We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool is underwhelming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pool is underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here on our epic family road trip. Booked 5 rooms. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean. Free breakfast is good. Staff is nice. Overall a good hotel. What could be problematic is the size of the pool, a huge let down for our kids after driving all day in the Arizona heat. Small and only 4 ft deep. Another concern is that this hotel is right next to the freeway and at night you do hear trains passing by. The sounds are not of a locomotive passing thru your living room, but the sounds of trains in the distance, it became white noise after a while. i heard 3 before I dozed off to lala land.

Room Tip: We got a bit lost as hotel is right next to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are happy that you had liked your stay with us and were happy with our rooms, breakfast and our staff. We aopologise about the pool and the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    107
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
104
106
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bastop, Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We selected the Golden Poppy Inn as one of our stop-overs during our trip to California on I-10. It was a wonderful surprise. The accommodations are nice and the breakfast is also nice. We would not hesitate to stay at the Golden Poppy again. It is convenient to get to and from on any trip through Tucson and the I-10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naina N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your response on trip advisor. We appreciate your opinion and are very happy
to read that you had a great time at our hotel and on your trip to California. Have a great
vacation, and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We found the hotel in a good location due to the fact it is before all the construction going south on I-10. The front desk was very helpful with the area for good eats. The rooms were very nice and quiet. The trains did not bother us at all. If we were in the area we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DdayLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope that you will visit us again when you come to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location of this hotel was very convenient. The rooms were clean, front desk people helpful. The trains that I read about were not bothersome for us. We had no problem finding breakfast items to satisfy our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your response and that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope
to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I found the hotel on trip advisor and, overall, there were good reviews. The hotel was very easy to find and right off of I 10. Front desk was friendly and professional. Hotel close to restaurants. Room was very clean and comfortable. There was a review that complained about a train whistle--we heard it but never bothered us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsunana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you have enjoyed your stay, we hope you will visit us again when you are in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I thought this hotel was very clean and had great service. The beds were very comfortable. You can hear the train all night long, but it didn't bother me. If I was to come back to this area again, the Saguaro National Park area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rlybsymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your response and tht you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was spacious, clean, and in good condition. The mirror/vanity area was outside of the shower room, always a plus. The bed was very firm, but tolerable. Unfortunately, there were only very thick pillows (we asked, and there were no others), which we did not like. The location is convenient for getting around town, but is extremely close to the highway and train tracks, so there is some noise from that. The free breakfast was good, but there were not as many choices as at some other Best Western Plus locations. The TV was new, but analog only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KCBirdLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and have enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on
your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
5.7 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
5.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tucson/Marana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn
Address: 4930 W Ina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-8633 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#38 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road closure on I-10/Ina intersection. Please contact hotel for alternate routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Poppy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
Tucson Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing