We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, location is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
Ranked #35 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We originally booked two nights, but we decided to leave after one night because this place just didn't have a nice area to enjoy the lovely weather or views of the mountains. When I go to Arizona, that is my number one priority in a hotel. The room itself was very nice and very clean, newly remodeled. The staff was exceptional, very friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast was more than adequate. It was purely the location/atmosphere that prompted us to leave early. The area is close to all the chain restaurants on Cortaro Road, but this location is sort of industrial. If this was your only impression of Tucson, it will leave a little to be desired, because Tucson has some beautiful areas. There are trains running through this area, which didn't wake us, but if you are a light sleeper it might.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArizonaDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your great response on our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel, I am so sorry to know that our location of the hotel is convenient to your needs. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

Front desk staff is nice ,however housekeeping staff is exceptional, especially Susan and Robert. They go above and beyond the call of duty assuring guest qaulity and satisfaction needs are met. My room was clean and fresh. The property is also clean. Free breakfast was a plus, for the value of the hotel. Rent a car, nothing in walking distance!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtjohnson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

After traveling and find no rooms in Phoenix we kept driving towards Texas and stopped here in Tuscon because google had found a Comfort Inn with availability for the night.
Arrived to find a newly remodeled hotel as a Best Western Plus. Check in was a breeze.
We reserved 2 rooms for the night as we had 6 traveling with us.
We got side by side rooms.
Both very roomy and new throughout with a free breakfast in the morning.
The gentleman checking us in on March 16th was wonderful and so courteous.
The next morning was a nightmare. The lady working the desk was rude and never smiled.
My husband didnt seem to catch a break there. He was making a waffle for my 8 year old when the smoke alarm went off. Lady was not happy. When the older kids came down for breakfast the orange juice was already gone. I asked the lady for more and she came in very grumpy but refilled the juice machine.
Upon check out and going thru lobby door my hubby accidentally hit the door. Boy was that lady upset again. He did not mean too and she set it back on track. But she glared at us until we drove off.
Even though this hotel is new, well priced, I will never return. I have never felt more unwelcome.

Room Tip: stayed in 112 and 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txpageant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykonos1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambres paires plus calme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taos59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Karenhdzmeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Best Western Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#57 of 129 in Tucson
75 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
5.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Poppy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Poppy Inn

Address: 4930 W Ina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-8633 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#38 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Poppy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road closure on I-10/Ina intersection. Please contact hotel for alternate routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gold Poppy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
Tucson Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing