We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
Ranked #38 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, comfortable”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and used this as a home base to go for day trips to see the sights. The beds were comfortable, air conditioning fine, very friendly, helpful staff with good restaurant suggestions. Very good free breakfasts compared to others offering a continental breakfast. Hot items of eggs, meat and either potatoes or burritos as well as the usual waffle maker, instant oatmeal, yoghurt, fruit, breads, pastries, juice, etc.
Very handy to getting to the highway and Ina Rd, where we drove along to go out for dinner. There is a Dennie's next door but breakfast at hotel so good that we just had breakfast and dinner each day. There is a train track across the highway, which we heard when outside but not when in our room. I used the exercise room, which had the basics. Pool is small but we were out each day taking in some of the excellent attractions in and around Tucson.

Room Tip: North side might be best as there is a Travelodge on the south side so may have more noise from cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanFromVancIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
First of all we thank you for staying with us and you have enjoyed our facilities. We are
happy to read that you had enjoyed our breakfast bar and the attractions in our town.
I will share this review with our hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    117
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
107
112
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great breakfast in the morning. Eggs were perfectly cooked. The fast check in and check out was quick and easy. The only draw back was the King size bed was like a brick. After driving for over 12 hours, having a brick to sleep on made sleeping impossible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Firstly we apologize for the firmness of the bed. Secondly we are happy to read that you found our breakfast and check in and out very efficient. I will share this review with my staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 10 in Tucson and the property is well maintained. Unfortunately, the location makes for a difficult night's sleep with the heavy traffic noise and freight train whistles throughout the night. I should have known what was ahead of me when I spotted the ear plugs provided on the night stand. Be aware the overnight noise is significant and if you have good hearing, find a different hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachMtnDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We apologize for the train noise, thank you for staying with us and that you had enjoyed our
hotel accommodations. Our staff and I try very hard to keep up our hotel standards. i will
share your thoughts with our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is an excellent choice for those who want to be convenient to Saguaro National Park and/or i-10. It was clean and the people were very helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast. The price was reasonable. They warned us about possible train noise, but honestly, we never heard anything

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay in Tucson and with us at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn. We hope to see you again when you visit Tucson again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Even though it was a little hard to find the entrance, staying here was more than worth our confusion. We received a friendly welcome when we checked in a little early. Our room and the hotel in general were very clean and neat. At first I was worried about our room on the freeway side of the hotel, but we slept very well. The bed was especially comfortable and outside sounds were muted. The breakfast room was pleasant and the food satisfying.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eloise A. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Our staff and I are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our best western plus gold poppy inn
in tucson az. We hope to see you again when you visit tucson again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and smelled fine. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and everything worked good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Our staff and I thank you for your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Gold Poppy Inn, Tucson,
Az. I will share your comments with my staff of your appreciation of the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff performance. We hope to see you again when you visit Tucson again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobel, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good hotel, older style two story without elevator. We stayed on ground floor so no problem. It has been updated with new carpets etc.. Good breakfast and internet worked well. Just about 15 minutes from Kartchner Caverns. Night light did not work but other than that it was a reasonable deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We do have a three story building with an elevator. We have renovated and its only been one
year. I think you must have stayed at another Best Western which does not have an elevator
with 2 stories only. But we as a Best Western Plus Gold Poppy Inn thank you for appreciating
our hotel and the franchise appreciation by you. We hope to see you again when you visit Tucson
in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#55 of 130 in Tucson
73 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#74 of 130 in Tucson
91 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
5.7 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Poppy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Poppy Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
Address: 4930 W Ina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-8633 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#38 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Poppy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road closure on I-10/Ina intersection. Please contact hotel for alternate routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gold Poppy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
Tucson Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing