We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4930 West Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85743 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'll start off by saying we have lived in very noisy neighbourhoods and stayed next to trains, airports, and currently live in a high density area.

Yes, the train is very active and because it crosses a main road, you will hear the horn all night. We stayed on the top floor across from the Travelodge. Also, very active. A lot of people coming and going at all hours to the hotel. People dropping packages off and women being shuttled. You can figure it out. The parking lot was noisy all night and it was a mess in the morning.

You can definitely hear your neighbours here. We heard every conversation coming from the rooms as we walked down the hallway. The people on one side had their TV loud enough that we gave up trying to watch ours. They finally passed out about 10 (they didn't remember ordering pizza when the lady came to deliver it at 7 p.m.)

We had a couple hours sleep before the racket started on the other side at 1 a.m. I personally went over and asked them to quiet down. That lasted about 10 minutes so I phoned the front desk asking to be moved. First I was told they were full so I said we will have to leave. Then, suddenly they did have a room "but it's on the same floor and it will be louder". I don't know how he knew this but he did know what room was keeping us awake without me telling him. He phoned back about 1/2 hour later, good thing we were still awake! I have a feeling he came by and heard the noise in the hallway. He hesitantly asked if I wanted him to talk to them (he probably just checked them in and knew what he would have to deal with). The person I talked to in that room was extremely intimidating and obviously didn't care so I told him no, we will just wait until it was light enough to drive home. With two hours sleep, we decided that it wasn't smart to drive in the dark. I was willing to take the bedding to sleep in the car but my husband just sat in the chair and waited until morning.

We mostly stay at Best Westerns and have travelled throughout the world, staying in third world countries. This ranks amongst the worst hotel stays ever. At this moment, my husband never wants to stay in another Best Western but he will probably change his mind since the many others have been very good to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenArmstrong_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We regret that we had not met your expectations.
We hope that you will stay with us another time and we will try our best as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    83
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
87
84
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
263 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wanting to stay over in Tucson after late dining, we chose to stay at the Gold Poppy property on West Ina Road, just off I-10 in Marana, minutes outside of Tucson . We chose this spot because of it' proximity to the downtown and the attractive price.
On-line reservations werer a breeze, check in was quick and easy.
The room was small but very comfortable and user friendly. No mold, plenty of hot water and quiet!
There was a complimentary breakfast offered, but we declined.
Our dining out experience and overnight stay was less than just a room in downtown!!
I would recommend and use this property over and over.

Room Tip: Our second floor room facing another property reallly caused a buffer for I-10 traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retdeltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our stay was for the christmas holiday of 2012,The rooms wer very clean and neat nothing fancy about the hotel. But the value was one of the lowest rates around there was plenty of resteraunts in the vicinity and a strip mall within 1/2 mile the free hot breakfast was tasty (i recommend the Cheese omelletes) would definately stay here again

Room Tip: There is a train that goes by.You want to stay on the non facing freeway side althuogh I never reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Tucosn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel before it was a Best Western. The remodeling Best Western did to the building was lovely. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only criticism was that the room only had one waste basket in the bathroom and no waste basket in the main room. Regarding the food, the hotel only provided the dried creamers for coffee. For a "Plus" hotel, real half and half would have been appreciated and also expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Katrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicamous, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The rooms were very clean. Even though the location is right by the I-10 and our room was facing towards it, we didn't hear any freeway noise at all. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes from a major shopping area. The staff were very friendly and wanted to make sure everything was okay with your room. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been a Best Western fan for a number of years. I have never had a bad stay or bad experience at any Best Western hotel I have ever used. The Gold Poppy Inn in NW Tucson replaced a Best Western a bit further north in Marana, AZ for me. I prefer the north end of Tucson for getting around and accomplishing my tasks. This hotel is not new but it is new to Best Western and me. It is very well run. That manager always seem to be there, or 30 seconds away. The front desk staff are reasonably friendly and competent. The rooms are perfect for me. Little fridge and microwave. Nice TV. Always plenty of hot water. But the best thing is the price. I hope it stays this way for a while. I am moving from where I live now and will no longer go to Tucson, but if I ever do, and in the meantime, while I am moving, I will go to the Gold Poppy Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ustlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
5.7 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tucson/Marana
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
#24 of 130 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
5.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn
Address: 4930 West Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85743 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#38 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
Tucson Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing