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Treated like a king by Jorge and Lilia at breakfast in the restaurant. I'll be back next time around for what I know will be outstanding service. I was welcomed warmly by several other employees as well. I rate this establishment as outstanding for customer service, food quality and food quantity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jack,

We are thrilled to hear that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel my first night in Tucson and then moved to one closer towards downtown as I initially thought this one was too "out there". The second hotel was a complete disappointment. I drove back up "the hill" and asked if I could return, which they obliged, and even honored my original rate. My concerns about this being out of the way were not valid at all. I think it was maybe 5 miles or so more than where I had moved to. And what a nice surprise! That there is a property this beautiful so close to downtown! I will always stay here when I am in Tucson, which is frequent, as I have a daughter at the University of Arizona:)

Room Tip: The pool is currently under renovation. There could be noise coming from that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. We are thrilled you were able to come back up the hill to continue your stay at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hills Village, CO
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were here in November of 2012 and were fairly disappointed. They lured us back with a free night and round of golf so we gave them another chance. We are glad we did. The suite we stayed in was completely renovated so the concerns we had about the lodging were completely abated. We played 3 rounds of golf in the 3 days and the courses were pristine. The staff at the golf course was very good. I always say that how a group handles difficulty separates an outstanding organization. Our tee times were unfortunately lost. We had mad them over a month before we came. Kevin at the golf shop did everything to make this a non issue. With the help of Paul the starter we got off as a twosome without feeling that we were being squeezed in( even though we were) and got to play all three combinations of the 3 none holes each day. The last time we came the hotel was packed (U of A homecoming) which might account for the lack of attention last visit. Tis time we felt more special...from being contacted to see if we were celebrating a special occasion which we were. The champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room were a nice touch. The very late checkout to accommodate our returning to our room after golf was much appreciated. Last time they missed the little things but this time they got it right. Kudos to them for being sensitive to the issues we had last time and for having us back. We intend to make trips to Tucson a regular thing for our golf getaways. So easy from Denver. We intend to return here regularly since we are SPG members.

Room Tip: If you are golfers ask to stay in the b or c building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and public spaces and that our staff was helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Why did I never stay here before? Close to the Tucson Mall, Zinburger, St Phillips Square and a great break from the University area, yet close enough to all areas of Tucson!

A major renovation is just finishing up, so if you are looking for the pool water slide and the major pool, it is temp. closed for remodeling ("revitalizing.") They do use the La Paloma Country Club Olympic pool so that is helpful in the interim. The only bad thing about my trip was that it was just an overnighter; to stay longer would have been fantastic! Super quiet despite the remodeling. NO ROAD NOISE! Wonderful trails and scenery. Multiple golf carts would take you to your room; we walked because we wanted to. Deluxe room was huge; nice outside patio off room! Regular bathtub is narrow; consider different room if you like to tub soak.

Awesome to awaken to no noise other than doves cooing! All staff was kind, courteous, helpful and not snooty. Great value on the AARP rate and we received complementary upgraded room overlooking the golf course. Received free breakfast with this rate too- a wonderful perk! AZUL Restaurant was wonderful- picturesque, quiet, excellent food! Ruben and Mario and others were very attentive! Nice touch that I was able to select my own tea from a fancy box of teas! I cant wait to return to the La Paloma- so excited that Tucson is not losing this beautiful hotel gem ! AWESOME quick get-away!

Room Tip: Ask for a complementary upgrade and away from the renovation (revitalization)- we were on the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience our numerous resort amenities even though you were only able to stay for one night.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.4 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing