We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient but dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive
Ranked #33 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Tucson
Reviewed February 2, 2014

staff is very nice and helpful but room and public areas are very dirty. internet service worked intermittently.
changed rooms, second room was better but carpet very dirty. hallways severely stained, trash receptacles remained full during stay. had to work with tech support on two occasions because internet service wouldn't work. they determined it was the host and not my computer.
so although the staff was helpful, it didn't resolve my feeling of being in a dirty environment. I've been staying at this motel for several years, ever since it opened, it is at its worst!

Room Tip: check out room before moving in. ask for room close to router. first floor is clean, others are not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Pat - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so glad that our staff provided you with such great service; however, I am sorry for the level of cleanliness throughout our hotel. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that we are working to deep clean the property and also improve our cleaning services moving forward.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at tbu@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

to rest! is a great hotel and excellent location near to freeway, the staff are very nice and help you throughout. The even room are the best. Would definitely go back in other cases. I fell at home. thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose Guadalupe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

It is so rewarding to read that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your comments. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the staff and property.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The only positive feature of this hotel is that it is near the airport. Otherwise, it lies in an unattractive area, virtually surrounded by trailer parks. The walls are very thin, and one hears the loud blaring of the many freight trains that pass through all night long. The room smelled dirty, and the water faucet in the bathroom couldn't be turned off. Most of the other guests are foreign migrant workers & some of the people we saw at the hotel made us feel anxiously insecure. Although we had booked our room for 8 nights, we checked out after just one night, and found a much nicer place in northern Tucson.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Greg - The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you felt unsafe during your stay, and that you had a maintenance issue with your faucet. I discussed your comments with the team, and I have created a work order for the maintenance issue to get it repaired immediately. As for safety, please know we take this very seriously and work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable at all times. With that in mind, we will look into your concerns and take action as needed.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at TBU@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

For the price we knew it would not be the Ritz. What we got was a very clean room with plenty of space to spread out. We were only there for 2 nights and really only needed a clean room and bathroom This met our needs and liked having a fridg to store drinks and snacks. The staff was exceptional and we will stay there again when in that area. We were there on a weekend and found it to be a quiet area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Susan - Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everything was comfortable for you. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a bare bones real cheap place. The price is hard to beat, however when you consider that in terms of design, furnishings and functionality anything more than what the cost is on the internet reservation screen would be a serious stretch almost a rip off to charge for the room in this hotel. The best part of the hotel I found to be their staff. During my stay I came across friendly and courteous people working their best to make an honest living and make your stay as comfortable as circumstances allow. I had some issues with the room and Paulina went above and beyond by providing me with a clean and more spacious room which made up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such great things about our staff and employees. While our accommodations may not have met your expectations, I am proud of our team for making your stay comfortable.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The carpet has not been cleaned in a long long time.The mattress was older then Methuselah
The trains at night kept us up . We left earlier to get sleep at another place Corporate could care
less. No refund but offered us a free night???at a later date We had to request light bulb and
bathroom drainage . We would recommend this to our worst friend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of the carpet, and quality of the mattress were in poor condition. Also please know that we are sincerely sorry that the train disrupted your rest. Please accept my apology. I discussed your comments with the team, and I am having my maintenance engineer clean the carpet in the room you occupied, and we will look into replacing the mattress.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at tbu@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The motel seems to be in a rough area at first site but, when you look around it is not so bad. Many of the residents seem to be long term but were friendly. The room was OK and there was a trolley to get our gear up on the lift. Found Frys supermarket nearby where we did a shop and made a meal in our room.
The bed was reasonable and the room was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExItteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

The team and I appreciate your positive comments about the location of the hotel. It's great to hear that the room was comfortable for you during your travel.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#74 of 129 in Tucson
77 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
0.3 mi away
Studio 6 Tucson
Studio 6 Tucson
#77 of 129 in Tucson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
#80 of 129 in Tucson
242 reviews
15.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson North - Marana
11.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive

Address: 4800 S Butterfield Dr, Tucson, AZ 85714-3405 (Formerly Crossland - Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Tucson
Price Range: $39 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. We're located right off of Interstate 10 and across the street from the Tucson Expo Center. Our hotel is just 4 miles from Tucson International Airport. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing